Olivia & Miss Kitty
Member Since 2025
Hello,
I am new here but a member of the Facebook group and I have posted there a few times. I am struggling with what is going on with Miss Kitty's numbers. It seemed by early December she might have been headed in a good direction [slowly], but now I feel like we're going backwards and it might be my fault completely. I am not trying to be non-compliant with advice but I do panic a little and I am confused on how I should be handling what is going on.
I tried to sum up the important parts of all my posts on FB and included a few questions and her daily menu and schedule.
June 26-Aug 28:
Questions:
Her current diet and daily schedule:
Thank you so much for reading and for your help if you've made it this far.
Spreadsheet: Miss Kitty's spreadsheet (Olivia Blake Thomas)
I am new here but a member of the Facebook group and I have posted there a few times. I am struggling with what is going on with Miss Kitty's numbers. It seemed by early December she might have been headed in a good direction [slowly], but now I feel like we're going backwards and it might be my fault completely. I am not trying to be non-compliant with advice but I do panic a little and I am confused on how I should be handling what is going on.
I tried to sum up the important parts of all my posts on FB and included a few questions and her daily menu and schedule.
June 26-Aug 28:
- Diagnosed with BG of 597. Immediately began switching to canned food and decided next day we would do the insulin and not the pill (she was 100% switched within 3/4 days).
- Vet did a curve and prescribed 1 unit of Lantus
- Miss Kitty wouldn’t eat much leading up to the 4th of July holiday and all vets were closed during that time. I wasn’t comfortable giving insulin for fear of a hypo event and the closest place to take her is over an hour away is an emergency clinic in Auburn, so the vet told me to wait on the insulin and gave me a bag of subQ fluid to give to her through the weekend.
- Got Libre put on. I had a scare with the Libre: Either Miss Kitty was going hypo from 350 within 3-4 hours or libre was a giving me false lows.
- Kitty had a night where she was vomiting everything up, including water. Got her into the vet that day (this was 4 days before I had my baby), and they said she had some ketones (0.8 on Aug 08) but she wasn’t in DKA or pancreatitis. We got fluids, Cerenia, and sent home and she was SO much better that day.
- I decided to home test and not use the libre
- Using spreadsheet. You can see she drops from purple and red into blue and even green. Then some days she only gets to yellow, and four times she got below 90. I understand there would be bounces.
- This is where you’ll see different dosages. I was recommended to try TR a few weeks ago on the FB group and I read through this site on that but instead of waiting 6 cycles I adjusted dosage at 5 cycles. And some dosage changes were because of my paranoia that another dose of 1.25 might cause her to drop lower than the last time even if the number wasn’t below 50 (example: Dec 25 she dropped to 69 and I only gave her 1 unit the next dose).
- I’m positive this is where I’ve screwed everything up.
- Since NYE I haven’t recorded any green numbers and her PS numbers are still pretty high with more 500s
- Now suddenly she is hardly dropping throughout the cycle.
Questions:
- There were many times she dropped FAST within 3 hours of the cycle – not really much change to her food intake or activity. Does that say anything about the dosage? It’s also no longer doing that these days.
- Did I screw things up from a biological stand-point? Will we get back to positive progression on just 1.25 units? Should I increase to 1.5?
- Can anyone provide me with a plan at the moment on how to handle TR? I work from home, and we rarely leave town (although we are at the end of this month for 2 days) so I can keep a pretty good eye on her most of the time.
Her current diet and daily schedule:
- FF Chopped Grill Feast 98kcal/can [P=41; F=56; C=3]
- FF Tender Liver and Chicken 93kcal/can [P=43; F=55; C=2]
- AMPS BG TEST 7:45/8:00
- Breakfast 8:00 - typically she eats about half of a can and then snacks on it until close to 10:00/11:00. But she eats all of it
- AM Poke by 8:15
- BG check 12:15 - this is +4 and it seems it is when the insulin peaks
- Lunch 1:00/2:00 - 1/2 can. She is usually hungry enough to eat it all. Note: She cannot do 2 meals/day and go 12 hours without eating or she will vomit clear liquid (she's done this since she was 2 years old, so I don't believe it is diabetes related, just probably gets so hungry she get nauseous?)
- PMPS BG TEST 7:45/8:00
- Dinner 8:00 - Like breakfast, usually 1/2 can. Then snacks on it for a little bit.
- PM Poke by 8:15
- Midnight snack 1:00/2:00 - 1/2 can
Thank you so much for reading and for your help if you've made it this far.
Spreadsheet: Miss Kitty's spreadsheet (Olivia Blake Thomas)