1.17.19 Max AMPS 413

Giomax

Member Since 2018
+2 = 359

I've started an all canned diet today! No more dry food. Gonna start ketone testing today. Ordered some Zobaline online to powder over his food. He's still floppy on his back legs but I don't expect to see any improvements on that until we get his sugar down and some B-12 in him.

I'm off work Saturday and Sunday this week. Should I go up to 5.5 or 6 units if I'm still seeing all these reds, blacks and pinks? He's been on 5 units for several cycles now and I'm only seeing a little improvement. Could he still be bouncing? Please reference his spreadsheet. The spreadsheet started in January, but he was diagnosed in October, started at 1 unit, gradually increased over time due to bad test results and deteriorating health.

Thanks so much for all the advice!
 
Last edited:
So glad to see ur changing food, sorry if I upset u, just want to help get his numbers down, u r in the best best place here,these people know their stuff, Bella is alive because of these fine people, so glad ur getting rid of dry food, +2 heading in right direction :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I think moving to wet is a great decision. High five. With that move to low carb food...I think you will see numbers drop dramatically and he will be earning reductions quickly. That is a move in the right direction with that plus 4.
 
Well, we've had some good colors before and then went right back into the red and black. Possible bounce?? Ah well, for now I'm happy with this yellow. Left out some frozen wet food. Wish I could be home to test at +6 but will be at work. I'll let you know what his PMPS is though! And I'll be monitoring more closely tonight.
 
How long is a bit? On average.

I'm testing for ketones tonight. I can't read through the sticky again until I get off work....can someone tell me briefly how to read the meter (safe/dangerous numbers)? I'm gonna get a blood one. What do I do if he's positive?
 
The problems with bouncy kitties, is they'll bounce until their body gets used to it. I think Wendy's Neko took almost a year to stop bouncing. My buddy Lou has been diabetic for over a year and a half. He only started bouncing when we switched him to the Basaglar (similar in action to the Lantus) after being on insulin almost a year. He still does it, but he may be leveling out on the Levemir. Only time will tell. Unfortunately, some kitties will bounce all the way to remission. There isn't really anything you can do to stop them. Their body just needs to get used to those lower numbers and some are slow learners. :facepalm::rolleyes:

I have a blood ketone meter and I love it. I love being able to test whenever I want since it's hard to catch Lou in the LB (which seems weird since he is a diabetic). There's a great article on how to read it located HERE. According to that article: "The latest published research/studies in cats indicate ketones will begin to show up at readings of 2.4 and 2.55 on a blood ketone meter:" We don't have a direct correlation to the strips yet (Trace, Moderate, Large, etc.), but if it's below 2.4/2.55, the result is considered negative. If it's around that number, perhaps up to 2.9 or 3.0, it's likely trace (don't know if there's a way to know for sure). If they are at trace, increase the amount of water you mix with the wet food and check at least once a cycle (I would check every couple of hours if it's trace, but if he's coming down and back into negative, I'd check at least once a cycle to make sure that number isn't going back up). If the numbers go higher than trace, it's time to go to the vet.

A lot of information you'll need and/or want to review is located in our Health Links/FAQs thread. It is located HERE on FDMB and it has information about so many things, including diabetic neuropathy, ketones and ketoacidosis, dental information, pancreatitis, etc.
 
Bella still bounces some, he did forever and we are about 1.5 yrs in, he still does but not as bad and not as big, didn’t think we would ever get here
 
That looks better than Max's :')

I just got a bunch of Fancy Feast. Blood ketone monitors have to be ordered online, so I bought some urine strips to try. I can't wait until the B vitamins arrive. I can't stand seeing him walk so wonky like he is. :'(

Pls help with all the advice you can give and thanks so much for all your help so far.

-- a desperate mom
 
Not to copy what I do with Olive as she is acro and medium insulin dose kitty, so things are done a bit off protocol, but look at her ss of 2018 when I got her. It was like giving her water for months. Switched to levemir and it helped level her out. However, when she got a pink she bounced to red, when she got a yellow she bounced to red. It took a long time to eliminate the reds. Now she still bounces to a pink every couple of weeks but it doesn't last and she's right back down to yellow and blue. She is coming up on 1 yr of diagnosis.
 
