1/16 Ole +5 532 +6 422 +10.5 496 .1uR +11 503 +11.5 449

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Member Since 2013
Good Morning!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111937

Another high swing up, so you know what that means, Increase the juice! I really hope that this dose will help with Ole's bell curve. Would R help with the after +10 climbs?

Ole slept with us again last night at the foot of the bed. I'll be following him all around the house this morning with strip in hand to test for K. He stealthily used the litter box all day yesterday, and all day I caught my self saying out loud ""Ole! You used the litter box without telling me!". Good thing my neighbors can't hear me.

I'll test several times this morning, and if he is dropping, I'll leave him some HC food. I'll keep you in our loop, as always. Wish us luck!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS 597 +2 403 +3 415 +4.5 273

Sunshine again in Oles world! :cool:
Go Ole!

Glad you decided to increase this cycle - Oles BGs need a beat down!
Rebekah said:
Would R help with the after +10 climbs?
I personally would have to give it some thought. I was a heavy user of R with BK due to him being prone to ketones , his history of DKA (2 episodes) and his extreme insulin resistance due to IAA. Using R on a regular basis added an extra layer of complexity to my shooting and monitoring routine however being that I worked from home and BK was my 'shop cat'. it made it possible to keep a very close eye on him. I could not have shot all that R had I worked away from home. Also, BK was not prone to wild swings - it took 6 months before we saw the first double digits and it lasted about 2 hours. We didn't see green again for another 1.5 months in spite of increases in doses. So I can't speak to the use of R for bounciness.

Ole does not have a history of DKA and you have not detected the presence of ketones in his urine. We don't know if he has an underlying condition that may be responsible for the amount of insulin he is currently receiving. On the other hand it would be nice if those trips to the 5th floor penthouse would disappear sooner rather than later and if the wild swings smoothed out some.

My $0.02 is let's see what the new dose does for Ole. If it looks like he needs a dose higher than the 6u, and it doesn't pinch you financially, I recommend getting him tested for IAA and Acro. It will give you peace of mind when faced with dosing decisions and allow you to more confidently fine tune treatment of his FD.

Rebekah said:
He stealthily used the litter box all day yesterday, and all day I caught my self saying out loud ""Ole! You used the litter box without telling me!". Good thing my neighbors can't hear me.
:lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS 597 +2 403 +3 415 +4.5 273 +8.5 317

Hello!

I was able to swing home for lunch and give Ole a test. He seems to be handling his new dose without diving. I do hope to see some action tonight though. I want to watch Ole give those BG's a beat down!

Rebekah.
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS 597 +2 403 +3 415 +4.5 273 +8.5 317

I hope Ole starts working that juice and gives you some lower numbers soon.
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS 597 +2 403 +3 415 +4.5 273 +8.5 317 +11 60

Aak!

We are trying to be upbeat, but we're bumming out. I hope tonight Ole will rock his dose!

I would still like to consider R to help Ole with the steep upswings at the end of his cycles when the Lantus seems to lose effectiveness. I will be around tomorrow to monitor, and there is always the weekend. I felt that he responded well to his last 2 doses of R. Perhaps giving him .1uR at PM+10, with my testing between +11, AMPS, +1, and +2. Your thoughts?

Thanks all!
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS 597 +2 403 +3 415 +4.5 273 +8.5 317 +11 60

ouch!

Rebekah said:
I will be around tomorrow to monitor, and there is always the weekend. I felt that he responded well to his last 2 doses of R. Perhaps giving him .1uR at PM+10, with my testing between +10, +11, AMPS, +1, and +2. Your thoughts?

Sounds good Rebekah. Time for the big guns :cool:
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS 597 +2 403 +3 415 +4.5 273 +8.5 317 +11 60

Fantastic Sandy!

Tonight I will give him 6uL and monitor as needed, then tomorrow morning, I'll R him in the wee hours. I'm excited!

He is in decent spirits but he is consumed with thoughts of food, where to get some. Is that towel edible? How about that magazine...if only I could open that 'frige, that sofa looks mighty delish...mmmmm slippers mmmm. Poor Ole.

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS +11 600 PMPS 600+

Sandy,
No, no secret stash. This house is on lock down and has been for months and months.

One thing that has been different this past week is that we're remodeling a bathroom. For the past 2 days, the cats have been closed in our bedroom for much of the day. This doesn't bother Loki, but Ole doesn't like to be penned in. He has all of his creature comforts, but still might stress about getting through that closed door. Tomorrow there will be no workers here so freedom!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS +11 600 PMPS 600+

Ole - time to say goodbye to those NDW blacks please. Good luck with the R tomorrow Rebekah - paws crossed for lower numbers soon.

Did you catch Ole in the LB yet? I know what you mean about them using the LB stealthily. It's seems I catch Neko coming out of the LB room instead of going in. :roll:
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS +11 600 PMPS 600+ +3 505

Rebekah said:
This house is on lock down and has been for months and months.
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Excellent

I'm sure all the noise of the bathroom remodel and being locked up is stressing Ole. He is probably wondering 'what gives with the lock up?'

So, your plan is to test around +10 and give Ole 0.10u R correct?
Then his Lantus at 8am (your local time)?
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS +11 600 PMPS 600+ +3 505 +4 HI

I'm in a bit of a panic!!

