1/17 Chispa, 303 AMPS, 75 +4, 75 +5; vet visit

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-55-5-5-pmps-482-520-403-2-5-333-4-5.297540/

Hi everyone - Chispa was still barely eating this morning, and I could only get two of her four meds into her wrapped in treats and rolled in salmon powder and butter. Her head was down and she was weak in her hind end (stumbling), probably from not eating, so I brought her to the vet this afternoon.

Her regular vet wasn't available, so we saw a younger vet, who wanted to prescribe Cerenia and Mirataz but didn't in the end, after checking the drug interactions and finding moderate warnings about mixing either of those with amlodipine and telmisartan, particularly in a patient with known heart issues, which Chispa has (what doesn't Chispa have?). She promised to consult with a more senior vet tomorrow about that and the lab results, and they'll call me.

I left without a remedy and feeling quite worried. We stopped by the pet store on the way home and got a supply of Churus and various fish-flavored broth or mousse formats in pouches, hoping maybe something new would perk her up. I don't usually buy food or treats without doing hours of research, but we're at the point where it's better for her to eat something, anything. Well, as soon as we got home, she headed to her feeding station and ate two Churus. Then I made a smoothie of her regular food, and she ate a reasonable amount of of that too!

I am so thankful.

She's napping now. I hope she wakes up with an appetite.

Wishing all cats and beans a hearty weekend :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Oh Karen I didn't know Chispa wasn't eating that much. I'm glad to hear she ate some when you got home from the vet. I hope you hear back soon from a senior vet . Please let us know how tonight goes with the eating :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@cecile & bella
@Tim & Pookey
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA

Thanks so much, Cecile and Tim and Diane, for your kind thoughts and support. :bighug::bighug::bighug: After Chispa went back to her hut for a nap, I refilled her bowl with another "smoothie" topped with half a Churu, then headed to my parents' house for dinner, hoping the dish would be empty upon return. But two hours later, she was still napping and hadn't touched it. I didn't want to give her shot without knowing whether she would eat, so I offered her a Churu, which she ate. I waited a few minutes and then brought the bowl of food over to her. She took a couple of licks and then turned her head.

She licks her lips when food comes near, but then she doesn't eat. That seems like nausea, but she's had ondansetron. Occasionally I've seen her pawing at the side of her mouth after she eats, as if food is stuck there, and that seems like a tooth issue -- but I've turned her food into a smoothie, and that hasn't solved it.

I reduced her dose from 3 to 2.75 in case she doesn't eat tonight. I hope that was the right thing to do. Looks like it'll be another pajama party.
 
Update: She ate another Churu and almost 2 tsp of her regular food smoothie at PM +2. She's still in her hut, but her head is higher (above her shoulders) and she purred when I scratched under her chin. I'll keep bringing her small amounts of food and hope she eats them. But I hope I'm not training her to expect room service from now on.:rolleyes:
 
So good to hear the Churu works and Chipsa is eating. I need to get some for when Kona stops eating.

Hopefully the vet team will come up with a good treatment plan.

I’ll be thinking of you two, hang in there mom! :bighug:
 
I hope you hear some answers and solutions from the vet soon.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Have you tried all meat baby food with her? Some cats find that hard to resist.

A couple posts that might help:
I was also wondering if you could add Cerenia to the mix. It targets a different nausea receptor than does the ondansetron, so sometimes giving both helps.
Hi Wendy -- Thanks so much for these resources. :bighug::bighug::bighug: The liver shake sounds ... interesting ... but I will try it, and baby food, along with the other stuff I've gotten for her.
The vet didn't want to give Cerenia because of a possible drug interaction, but she said she'd check with Chispa's regular vet in the morning.
 
Back
Top