1/18 Buster AMPS 333 + Question

I think it’s likely that you just haven’t reached the breakthrough dose with Buster.

@Karen and Chispa has a nice spreadsheet that shows with some kitties you really have to go up and up until you find a good dose, and then things even out a lot from there! (Be sure to click over to her 2022 tab to see what I’m talking about!)
 
How is it that his sugars are higher at 1.5u than they were at 1.25u? Going to do a full curve this weekend.
The skipped shot on 1/11 disrupted the depot and his numbers would have been higher because of that till the depot rebuilt. It's also possible that he went lower on the night of 1/14 or 1/15 when there were no tests and could be bouncing from there.

Btw, you are holding doses too long. Even with SLGS, a dose evaluated after a week and increased if needed. A cat needs as much insulin as it needs. Our job is to follow the numbers and go up and down in dose accordingly.
 
The skipped shot on 1/11 disrupted the depot and his numbers would have been higher because of that till the depot rebuilt. It's also possible that he went lower on the night of 1/14 or 1/15 when there were no tests and could be bouncing from there.

Btw, you are holding doses too long. Even with SLGS, a dose evaluated after a week and increased if needed. A cat needs as much insulin as it needs. Our job is to follow the numbers and go up and down in dose accordingly.

Thank you for this! It's been a crazy month between an emergency vet trip, some traveling and personal things so it's been hard to get to do a curve every weekend - but I've put them in my calendar every Sunday for the next month so hopefully I'll be able to fine tune his dosage.
 
I think it’s likely that you just haven’t reached the breakthrough dose with Buster.

@Karen and Chispa has a nice spreadsheet that shows with some kitties you really have to go up and up until you find a good dose, and then things even out a lot from there! (Be sure to click over to her 2022 tab to see what I’m talking about!)

Thank you, this gives me hope!! I've been feeling discouraged but I know it's a long journey sometimes.
 
Thank you, this gives me hope!! I've been feeling discouraged but I know it's a long journey sometimes.
@Cali S , thanks for the shout-out :bighug:

@bustopherjones I see you joined in November, which is no time at all in feline diabetes land! Put on your patience pants and settle in for the ride. It does take time, but it will all be worth it when Buster's spreadsheet turns into a lovely mosaic of blues and greens.

For more inspiration, check out @Amy & Herman : https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...vU2aIJzuXEv1jJ7jbqRSCzbIFuW3_4aNeQyQ/pubhtml#
Herman bounced around like a crazy beast for the longest time, until one day he decided he'd had enough of this diabetes business and settled into a predictable pattern. Now he's OTJ and loving life!
Keep the faith. :D:bighug::cat:
 
@Cali S , thanks for the shout-out :bighug:

@bustopherjones I see you joined in November, which is no time at all in feline diabetes land! Put on your patience pants and settle in for the ride. It does take time, but it will all be worth it when Buster's spreadsheet turns into a lovely mosaic of blues and greens.

For more inspiration, check out @Amy & Herman : https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...vU2aIJzuXEv1jJ7jbqRSCzbIFuW3_4aNeQyQ/pubhtml#
Herman bounced around like a crazy beast for the longest time, until one day he decided he'd had enough of this diabetes business and settled into a predictable pattern. Now he's OTJ and loving life!
Keep the faith. :D:bighug::cat:
I echo everything Karen has said (PS thank you for the shout out. It would please me a great deal to know that some people can take comfort in looking at Herman sheet because I know firsthand how frustrating it is).
…. you need to keep reminding yourself how many things are at play with FD and that your cat is more than just a number …so many things impact BG ….bouncing, constipation, stress, fear… did a squirrel look at your cat the wrong way today? …did you give a quarter teaspoon more or less food than usual? is the sun out? Is it raining? And even if you know all those factors the numbers can still be wildly unpredictable until regulated…insulin is a hormone, not a drug so it doesn’t quite work the way we expect sometimes, someone once recommended that I look at Herman’s spreadsheet zoomed out, so I could see waves of colour to see trends versus focussing on individual numbers …FD is a wild ride for which the only cure is patience and follow the protocol!
 
Back
Top