1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS/ PM BG 106=NS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
hi all,
tough night here...he fell asleep shortly after i gave him the fluids last night...
+6.5 found him trembling with no drooling so since i had not given the bupe dose i gave 0.26 (which is half) and prepared myself to give the other half 4 hrs later....drooling seems to happen now only when i give the bupe...since he had eaten at +6 i figure need to take care of the trembling and no food given

+9 94 but found him trembling but mild...lil drooling
+10.5 half dose of bupe given...did not want to eat
+11.5 tremors and restlessness...seeking out cold places as he had been all night
AM BG 106...no shot....fed
+0.5 pheno and pepcid
+2 tremors again...gave zofran...did not want to eat
+2.5 full dose of bupe given...tremors and restless...
+4.5 mild trembling....outside bathroom in hallway (it's cooler there)...he ate

i took his temp and it was normal
so since i've been reading that restlessness and tremors and seeking out cold places could be pain....i gave full dose of bupe at +2.5

he slept a lil bit....

he is alert and eats ok....no drooling on full dose of bupe....

i'm beyond exhausted....no words can describe how i feel....

not sure if i will give the pm shot....not looking like it....and tomorrow i will make sure he goes to see the vet....

if i let him be in or near the bathroom this is when he gets cold and the tremors get worse....so i don't know what that means either....i'm at a loss for words and my head can no longer spin....frustration, helplessness, out of body experiences are full blown....total weight loss 17 lbs since this ordeal started....and i'm not proud of it...taking him to the ER is pointless cause they won't do anything like the last time...
yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34474

so that's that for us here....will try to report later....
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS

Oh Claudia - I bet you are exhausted...but glad to hear the full dose of bupe helps. We'll be thinking of you guys today & looking forward to the vet report.

PS Do you have a heating pad for Rocket? A couple of my kitties really like them & I ended up getting a second one but cut down on the competition for the one.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS

Oh Claudia...I don't know how you are doing it but I understand. You are in that gray area where he is not really showing the "signs" of wanting to transition but he's not getting better. I would be doing the same as you but that intense health care takes an enormous toll on your emotional and physical well being. Like we say with the cats, the right diet is the one they'll eat and so, too, must you eat! I just have to wonder if this IS CP and it's just really taking him a long time to kick it but you are doing all the right things...pain meds, fluids, pepcid. Thinking of you and sending more healing vines, hugs, and support...whatever you need.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS

still sending healing, restful vines to you both...

sounds like the bupe helped out....
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS/contemplating taking him to ER

the tremors don't go away....he is restless...not sleeping...weighed him in and he has lost weight....Jan 7 he was 7.13 kgs....now 6.98 kgs....gave subq fluids after

ER vet tech just called me back....the quote to keep him overnight with no diagnostics just to keep an eye on him is oh sooooo very expensive....way out of my reach....so i will take him in just to have the ER vet look at him....but not holding my breath they will do anything for him.....

he is really restless and the tremoring has not subsided even with the full bupe dose....

this is oh so very upsetting....so hard to take
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS/taking him to ER

holding you and rocket close in thought and prayer, claudia. (((Hugs)))

bupe shouldn't be given earlier than 6 hrs apart, i think. not sure whether later tremors reflected early bupe dose? hoping the ER can get you past this crisis so you can both get some needed rest.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS/taking him to ER

Im sorry you need to bring rocket in. Im hoping the ER vet will have a fresh perspective and new ideas to help you both through this. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS/taking him to ER

Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers and hoping you can find out what is going on with your dear Rocket.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS/taking him to ER

just now seeing this sending a ton of snowflakes for you Rocket update us when you can ((((((Claudia)))))
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS/taking him to ER

(((Claudia))) & (((Rocket)))) come on Rocket. Pull through baby. Sending lots of feel better vines.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS/taking him to ER

Hi, Claudia.. my heart & head are with you & Rocket.. I hope you can find answers soon.. because his quality of life right now :YMSIGH: bless both your hearts for doing all you can do, sometimes we have to weigh everything when nothing is helping. I pray for you both & want you both to find peace & comfort.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS/taking him to ER

