1/16 Zeke AMPS/192;+1/218;+3/56; PMPS/214; +1/249;+3.5/151

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL ~O) ~O)

Sending vines to all that need them.

Well, we've been seeing some wonky cycles last few days. For the most part those have occurred at night. However, we got a little wonkiness this morning. Perhaps this is due to the inconsistent dosing between my DH and me. Hopefully, that will settle down soon.

Wishing everyone a get day.

Zeke's Yesterday
 
Re: 1/16 Zeke AMPS/192; +1/218; +2/81

That is quite a drop at +2 there, Zeke - surf that safely!!!

Wonkiness could be from dosing between DH and you...or could be because Zeke is a cat, and they LUV to keep their beans guessing!

Have a great day, guys!!!
 
Re: 1/16 Zeke AMPS/192; +1/218; +2/81; +3/56

I'm going to start calling this "doing a Zeke" :lol: :lol:

diving-4047.gif
 
Re: 1/16 Zeke AMPS/192;+1/218;+2/81;+3/56;+4/49;+6/97

Thanks for visiting Amy and Marje. Yeah, Zeke does like to dive sometimes doesn't he. He's just full of surprises. Never know what we're gonna get.

Today I was trying to head off to work by +4 but unfortunately Zeke had dipped to 49 so I couldn’t leave him. I went ahead and fed him about 1.5t of 4% thinking that would get him to rise just a tad. Figured any rise above 50 would be good enough to feel comfortable leaving him as my DH was going to be checking on him around lunch (appx at +6). At +6.25, Zeke’s up to 97. Somewhat surprised that the little bit of carbs that I gave him caused his BG to rise that much. I know 97 is still within the normal range and that Zeke’s body doesn’t know the difference between 97 and say 50, but still. Actually, we’ve been noticing that on this lower dose, Zeke’s BGs will go up and continue to rise if we feed him after about +4, sometimes even regardless of the % carbs. Now it seems nearly impossible for Zeke to surf if he’s had anything to eat after +4. Just wondering if many of you have noticed this phenomenon on a lower dose.
 
Re: 1/16 Zeke AMPS/192; +1/218; +2/81; +3/56

I agree with Marje :lol: Zeke is looking very nice though, it's good to see all these greens...although I think he needs to try out for the curling/sliding club instead of the diving one to help prevent bean heart attacks! Have a nice day Laura :-D
 
Re: 1/16 Zeke AMPS/192;+1/218;+3/56; PMPS/214; +1/249

ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile He's getting good surfs and some nice numbers but these yellows need to just GO AWAY and be replaced with better numbers.
Time to break out the HUMONGOUS patience pants 'cause I don't see that there's anything I can do. :YMSIGH:
Thoughts?
 
Re: 1/16 Zeke AMPS/192;+1/218;+3/56; PMPS/214; +1/249

The cats are leading the dance, we are just along for the ride. Zeke is getting some very nice nadirs. :-D I've got a nice pair of patience pants for you, they even come in yellow. :lol:

48dde1433268160f0d47369acb972f3e.jpg
 
Re: 1/16 Zeke AMPS/192;+1/218;+3/56; PMPS/214; +1/249;+3.5/1

Well so far this is the worst cycle we've had in awhile. This is not to say that his numbers are bad it's just that they're not on par with other cycles of late. Our Lantus is about 5 months old. Could it be that we need to replace it? We keep it refrigerated but we did leave the bottle overnight with a kennel when we boarded Zeke back in November so who knows what they did with it. Additionally, we probably had some contamination early on when we were pumpinge the insulin back into the bottle in an effort to eliminate bubbles when filling the syringe (before we watched Julie's video on the proper technique for syringe filling). The insulin is still clear (no particles or cloudiness) so perhaps it's still fine but thought I'd mention it. Thoughts?
 
Re: 1/16 Zeke AMPS/192;+1/218;+3/56; PMPS/214; +1/249;+3.5/1

Hi Laura

I was just looking at Zeke's SS :-D He's doing well and I think it's a good idea to hold his dose. He was I. The 40s today and is bouncing from that tonight. But look how fast he started to clear it :-D

A couple things I see and others may see other things.

--it's not unusual to see a cat run a little higher one cycle than the other; a lot of times, they run lower at night but Zeke likes to run lower during the day. :-D

--feeding as you get closer to nadir or after nadir slows down the effects of the insulin.

--mixing carbs makes your job tougher. I know this from firsthand experience because I used to do it. Now I keep it simple. Gracie gets 4% the majority of the time. If she's dropping fast or is really low, I give her 12%. If she's flat but in the 40s/50s, I give her 5% to get her up a bit to surf. I've found what works for her and you'll have to find out what works for Zeke. And it could change.

--I would try to be as consistent as possible with his regular food be it 4% or 7%.

:-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top