1/17 Rocket AM BG 106=NS/PM BG 85=NS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
hi all,
it was a rough night indeed...bupe in place at 12 midnight...he ate on his own shortly after then again at 12:30...but he was restless...i slept where he slept...well that was the idea anyways....i wanted to make sure he didn't get cold....or stayed in the bathroom without a blanket....2:30 am he got up to eat again on his own to his bowl...so i guess the 1/8 cypro did help some what...

5:30 am ....what would have been his amps 106 but i gave no insulin....i took the reading 2 times as it was the same number as yesterdays am bg and pm bg....

6 am...pheno and pepcid in place....
he was restless but not as much as the bupe was wearing off....
i fell asleep and never noticed when dh left home at 7 am....
got up at 8 am...found Rocket in the bathroom not sleeping and i immediately called the vet's office...vet tech said to give bupe as Rx by the ER vet and to wait until vet got in at 9:00

gave full dose of bupe and fed him...i waited couple of minutes and picked him up to bring him to bed...he stayed in bed 2 hrs....i slept those 2 hrs off and on....but in the meantime the vet called me just before 9 am and her plan it to up his pheno dose just a lil bit....see if that helps...if the increase does not help then her hands are tied and will have to refer me to an IM vet (which i can not afford to take him to...they're extremely expensive here...if i had a job i would say like before "sure let's do this" or "sure we can try that")

so i gave the lil bit of pheno though he had already gotten it at 10 am....gave fluids and he ate chicken dust...brought him back to bed...and he stayed there for a good 1 hr relaxing and he slept a lil bit...i managed to sleep but not much....

i'm to email the vet with an update on how he's done....so she can advise if i'm to give the bupe come 4 pm today....

he seems relaxed and ate on his own at 11:30.....
now 12 noon he is in the bathroom again....letting him stay there for a lil bit...have not tested since am bg....

this is where we are now....will email vet in 1 hr with an update....

i'm tired but managed to get in some sleep...my body aches from laying on the floor....the glimmer of hope i have is that this morning so far he has been more relaxed and has managed to stay in the bedroom longer and has slept with ease...and has eaten as well....

please continue to pray for us....

here is yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34548

btw...at his clinic there are 2 vets who are discussing with each other regarding his case...so they both throw each other info....so at least that helps me somewhat that they're willing to work and help him...vet told me not to stress him further and that we will try the meds first for a day or so and if that's not working then i will bring him in....she said yesterday was probably traumatic for him and no sense in putting him thru more if we want him to start getting better....

my head spins...but hopefully he is on the mend....
 
Re: 1/17 Rocket AM BG 106-NS/update

My thoughts are with you and Rocket....hopefully between the 2 vets they can figure out what's going on with him. At least he's been having good numbers without the insulin!
 
Re: 1/17 Rocket AM BG 106-NS/update

sounds hopeful...continuing to hold you and little Rocket Man in our hearts and thoughts, Claudia..
 
Re: 1/17 Rocket AM BG 106-NS/update

Claudia & Rocket said:
...my body aches from laying on the floor....
do you have a sleeping bag? if not, try folding a blanket into several layers. i've been sleeping and napping on the floor (carpeted, but still hurts) with Meowzi for the last couple of weeks. the first few nights i was really sore, but then i took a king-sized blanket and folded it several times to give me a bit of a cushion. Meowzi likes it too, she hurries over and tries to lie down on it before i can even finish setting it up every night. i'm still a little sore now, but it's barely noticeable anymore except for when i first lie down for the night and all the sore bits protest. my biggest discomfort now is being cold - she hogs my her blankie :roll:

btw Meowzi was on buprenex for five days last week. on a higher dose, she stopped eating. when we reduced it, she ate but her appetite was noticeably reduced. it was like she was forgetting to eat; her first lunch would be half-eaten, and her second lunch, which is a more favoured flavour and opens 2 hrs later, lay untouched. when i sat with her for dinner and held up her bowl, she ate better - it was like she needed the reminder. (eta: probably b/c she was semi- or too zonked, depending on buprenex dose).
 
Re: 1/17 Rocket AM BG 106-NS/update

I'm glad the vets are discussing this. I just wish they could do some consulting with a nearby vet school or specialist. Sending lots of good thoughts, vines, and snowflakes to you and Rocket.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocket AM BG 106-NS/update

(((Claudia))) Sending more healing vines and prayers for You and Rocket... :YMHUG:

You could use an outdoor furniture cushion on the floor (if you have one close in the winter?)
 
an afternoon of worry and calm too....
he managed to settled at 2:30 and i fed him...he ate everything on his dish...
have not tested until pm bg 85...still no shot....

vet wants to up his pheno dose and i did not give the bupe at 4 pm (now 5:30 pm)....see how that goes...he slept ok but now he is not wanting to eat...will try again in a lil bit here...

vet said trial and error with Rocket...if i see him hunched over then give the bupe at the upped dose...

wait and see how he does tonight....so in half hr he gets the upped dose of pheno....

i've noticed mild twitching/spams too...but overall i think he slept ok...for the most part....he is alert and wants to be around...so maybe a good sign (antijinx)

please keep us in your prayers still....i'm still worried with his diabetes...
 
Hi Claudia. Just wanted to let you know that even though I haven't been around much the last few days I have been thinking of you and your sweet baby. Hang in there.
 
