1/16 Simon PMPS 100 +4 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Simon is a little lower than yesterday morning, and no throw up today! Little things make me very happy! He seems to be doing very well with the skinny .25 and I'm wondering what the next step is. He really hasn't gone below 50 on this dose, so I guess I am supposed to hold this dose for a little while longer? I know that if he looks good for at least 7 straight days, if I am understanding the protocol right, I can reduce the dose? He tends to be blue at the AMPS so does that mean I can't reduce until I see all greens? I know, I know, my lack of patience is showing through.

I hope everyone has a wonderful, stress-free day!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34427
 
Re: 1/16 Simon AMPS 112

Simon is doing great. You are correct with how you are interpreting the protocol The only note I'd make is that if Simon's numbers continue the way they are, I wouldn't reduce. His pre-shot numbers, especially in the AM, are still a bit higher than we like to see before dropping the dose. One thought is to try a snack at around +8 or +9. Often giving a little bit of food (like a teaspoon) will stimulate the pancreas and pull the numbers down.

If you don't have a feeder, it might be worth considering. Personally, I'm not good about climbing out of bed to give a snack at 2 AM (my +8).
 
Re: 1/16 Simon AMPS 112

I would prefer to see those preshots come down before reducing his dose. I wonder if adding a small feeding at +9 would help? If his pancreas is working (which I think it is, at least most of the time), then giving a little snack near the end of the cycle can help him hold that number down on his own. The Lantus is wearing off that time and that is why the number goes up, but the idea is to get his pancreas to produce a little bit of its own insulin to help him at the end of the cycle.

Do you have a timed feeder? Are you able to remove a little bit of food from his earlier feedings and try giving it at +9 in both cycles? I would try that for a few days and see if the preshots come down.

LOL, I hit "submit" and see that Sienne just suggested the same thing!
 
Re: 1/16 Simon AMPS 112

Hi Georgia and Simon! I notice that Simon gets lower numbers at +4 as opposed to +3 on his SS. I agree that a snack would bring his numbers down and you might start with trying the +8 snack. If you give the +9, there might not be enough time for the best drop....so that's why I would think 4 hours between snack and preshot would be your best option. Experiment with the +7, +8 and +9 and see which gives the lowest preshot. He is looking great! :thumbup
 
Re: 1/16 Simon AMPS 112

Sienne, Libby, and Pat: Thanks for your great advice. I do have a timed feeder so I will try and give him a little food tonight at +8 and see what he does in the AM. I'll experiment between the +8,9, & 10 to see what works best. Thanks so much for your help!
 
Re: 1/16 Simon AMPS 112 +2 78

Happy Sunday, Georgia & Simon.. looking great in green :mrgreen: Simon is a blessed boy!
Good luck with the feeding at +8 or +9 & any future dosecrease sliding down the dosing scale!
 
Re: 1/16 Simon AMPS 112 +2 78

Hi Georgia...looks like you have great advice. Simon is looking great and you've done an awesome job with him!!
 
Re: 1/16 Simon AMPS 112 +2 78 +9 98

Hi - Maverick and Simon are on the exact same dose and we are doing the food experimenting also (a bit different because every cat is different). We are also trying to get Maverick's preshot numbers consistently green.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top