1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U now?

Status
Not open for further replies.

miaomi

Member Since 2013
Good morning, I don't know if should shoot her with 1.5U or not. I gave her already, it's the shoot time. Is she going to drop more today? I have not seen those little numbers for loooong time, I didn't expect it. She dropped down so sharp from 422 to 78.
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

Those are beautiful healing normal numbers for Mao. :-D We reduce the dose when kitty drops below 50.

When cats start their cycle lower, they do not drop as much. Are you going to be around to monitor her today? Do you have plenty of test strips and high carb food or karo around?
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

Good morning Julie and extra sweet Mao!!

Since you've already shot the 1.5, please try to get a +1 and +2...Since he's starting so much lower than he had been, we want to catch if he's starting to drop too low as soon as possible. He MAY stay in the 100's through the whole cycle, but he also may drop below 50. We want to keep him safe!

Do you have high carb food and plenty of strips IF they're necessary?

Edited to add...I know there's a lot to remember, but when you start a new condo each day, it helps for you to put the link to the prior day's condo so people can quickly go back and see what happened the day before. I'll add it for you today

1/17 Mao
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

Thanks guys. I have the HC food, and strips. I'll watch her closely today. Mao has better appetite and ate 5oz Natural Verity Rabbit after her AMS. The +1.20 was higher than AMPS. Let's see if she is going to show more greens.
I'll remember to add the prior day's condo.
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

Wow! Your hope for the 1.5u to make Maos numbers lower was fulfilled, thanks to your perserverance! :cool:
Very happy to see this and to hear Maos appetite is improved. Well done!
:RAHCAT
Go Mao!
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

thrilling to see Mao in better numbers! woot!

hold her at this dose unless you see her at less than 50. great job catching numbers last night. If you are faced with a lower-than-you've-seen-before at preshot tonight, which you might be, don't feed her, post here and ask for help.

As long as you have supplies and can monitor her tonight, you'll likely be encouraged to shoot, depending on her number. To repeat what Wendy said, when you shoot a lower number often the cycle will flatten out and the whole range of numbers will come down. that's the goal of Tight Regulation - keep the cat in normal numbers so the pancreas can heal.

this is really encouraging! I'm wondering how she is feeling and acting.
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

I am so happy to see Mao feels better, she ate and went to sleep and ate again. She needs more food because she is skin & bones. I haven't checked the ketones yet, will do later. Her numbers were good so far, amps 145, +1.20 230, +2 224, +4 168.
Yes really encouraging! I probably need help for her PMS is the number is low.
Many thanks guys!
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

it helps if you get a +11.5 and post it in your subject line so there is time for someone to see you need help with shooting before you're actually at the time you need to do it.
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

That is so great to see Mao reacting so well to what you are doing for her. :-D Eat, eat, eat baby so you can get healthy and strong. Please, if you can make sure to get that +11.5 like Julie suggested, it's always best to stay ahead of the situation if at all possible ;-)
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

hi Julie, just saw your question regarding Mao's Poop problem. I have not received enzymes yet, maybe someday next week. She poops so many times a day, her stool was formed, but puffy like it's never been digested, it almost liked the food she had ate. The color was not yellow anymore, it's because I changed her food. She went to poo every 2-3 hours. She didn't absorb anything from the food, she is skin & bones. I discussed this issue with my vet, she said that it's because Mao's not regulated. But I really think there's something wrong! Mao cannot gain any weight back without finding out what the problem is.
She had eaten at least 6 x 3oz of food daily for 20 days, never gained any weight. Now she eats less, still poops lot and losing weight.
The vet did not want to do the fPLI because Mao was so sick.
Do you have any suggestion? Does anybody know what's wrong with my cat?
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

i've never heard that a pancreatitis test wouldn't be accurate if a cat was sick.

i don't know what's wrong with her, but i don't think this is just from being unregulated. we see a lot of unregulated cats and the poop issue doesn't seem to be common.

it is common for a cat to be very hungry while their blood sugar is high, and it's common for them to lose weight, but to lose 50% of her body weight and still be eating that quantity of food makes me think there is a different problem going on. i think i would want a vet to explore this issue further and try to figure out what's going on with her digestion. something's not right there.
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

I know there is something wrong just don't have an answer. The vet let me try the enzymes first to see if it works. Do you think Mao needs some tests?
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

The vet is wrong. You want to ask for a spec fPLI which is for one form of pancreatitis. I'd also suggest you get Mao tested for exocrine pancreatic insufficiency (EPI) which is tested with a TLI (serum Trypsin-like Immunoreactivity test). Cats with EPI have trouble gaining weight. It's also possible that Mao was having trouble gaining weight due to his diabetes not being regulated but getting the pancreatitis tests may be a good idea.

FWIW, if you don't catch a pancreatitis flare when it's happening, the fPLI may not give an accurate reading.
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

My vet refused to do the fPLI test on a sick cat. I have an appointment on Monday, I will talk about it again.
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

Refuses?
As Sienne pointed out :
Sienne and Gabby said:
if you don't catch a pancreatitis flare when it's happening, the fPLI may not give an accurate reading.
He has stated Mao is a sick kitty. Is he so certain that the reason she is sick is not due to a pancreatitis flare?
It's just a blood draw - I'm not understanding his logic.

By the way, when was the last time the vet took a blood sample from Mao for a complete laboratory analysis?
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

Hi Julie,

So sorry Mao isn't feeling well!!! I have no further advice, except to say perhaps your vet needs to be reminded that he works for you. He should do any test you ask for unless it will harm your cat, which it does not sound like this will. I say that being one who is currently searching for a new vet due to a similar issue.

~Suzanne
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

We were there on Saturday, lots patients. Maybe the vet wanted to get home early. She wanted to see us on the following Monday. I didn't make it.
 
Re: 1/18/14 Mao +6 100 +9 98 +8 78 amps 145 can I give 1.5U

Nice numbers for Mao and I'm glad she's eating.

Perhaps your vet says that because an accurate result from the spec fPL is based on the kitty fasting. Mao would need to be fasted for a minimum of six hours. Non diabetic cats should be fasted 12 hours and he might be thinking fasting a sick cat 12 hours is too long....he may not realize an FD needs only to be fasted six hours.

When I had Gracies specfPL done, I fasted her six hours and had to skip her shot. If you can't time the blood test more towards the end of Maos cycle so you could shoot much earlier, feed, and still have six hours to fast her, you might have to skip a shot ....which might not be a good idea for her at this point.

I would take this information from A Primer on Pancreatitis to your vet. Hopefully this latest research would encourage him to test her. The other thing to remember is that HE works for YOU. It is your right to insist that he conduct a test you feel is warranted. It is your money and your decision.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top