There are so many "fight, fight, fight" vines flying around LL right now. I hope Rocket can feel all that energy and use it. Claudia, I hope you can also feel us surrounding you with support.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS/Back from ER

back from the ER...
same vet that saw him Jan1
she did not run any tests and deemed running the hyperthyroid one sort of inconclusive with a "sick cat" her words not mine....
so she has upped the bupe dose to 0.7 ml every 8 hrs...i have enough to tie me over until tomorrow....so by tomorrow i'm hoping to get a hold of his vet....
he has lost weight....he was at home 6.98 kgs today...at the ER he was 7.0 kgs (sorry too distraught to convert)
temperature taken and he was ok...cranky but ok...
she did examined him but not the teeth as she said to do that he needs sedation...blah blah...USELESS VET

so i asked about his potassium being 4.4 last checked...i asked about hyperthyroid...i asked about his teeth...i asked about CP flare up not going away....all in all....i got nothing....

she touched him and got weighed in...temp taken and was sent home with more bupe to give....i told her about him being restless......he seemed fine at the ER....minor trembling but nothing huge...

so she said to give all meds as Rx...continue with subq....and if his appetite is not the greatest then not to give insulin...so in 1 hr he gets his bupe...

when we got home he went straight for his food which he always does whenever we get back from the vet....right now he is in the closet....he's been back and forth....bathroom/bedroom...not knowing what to do....he is not trembling....alert and cranky....

DH says he sees nothing wrong with him....only that he trembles a lil bit but otherwise he says he sees cranky Rocket!....

i will email the vet tonight...most likely i won't give insulin....he is eating and vet did not give explanation as to why the weight loss...she kept going back to his kidney issues....when i know his lab report is not bad for the kidneys....at least Jan3 report....

so this is where we are right now....

i will ask his vet if he can be seen tomorrow....and if they can run the Free T4 on him....and will ask to look at his teeth...though the drooling has stopped...he drools shortly after the bupe...which i mentioned to the ER vet...she said it's normal...
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS/Back from ER

The vet is right -- you really can't get a good read on teeth without the cat being sedated.

Some of the restlessness may be a paradoxical reaction to the bupe. Gabby gets stoned. Some cats pace and are restless. A friend of mine just had this with her cat after a dental. Her cat does not handle opiates well. They ended up using gabapentin.

Can your vet run a phenobarb level? If she's running bloodwork, if she's not gotten a level this might help so you know whether Rocket is under or over dose.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS/Back from ER

((((Claudia)))) I'm so sorry Rocket is still sick. I'm sending healing vines and prayers for him to improve very quickly. I hope you can get into the vet tomorrow.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocket AM BG 106=NS/Back from ER

Sienne and Gabby said:
The vet is right -- you really can't get a good read on teeth without the cat being sedated.

Some of the restlessness may be a paradoxical reaction to the bupe. Gabby gets stoned. Some cats pace and are restless. A friend of mine just had this with her cat after a dental. Her cat does not handle opiates well. They ended up using gabapentin.

Can your vet run a phenobarb level? If she's running bloodwork, if she's not gotten a level this might help so you know whether Rocket is under or over dose.
the pheno level on jan 3 was 68 (65-196 range) so he is on low end...also his potassium was 4.4 (3.5-5.7 range...can't remember the top range for this one but he is getting lower)....

i have moved stuff around and where he was yesterday i noticed there is a lot of cold air coming in....so i plugged that up and i plugged his other heated bed there and put another of his blankies....so that's where he is right now....i know he is warm....i got tricked yesterday thinking he was warm when in fact there wasn't much warmth coming in....but that has been blocked as of this morning....so the trembling is not cause he's been in that one spot....

typing a long email to the vet for sure....i'm beyond drained....so in half hr he gets the full dose of bupe and fingers crossed he will be ok...so i'm not expecting to give insulin tonight though i will check his pm bg....

now based on his numbers all along....is the insulin doing that or is there a glimmer of hope his pancreas is still working?
 
fed him 1/3 baby food jar....at what would have been his +11.5...so not sure if that played a role in his PM BG 106

he is pretty high on the bupe....slept in my arms for half hr....pheno and pepcid in 15 mins....

it is heartbreaking to see him all high on meds but if it will get him over this hump then i'm ok with it....

please continue to pray that he gets better soon....don't forget us please!

will try to update as i can....
 