That looks better than Max's :')

I just got a bunch of Fancy Feast. Blood ketone monitors have to be ordered online, so I bought some urine strips to try. I can't wait until the B vitamins arrive. I can't stand seeing him walk so wonky like he is. :'(

Pls help with all the advice you can give and thanks so much for all your help so far.

-- a desperate mom

You're doing fine! Take a deep breath! He's just going to bounce way high anytime he goes lower than what he's used to - try to roll with those punches. I know it's disappointing and you're hoping for better numbers. They will come along - just gotta find the right dose for im and get all those dry food carbs out of his system. It's only been one day since he had dry food....so try to be patient...hang in there...:bighug::bighug:
 
I got some chewies for joint health and also for skin and coat. He's never had visible dander in his life, but now it's all over his back. I know poor coat is a side-effect of the diabetes. Just want him fixed!
 
I got some chewies for joint health and also for skin and coat. He's never had visible dander in his life, but now it's all over his back. I know poor coat is a side-effect of the diabetes. Just want him fixed!
Like we say around here, get your patience pants out, your gonna need them:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:we all ant this fix like yesterday, but you have to remember insulin is a hormone not a medicine, takes time
 
If they pee and drink a lot, they'll pee the ketones out?

Yes, that is how a cat gets rid of ketones, (in their urine.)
That is why most members put additional water in the canned wet food.
Another benefit of feeding your cat wet food is more hydration.
When you have a diabetic cat every opportunity to increase the amount of water in their diet can't be missed because it will allow kitties to get rid of more ketones.

I found this article on the web when I was feeling at a loss and so desperate to help Bear.
It is written by a leading Vet in the field of diabetes and health Dr Pierson. https://catinfo.org/
Dr Pierson's staff referred me to this forum/message board.
This article has great info on different techniques to help your kitty eat a better diet.
 
Ah, ok. He drinks and pees a LOT. Probably why he's been tested negative for ketones so far. Still gonna test him at home next time I get a chance!
 
Just got back from cat shopping. What do you guys think of my haul?
 

Attachments

  • 15477772865751065872440.jpg
    15477772865751065872440.jpg
    111.6 KB · Views: 71
Dry food out the door!

They're big boys, about 10lbs each (not overweight, just big). I was thinking two cans each a day?? A frozen can each in the morning/to sit throughout the day and a fresh can each at night?
 

Attachments

  • 1547777925665-46272532.jpg
    1547777925665-46272532.jpg
    78.2 KB · Views: 70
I know it takes time... and I know we're in a hurry to help our little kitties! I just posted because Ti-Mousse doesn't leave Black and Red numbers and I'm worried, so I'm fighting Black and Red numbers too. We seem to be in the same boat! You're doing all what has to be done! No dry food, low carb wet w/water, test ketones, be patient! Unfortunately, it's not like you've got a headache, take 2 aspirins, 30 minutes later: gone... !!
 
HOW IS MAX 560 @ +4?

:arghh::arghh::arghh:
Don't worry, you've asked help, you'll get it! Ti-Mousse was 601 at PMPS and that's why I just asked if someone could help me ! If Max has neuropathy, might need B12 vitamin, but do wait until experts tell you what to do; I'm new to all this but read alot. Don't worry, we're all together to help each other. Just don't be afraid to ask as long as you feel safe to go on your own !!
 
I think Wendy's Neko took almost a year to stop bouncing.
That's a year to stop bouncing to red, she still bounced to pink at that point. :rolleyes:

Hang on. :bighug: Feline diabetes is a marathon not a sprint. Getting rid of dry food is the best thing you can do, well done! I would hold onto this dose for a couple days and see how the change in food affects his numbers. We had one member here whose kitty was on 5.5 units and sneaking another kitties dry food, even though the caregiver didn't know it. She banished dry from the house, and her kitty went off insulin three days later. Needless to say, the caregiver got hardly any sleep and was fighing hypos a lot of that time. It's not usually that dramatic, but getting rid of high carb dry can still make a huge change in dose. And it takes a few days for the effects of the dry to work out of the system, you won't see changes overnight.

Sorry about the bounce, Max still isn't used to yellows.
 
Back
Top