1/18 Cali AMPS: 270 (Interesting Question)

Status
Not open for further replies.

beclt

Member Since 2011
So, we've had to go away this past weekend and Cali was unable to receive her shots (4 days). When we returned last night, her blood sugar was 242, which is a lot lower than it has been. This morning it was 270, without any insulin. I wonder, have we been giving her too much? For her to go that long and be even better off than she was while we were away is quite interesting and it isn't the first time this has happened.

I've started her slowly this morning at .5 units. Curious to hear your thoughts.

(And please, I know that her not getting her medicine is less than ideal, but it is a situation we have had to come to terms with and it is what it is. I would ask kindly for no lectures as we don't have a choice in the matter--thanks in advance).
 
That is an interesting question. I have no idea but will be checking back to see what others say!

Not a bad sunny yellow start today. Hope she comes down into the blues for you today!
 
Hi guys .. nice yellow for cali this morning! I don't really have any advice on the skipped shots and lower numbers .. I hope you find your answers though .. have a great day!
 
I'm not sure what I'd conclude about Cali's numbers. It's possible that she was getting more insulin than she needed. I would have thought if that were the case that either with PZI or Lantus at the 1.0u starting point you'd have seen a lot more low numbers. I think you're going to have to see how this plays out.

I'm not going to lecture. I don't know from Cali's history whether she's prone to developing ketones. That would be among my concerns with skipping shots. When you have a chance, can you complete a Profile? That way, we'll have Cali's medical history and other pertinent info. Marje/Gracie developed new instructions. I'll ask her to stop by with the link.
 
i don't know how long the shed takes to drain, but one can still see the results of having been on lantus for a period of time after no shot is given. the lantus accumulates in the body, what we call the shed or depot, and then slow-releases. that's one of the reasons cats numbers even out as much as they do after they've been on it for a while. i would think with a little dose like cali was getting, by the end of 2 days it would be mostly drained, but i don't know for certain.

beginning back at .5 will likely give you the answer to the question after you see what happens. i'll be curious to know as well.

when punkin was getting large doses (because of his acromegaly) i could skip a shot and not see any difference in his numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top