1/17 Leo AMPS 393, PMPS 437

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lacie

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo here:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34561

Bumped up the dose for yesterday's PM shot by .5u to 3.0 and so far no difference in his numbers, but he's happier today and is peeing and drinking a bit less. Just a hunch, but I think this big boy's going to need a lot of insulin to get himself regulated.

We're going back to canned EVO or Wellness ASAP and ditching the canned Friskies. The rice in the Friskies can't be helping him. He'll just have to be convinced to eat the good stuff.

Now to sit back and wait for that AM +4 number.
 
Re: 1/17 Leo AMPS 393

Good morning guys .. I see leo is up on the pink floor with mocha today .. I hope they both come down ... Now, I'm no expert by any means, but is there a chance you are moving leo's doses to fast? If you have been given advice from others to up the dose then I would listen to them, but I thought the general rule was to hold the dose for six cycles .. but again, no expert here! I hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 1/17 Leo AMPS 393

Thanks for checking our data, Peter - people are pretty sharp around here! I hope your Mocha comes down too - pink doesn't look nice on cats.

I knew I was increasing Leo's dose one day earlier than the protocol recommends, but I wanted to take advantage of the day off so I can watch him all day. If I didn't do it last night, I'd have to wait until next weekend. With all his carpet peeing and general lethargy in the past week, I didn't like the idea of maintaining all those reds and pinks another week. His pattern is to look and feel better for a few days after an increase (although his numbers don't change) and then go back to looking feeble.

Just cleaned up another pee spot on the carpet in the spare bedroom which thankfully is shot anyway. Think I'll grab a nap before the +4 spot check. Gotta call the vet too and let her know we're 1u out in front of the last time I called her two weeks ago. :oops: Happy Monday.
 
Re: 1/17 Leo AMPS 393

Just as an FYI, you can increase the dose as early as after 4 cycles (2 days) according to the protocol. When numbers are high, sometimes being a bit more aggressive is a good strategy. I would, however, keep an eye on Leo's numbers. Changes often occur a cycle or two after a dose change since the shed needs time to catch up. This is especially the case since you gave Leo a large increase.
 
Re: 1/17 Leo AMPS 393

Just as an FYI, you can increase the dose as early as after 4 cycles (2 days) according to the protocol. When numbers are high, sometimes being a bit more aggressive is a good strategy.
Thanks for the FYI, Sienne. That's exactly what I took away from your post in Leo's condo last night. I feel better now that I'm testing at night too.
 
Re: 1/17 Leo AMPS 393

it's always a good idea to listen to sienne! I'm glad that he is looking and feeling better after an increase ..

OT, I saw you posted in another condo you are in MI, so are we!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top