1/17 Mikey PMPS 420, +1 316, +2 223, +2.5 181 +3 162 +4 239

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...377-1-348-2-330-question.131566/#post-1353241

What is going on here! I didn't give a fur shot that I know of, but I guess it's possible that I gave one without realizing it. These numbers are insane! The only thing I've changed is putting him from 8% to 3%. Should I raise his dose? How much should I raise it by?

All 5 P's are in place. He's acting hungry but happy. I got a good snuggle and neck kneading this morning. Mikey, Mikey, Mikey!
 
It could be that the high AMPS that you're seeing is the result of the switch from 8% to 3% food. I would hold this dose for another few days to see where he settles before making another dose adjustment. This will give his body a bit of time to adjust to the new carb amount. Good luck!
 
Mikey doesn't seem to be talking about what's going on, is he? These numbers look like a bounce cycle, but from what? there is certainly nothing obvious there to cause a bounce.

I think I'd go back to the 8%, feed only that, and see what happens. I wonder if there is any chance the 3% isn't really 3%, but something higher instead. What's the brand/food of the 3%?
 
How are you feeling about his nadirs? Because of work, I can understand if the blue nadirs are acceptable .... better to keep him safe.

But if you want the nadirs a little lower, I do think he could use a little more insulin. He hasn't seen any green in 11 cycles.

I'm wondering if this is a high before a break from the bounce off his last blues.
 
Mikey doesn't seem to be talking about what's going on, is he? These numbers look like a bounce cycle, but from what? there is certainly nothing obvious there to cause a bounce.

I think I'd go back to the 8%, feed only that, and see what happens. I wonder if there is any chance the 3% isn't really 3%, but something higher instead. What's the brand/food of the 3%?

The food is FF Turkey and Giblets (kitty crack) which I've used a zillion times before. I double checked that can, and that's definitely what I gave him. It does look like a bounce to me.
 
How are you feeling about his nadirs? Because of work, I can understand if the blue nadirs are acceptable .... better to keep him safe.

But if you want the nadirs a little lower, I do think he could use a little more insulin. He hasn't seen any green in 11 cycles.

I'm wondering if this is a high before a break from the bounce off his last blues.

I'm not at all happy with his nadirs. When I say blue is acceptable, I'm thinking more like 125 or under, not what we're seeing. I'm home through Monday, because of the holiday, so this is an ideal time to raise his dose. Is it ok to raise it tonight? We've been giving a skinny .25. What would you raise it to? Old Eagle Eyes (Don) is doing all the measuring right now, but it's hard to increase in tiny amounts. I feel like raising him to .5 and kicking his kitty butt, but that's probably a terrible plan with Mikey! If I raise his dose, should I feed the 3% food or the 8%?
 
After rereading the protocol and checking out Mikey's fellow problem child Webster's spreadsheet, I have a proposal. Unless you all think I should wait and see if a bounce is clearing, my thought is to go ahead and raise him to a skinny .5 tonight and to switch back to 8% food. Does that seem like a good plan, or am I crazy? I really don't want to carry on as things are.

Lev is not out of the question in the future, but I need to do a whole lot of research and convince my vet, and to do that, I need to somewhat healthy for at least two days in a row! Ugh! That's just not happening at the moment. I also need to be sure this is a good move, and I don't have enough understanding of Lev to be confident of that. So in other words, what to I do right now?
 
Drat! I just scooped up Mikey and buried my face in his fur. He stinks like insulin. I suspect there actually might have been a fur shot. So what does that mean for a dose increase?
 
I was going to clarify my comment about the 3% food. What I meant wasn't that you were counting it at 3 percent when it really wasn't 3 percent, but there are situations where some cats seem to react to a food as though it is a higher carb. When I gave punkin, I think it was the fancy feast salmon, he always had higher blood sugar from it. And he wasn't the only 1. There were other cats as well that seem to react to it as though it were a higher carb. It was supposed to be 3%at the time.

I can't look at his ss at the moment but will check on the computer before you shoot tonight in case no one has gotten back to you yet. Typically with a fur shot you'ld wait before increasing, but as marje mentioned recently, that might be ok if you were already planning an increase.
 
Thanks, Julie. This is Mikey, so anything is not only possible, it's likely! :) I'll be shooting at 5:30, which is half an hour away. I'll check back first.
 
395 at PMPS????? Or +12. I'm stalling for 15 minutes without feeding, in case anyone is hear to help us call it. Otherwise, Don and I will take a stab in the dark. Clearly, Mikey's purpose in life is to make us insane!
 
If you were going to increase anyway, before the fur shot, I'd go with it, especially if you'll be around to monitor near the nadir.
 
I think that's "Stinker".....LOL

Mikey, Mikey, Mikey!! You trying to send your mamabean to the rubber room??

Or maybe both! :) He's 223 at +2 for a net drop of about 200 points. I'm giving him some more 12%. I foresee a bounce in his future. Mikey, Mikey, Mikey! Do you realize that they don't let cats in the rubber room??? Shape up!
 
He's about to get my best teacher look, followed by one of the dreaded Mrs. Williams lectures. If he was smart, he'd be shaking in his boots. I have detention slips, and I'm not afraid to use them!
 
162 at +3. I have him a little more 8% in hopes of achieving surf. Shaking a pile of detention slips at him too.
 
And we have the beginning of a bounce! He's at 239 at +4. That sounds to me like bounce is on it's way. I hope I'm wrong, or that he'll clear it quickly, but it's going to be what it is, and we will go along for the ride. I have a good feeling about this dose. I hope this will be the move that will bring Mikey where he needs to be! Only time will tell. Someone send some patients pants.
 
Pick your color!!!
 

Attachments

  • patience pants multiple color.jpg
    patience pants multiple color.jpg
    52.6 KB · Views: 61
If Mikey were mine, I'd have raised the dose to about 0.5u as well. He probably headed down because he was clearing a bounce ....maybe a little extra juice on board but it's a little early to be seeing the effects of that.

Some kitties get NDW; some kitties (like the other little Stink'ear) likes to go lower the first few cycles and then flatten out a little higher. You have a little time tomorrow to watch him.

Good sleeps....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top