(((Claudia))) When the vet mentions referral to an IM vet, did she mention what sort of things she would want them to pursue? Is it everything - the trembling, inappetance, nausea, restlessness, lying in the bathroom? Or was it just for the trembling? Did she happen to mention any theories about what she would want an IM vet to pursue?

I'm glad to hear that he ate and slept a bit for you today.
 
Linda and Bear Man said:
(((Claudia))) When the vet mentions referral to an IM vet, did she mention what sort of things she would want them to pursue? Is it everything - the trembling, inappetance, nausea, restlessness, lying in the bathroom? Or was it just for the trembling? Did she happen to mention any theories about what she would want an IM vet to pursue?

I'm glad to hear that he ate and slept a bit for you today.
this is what the vet said in her email when i reminded her that there is no neurologist in Calgary....

There is a doctor at CARE more recently who is board eligible in neurology (that means he is just waiting to write the final board exam but has complete all his training up until then). Again, I would send him through internal medicine first to see Dr. Shearer (as Dr. Henderson in no longer there), and I would discuss with her all we've done and our logic to date and then she could assess Rocket and decide if it would be worth a trip to Dr. Diaz.
the CARE CENTRE is where Rocket had his ultrasound and echo cardiogram a while back....and where he saw the IM vet then who Rx Rocket with the phenobarbital....

for now vet said if the pheno doesn't work then we go back to looking at other possibilities....so she said to give it a few days for it to kick in and me notice a change...not to expect anything overnight...

and this Dr Diaz is the one in Vancouver....and i can not take him there...absolutely not...

so it's a matter of waiting now and see how it all works out....i'm nervous though...the pheno makes him groggy too...and hoping the upped dose will take care of the twitching/trembling....

please continue to pray for us...i'm still nervous with yet more meds in his system...

i really want to wake up from this nightmare....
 
Claudia....sending more prayers and healing vines. I just had a thought....can you explain to your vet that you don't have the spare cash and ask if she participates in the VIN (veterinary information network) online? There are all kinds of specialists, etc, who participate in that. When Gracie's BG was first up and my vet wanted me to hold off a bit on the insulin to see if she would come down, I asked her if she could contact one of the endocrinologists on the VIN and because she is so awesome and not about ego, she did. The endo told her we needed to get Gracie on insulin immediately. Perhaps it is possible for your vet to consult with a specialist on the VIN and talk to them about Rocket's symptoms, meds, etc. and see if she gets any feedback?
 
Claudia sending more healing vines and snowflakes for Rocket today hope things improve soon for both of you
riveraside_q5nvb939.gif
 
Claudia and Rocket, you are always in our thoughts and prayers. There were quite a few hopeful signs today and I hope that there will be more tomorrow. If you have a camping store near you, you could buy a thick Ensolite sleeping pad. They insulate as well as cushion and Ensolite is not expensive (unlike many sleeping pads, these days).
Thinking positively,
Sending many hugs and healing vines,

Ella & Rusty
 
Sending Healing Prayers and Healing vines to our dear Rocket--Sounds like a few things got a little better, others you are worried about...and I understand -
Sending you Comfort Hugs!
 
tomorrow when i'm more in my awake i will for sure update Rocket's profile as the meds are not there...

DH wanted us to go for a bite to eat...nothing fancy...just to get out...fast food...i guess just to get me out of the place...i hesitated but with no insulin in Rocket's system i agreed....

when i left he was in the bathroom so i put a blanket on top of him...the rug is thick but the room being cold i figured we won't be long...and we weren't...i ate as fast as i could to get back home...

i got DH to dig out my sleeping bag from the storage room...Rocket was all tucked in our bedroom where i have his second heated bed on the flood next to our bed...when we got home i started talking to him and he responded well coming out and is not all affectionate and laying on his other heated bed next to our bed by the window....he seems high on the upped dose of the pheno...i can tell...walks funny just like when he first got the pheno...no trembling or twitching that i can see...it's been 2 hrs since he got the pheno...and before we left at his +0.75 he ate some more...almost as though to tell me it was ok for me to go have dinner...and not worry about him......

i'm hopeful...very hopeful...

Marjorie, not sure if the vets will be willing and open about the VIN...Rocket's previous vet was American and knew about FDMB (she is the one that gave me the link to home test and be on this board)...these two vets are (and i hate to say it...Canadians) so perhaps more set in their ways...or would be based on their training...i don't know...i have suggested running the free T4 even to the ER vet yesterday...so which i was told with a sick cat the results would be inconclusive....i will mention to the vet on my report tonight and see what she says...they know i do a lot for Rocket and Comet at home...but wonder if they would think outside their box for a change....

overall Rocket seems subdued...not as high as with the bupe...very sleepy like...but alert to my voice and when i talk to him he moves his tail...

i do not know what his BG means with all the meds he's had in his system...i worry about that as well...

well i better go check the sleeping bag and start prepping for my camping trip here at home....

thank you all for your well wishes and continued prayers...it means a lot to me to know that there are people out there that care about us two....very much appreciated indeed...no words can ever express how deeply touch i am...thank you for it all....

i just want my boy back!
 
From my vet (also sent you pm)

need to rule out muscular type things
neurological things
metabolic things (DM, hypertension)
painful things (pancreas, liver, dental)
and next would be neoplastic.
fyi,
there is a neurologist in town at the CARE centre - Dr. Jose Diaz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top