Claudia...we will not forget you and Rocket. We all wish we could be there to help you....we feel so helpless but I hope it gives you comfort that you
are in our thoughts and prayers. Come on Rocket...fight buddy!!!
 
(((claudia))) (((rocket)))

Still sending prayers and vines and snowflakes.....I wish I could do something more to help you! We won't forget you, don't worry!
 
Sending lots of positive thoughts your way, Claudia & Rocket. I hope you see some baby steps forward soon. Try and take care of yourself too!
 
(((Claudia))) I don’t know anything to help you with Rocket.. I'm just amazed at all you do for him... Please take care of yourself too…

Sending more healing vines and prayers for You and Rocket... :YMHUG:
 
the trembling is very very mild....have managed to feed him baby food mixed with a lil bit of proplan....he is restless...pretty high on the bupe....but has managed to sleep 10 mins or 20 mins at a time...obviously he goes to the bathroom and i go pick him up then bundle him up and carry him to bed with me and he sort of relaxes....it is as though he is in detox or something...have only seen it on tv....heartbreaking....but he seems comfortable but high...if that makes sense...

obviously he is not eating his normal food...but anything in his tummy will do....and lil bit at a time too....

thank you Linda...i will let you know when i get it...

this is very upsetting but the tremoring is almost gone...and he looks though restless at times very peaceful....if that makes sense

please please please continue to pray for us....
 
Even though I have only been here for a few months, I think of everyone as family now. You and Rocket are part of that family and we will continue to send you lots and lots of hugs and prayers.
 
9:30 pm ....had to give 1/8 tablet of cypro...don't really like using it but at this point i'm at a loss and don't know what to do...perhaps the big dose of bupe has made him not eat much...been assist feeding all night...sometimes successful other times not so....

at 10 pm (6 hrs since he got the bupe) trembling, twitching/spasms seen...no drooling....

have written all to the vet....i have kept a diary of everything...hopefully we can get to the bottom of it...

10:15 pm fed Evo and proplan...he ate a good serving...probably the cypro kicked in to help him eat but also to semi sedate him too...who knows...i don't know anymore....still trembling/twitching/spasms continue...not hugely but enough to notice from a distance and he has the medium/long hair....

10:30 brought him to bed and he stayed only 5 mins....
10:45 pm...finally not restless...sleeping....odd spasm...relaxed...on the floor though....near the bed....

now my dilemma is to give or not to give the next bupe dose at 12 midnight.....but since i have no vet to talk to...will have no choice than to give bupe...full dose....so...i won't sleep tonight....if indeed it was a CP flare up...then it will help...if it wasn't then i medicated him regardless....

i wished i had an answer....sorry for rumbling...

so most likely tomorrow no insulin....
 
((((((Claudia and Rocket))))))))

I really wish there was something we could do to help :YMHUG: . I know you are overwhelmed. Would it be possible to get another opinion, a different vets fresh eyes, maybe another vet at the same clinic? Just like people when our health is in need?

We know you are doing everything you possibly can. We would never forget you guys. Sending prayers and good thoughts :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
i'm so sorry you're going thru this, claudia.
not sure whether vet isn't checking the right stuff or the right answers just aren't to be found. went thru that with cleo. you just do the best you can. rocket understands that and loves you. (((Hugs)))
 
Hi Claudia,
How is Rocket this morning? My heart and prayers go out to you? They have such an amazing spirit in not wanting to give up? I hope your Vet can give you some answers today. Keep us posted and hang in there. I can see so many vines and prayers are going out to you and Rocket.
 
(((((Claludia & Rocket)))))
More vines and positive thoughts and prayers going out to you this morning. I hope that you both had a reasonable night and that today will bring an improvement in Rocket's condition. We are always thinking of you.

Many hugs,
Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top