Alex gave Ole his shot tonight and is positive that Ole got his full dose. I don't know what to do, is there anything I can do.

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS +11 600 PMPS 600+ +3 505 +4 HI

He just tested at 471.

I'm at 100 and I just ate too many conversation hearts, it's a weakness.
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS +11 600 PMPS 600+ +3 505 +4 HI

I also think this could be NDW. I can understand why you would want to use R because those numbers are very stressful.

If you decide to give it at +10, please monitor closely because if it is NDW, it could break. The other thing, tonight is six cycles since he got some blue so he could also be in a bit of a bounce.
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS +11 600 PMPS 600+ +3 505 +4 HI retest 471

That''s better. Do you have testing solution for your meter?
eta - :?: Also, do you have a back up meter?

Can one of you stay up for a +5?

Rebekah said:
I'm at 100 and I just ate too many conversation hearts, it's a weakness.
Mine is currently 'root beer barrel' candies. . . .as well as Turkey Hill Key Lime Pie ice cream - 'Limited Edition'
(speaking of which. . ..)
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS +11 600 PMPS 600+ +3 505

[quote="Sandy and Black Kitty"



So, your plan is to test around +10 and give Ole 0.10u R correct?
Then his Lantus at 8am (your local time)?[/quote]


Not exactly, My PS is at 6:00am and 6:00pm, so my plan was to give Ole R at +10, test at +11 and AMPS, 6uL at 6:15, test at +1, +2 and +3. Lantus dose would be at 2 hours into R. My logic is to help Ole as he begins to climb at the end of the PM cycle and keep him low as the AM dose of Lantus activates. Is that a crazy logic?

I do have current test solution.

Thank you so much Sandy! You are my....I can't even tell you how I feel right now.

Thank you Thank you.
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS +11 600 PMPS 600+ +3 505 +4 HI retest 471

Yes, I will stay up as long as I am needed.

I have my Alpha Trak as a back up meter.

Mmmm ice cream...key lime ice cream...

I have Vanilla in the freezer with butter pecan syrup, but I'm too much of a wreck to enjoy. Next time!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS +11 600 PMPS 600+ +3 505 +4 HI retest 471

6a/6p your time
(8a/8p eastern)
Marje and Gracie said:
I also think this could be NDW. I can understand why you would want to use R because those numbers are very stressful.

If you decide to give it at +10, please monitor closely because if it is NDW, it could break. The other thing, tonight is six cycles since he got some blue so he could also be in a bit of a bounce.
Marje makes important points . Tomorrow AM cycle will be the 3rd at this dose - you could see action.

I myself am not confident in the readings right now . . .may be prudent to see how the AM cycle plays out and wait until PM cycle to bring the R out.

strips expired or been subjected to extreme temps?
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS +11 600 PMPS 600+ +3 505 +4 HI retest 471

And I forgot...... fll_moon fll_moon fll_moon

Don't ask me why but it is a phenomenon that numbers can be quite wonky with a full moon. I've seen it with Gracie and other cats.
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS +11 600 PMPS 600+ +3 505 +4 HI/471 +5 532

Hi,

Ole just tested 532 with Relion and 514 with Alpha.

Before Ole's +5 test, I tested the Relion with current test solution and the strip fell within normal range.

I can tell he is really high because of his hunger and obsession with finding something to eat.

I an in dispair because, though I am trying so hard, I feel as though I am failing.
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS +11 600 PMPS 600+ +3 505 +4 HI/471 +5 532

No telling what the +10 will be. . . . if it looks like this ugly streak is breaking hold off on the R.

I'm confident that If, after getting the +10 you decide to shoot R, you will monitor closely.
I'm also confident in Oles appetite should you need to guide the cycle :cool:
Remember, its best that he glide down gradually - 50-100 points over the 4 hours is ideal.

Don't despair Rebekah. You will get Ole sorted out.
for now, get some I-)
see you tomorrow.
 
Re: 1/16 Ole AMPS +11 600 PMPS 600+ +3 505 +4 HI/471 +5 532

Hey Rebekah, You're doing great! I know how you feel! You are putting in all this work to get Ole's numbers down and you aren't seeing the results you want and you feel like you're failing! Then you see a great cycle and are ecstatic! Am I right? This is such a rollercoaster of emotions for us and the cats just lie around and eat!! :roll:

Don't despair! You are doing great. If you weren't, I doubt so many people would be in here trying to figure out what was going on. Look at Cobb's SS...there were several doses where he dropped into the 200s and I was so excited. He then bounced out of them and didn't return so we upped and the next dose seemed to be worthless. I mean, wouldn't more insulin bring the numbers at least the same amount down? I still can't explain it. "NDW, resistance...it's like, who care what the reason is? I'm working my tail off with inconsistent results!!" grr_red

Hang in there. I'm sure you could use some sleep. It's great that you have Alex to help you out! Remember Ole is the one really running the show, you are merely his assistant in the dance. :lol:
 
Re: 1/16 Ole +3 505 +4 HI/471 +5 532 +6 422 +10.5 496 .1uR

Hi!

Ole was hi again, so I decided to dose an R. I'll test him at +11

Rebekah
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top