1/17 Atlas PMPS 279, +3 260

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Good Morning Lantus Land....

Yesterday's Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34503

Recap:
171 3.00
-- +1
182 +2 (0.5 oz NMM)
119 +3 (0.5 NMM)
-- +3.5 (0.25 XTRA)
104 +3.75 (MONITOR DROP & HAD SLOWED--NO FOOD ~O) ~O) )
85, +4 (0.5 NMM)
72 + 4.5
54, +5 (0.5 NMM)
58 +5.25
63 +6
68 +8
75 3.00
83 +2
80@ 3.5

*NMM= normal mini-meal

So, what did I learn yesterday? Attie's not the same as the old cat, he has new tricks and surprises you ALL have taught him. And a few he's trying himself....like feed the dive early if need be but once slowed, let the numbers settle down on their own, monitor and stop panicking over them.

Lot's of friskiness this morning! Attie loves to chase a ping-pong ball...well any kind of ball really...and he could not wait or really bother to finish his breakfast! The ping pong ball near him was just too big of a temptation! MudCat is confused by his behavior being so kittenish.

Temp. today is 6F. Gary stopped by this morning, but was unusually skittish. Instead of sitting off the step waiting for me to put the bowl down...he ran off. Normally he would come back to the bowl once I close door...he didn't. I wondered what happened?

With it this cold this morning I went to check on the lodge with a new hot sock ready to go, only to find Rebel on my front porch!!! Arghhhh....he is one mean, nasty cat. In the summer I have to carry a spray gun in my own yard for Rebel the Attack Cat. So with everything frozen cold...I retreat to the house as I am defenseless against him. I will try again to go out in a little while as I know Gary retreated to the Eagles Nest below. He can get trapped down there if we have big snow though. :sad: The cold weather should convince Rebel to go home to his heated waterbed :evil:

In the meantime my two have gone from fun and frisky to ....the oooohhhh....what's going on out there mode. :lol:
 
Re: 1/17 Atlas Amps 108

I'm glad you're learning, and adjusting. It looks like you're doing a great job. And, that's a really nice AMPS to start with.

I hope Rebel goes home, and Gary comes back.
 
Re: 1/17 Atlas Amps 108

Attie is really shining!!! Great job managing him so well.

Sorry that evil Rebel is causing Gary to be skittish. That can't be fun for Gary at all. I feel bad for him. He's got a hard enough life being an outdoor kitty.
 
Re: 1/17 Atlas Amps 108

great condo, lots of learning going on, great numbers, AWESOME WCR. :mrgreen:

Sorry about Gary and Rebel but hopefully that will all sort itself out.
 
Re: 1/17 Atlas Amps 108

Another great start for Atlas! I hope Cary decides to come back this morning.

I saw your note about a feeder in Gabby's condo. I have one but I use a 2-compartment model. I tried the higher tech 5-compartment model -- twice. The motor died on both. I gave up and went back to the low tech model that works just fine. The dis/advantage is that once a compartment is open, it stays that way so there's not means to prevent Gabby from eating if it's past +10 and I'm not home (unless Gizmo has eaten the food).
 
Re: 1/17 Atlas Amps 108

I purchased my PetSafe off ebay used for half-price, there's going to come a point where I'm not home or may not be able to get home between clients.

In Attie's case if he misses a meal it throws the metabolism off and he needs the pick-me-up after 1pm/am in his cycle. It keeps that dip at +10/11 from being too deep. The problem is if he gets the +1, but skipped earlier in the cycle...there is no way for him to get the missed meal? And I very much like that the feeder keeps the raw food moist and it doesn't dry out as if I left it for a free-feed situation.

I am thinking if he is going to consistently skip say the 11 am/pm meal...then just setting the feeder to offer the 3 am/pm meal at +9.

With these new numbers I am wanting to let him take the lead a little. If his pancreas is healing, his liver adjusting...that would mean his metabolism is changing too. Right now when I am home and the feeder rotates, if he doesn't get up to go get it himself...I am encouraging him too. Before he would RUN to the feeder to get the meal. So, he is changing. The "I'm starving" mode is more or less subsided, but part of me wants to keep him stable with a steady food source so we don't panic the liver. :?
 
Re: 1/17 Atlas Amps 108

Libby and Lucy said:
great condo, lots of learning going on, great numbers, AWESOME WCR. :mrgreen:

Sorry about Gary and Rebel but hopefully that will all sort itself out.


OK...I have to ask...I've seen it used all over the place, but somebody took down the lingo page! So what the heck is WCR?

Well here's my thinking on Attie's drops. Slow the drop initially. If he doesn't maintain a steep drop ...like yesterday we dropped (-63) I think...I reacted and slowed the drop initially. But we're also at onset so he should continue to drop, but at a slower rate. Which he did, but we then just monitored and fed per usual. Hoping to keep his metabolism steady and his liver in the "no fear zone." Rather than continuing to carb load onset. As long as the drop between tests remained below x-level, I wasn't going to continue to feed extra. Rather just let him settle out. As noted in my condo I do have a definite "do carb number," but none of this may be right for everybody.
 
Re: 1/17 Atlas Amps 108, +3.5 103

Good morning guys! What a great start to the day for atlas .. a nice blue surf so far ... bet green is in the immediate future .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/17 Atlas Amps 108, +3.5 103, +6 147

I was wondering when this might show up...

Ok...so we put a little fat back on the dose this evening. Since I was trying to shoot 3.25F and dropped to 3.0 I'm only going to up it either a fat or shave it 3.25. Guess that means I need to get the magnifying glass back out! :lol:

Course protocol says to go back to the last good dose...?
 
Re: 1/17 Atlas Amps 108, +3.5 103, +6 147

Great day for Attie yesterday and I learn so much from your condo. Gracie doing the same thing this morning..awesome AMPS and then pffftttttt so I'm taking her back up, too. Good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: 1/17 Atlas Amps 108, +3.5 103, +6 147, +7 186

Yeah...I think the Beta cells need a little more time to get with the rest of the program.
 
Re: 1/17 Atlas Amps 108, +3.5 103, +6 147, +7 186, +9 234

Yeah...I knew that bounce was in there someplace...
orcspash.gif
 
Re: 1/17 Atlas PMPS 279

We're going back to the last good dose 3.25u I don't think we were quite ready for a full reduction yet. I had hoped, we tried...but I think we need a little more time.
 
Whew...at least no pinks... :smile: On our way back down now...

Let's just try this again... ;-)


No Gary tonight...but temps are way up in the 30's F. So warm enough that the lodge should keep a kitty warm ....
 
Gary just stopped by... :YMSIGH:

Looks like he and Rebel crossed paths today. Several stiffened tufts of blood covered fur on his scruff and hip.... :YMSIGH:

He got his warm meal...looks like he headed for the lodge.

He actually let me touch him tonight...
 
Awwwwww I'd set a trap for that Rebel and maybe the experience would make him stay away. How horrible. Is there a way you can stop Rebel from coming around? That made me sad :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top