1/16 Lucian AMPS 396 PMPS 459, +2/395, +4 438 increasing

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
Morning all,
At least he didn't fight this morning for his test. Last food was at midnight, only woke me twice, but didn't feed him. Breakfast at 7:45 am. Shot at 8.
Will try to get a +4 or +5 before I have to run out for appt.

Going to try to find the asian store for some bonito flakes while I'm out. So far the only treat he seems to accept at any time, is a pinch of deli ham. In just a few days, when I say 'treat' he heads for the kitchen. :-D I cooked chicken and flounder for all of them, Lucian and Shadow will eat the chicken if I warm it. Patches won't eat any of it and none will touch the flounder, so I don't know about the bonito. Trying to find something 'no carb' that they all like for a treat. May just stick with ham for Lucian, seems to be his fave. Shadow and Patches are my other fur babies. They are all missing their dry food and crunchy treats, I'm sure. Hoping the crunchy bonito flakes, will make up for it.

Gonna try to go back to bed for an hour, but I may be 'up' for the day.

Everyone have a great day and thank you for your help.

Debbie and the fur bunch
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396

I don't think I've visited you guys yet...welcome to LL!

Have you tried any of the 'freeze dried" treats? We use PureBites chicken...my whole herd loves them. We buy the large "dog" bag - far more economical than the kitty bag, and then just break the treats up into kitty sized pieces.

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396

I've only tried home cooked treats for now, will be going out later and plan a couple stops to look for some. I have a Petmania near me, they carry several. I refuse to go to Petsmart, long story.

I got lucky and caught him going into the litter box, ketone still NEG @+3.

Had to reschedule the appt I had today, son broke down at jobsite, have to go get him parts, etc to repair his work truck. Guess who's broke at the moment? Guess who's paying for towing and parts? Anything else wanna fall in my lap this week? :YMSIGH: Sorry for the vent, I don't know how much more I can handle. Amazing isn't it? 'God never puts more on you than he thinks you can handle'........he has much more faith in me than I do!

Breathe.............OMMMMMMMMMMMM...........Breathe..................OMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM ok, I'm good! @-)
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396

Hi guys .. oh no! Sorry to hear about the extra stress in your life .. definitely not what we ever want to deal with it is? But you will get through this .. Good luck with the treat shopping .. we also use the freeze dried chicken treats for mocha .. she LOVES them .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396

Thanks all!

I've checked the links for carb free treats, so expensive. That's why I'm going to run by the Oriental Market here and see about the bonito flakes. Also, Petmania has some for like 3.99 a bag, a freeze dried something, thought I would try that, too. And pick up some more cat food, they don't like one of the ones I got very much. Not much of a selection at my Walmart. I have a list of what foods and the values on each, so that's covered.

I loved the article 'My cat has diabetes...Now what?' Wish I had found that on Friday! The weekend was stressful, to say the least. I am still so wet behind the ears! Waiting for it to become 'old hat'. :smile: I know, takes time.

OK, off and running........
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396 PMPS 459

PM update......I was gone all afternoon, so no BG tests, couldn't get the one I tried for, his left ear does NOT co-operate!
Got home about 5pm, they were all fussing to eat, fed them and did Lucian's PMPS @ 7:30, so it was about 2.5 hrs after eating. Gave shot at 8pm EST (my time zone).

Found a treat he LOVES, the freeze dried liver @$5 for 1 oz! None of the cats have any interest in the Bohita (?) Chips...go figure, I can get a HUGE bag for $26 on Amazon. Got to find a bigger bag of the FD liver.......anyone know where I can get it in bulk?

Thanks!
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396 PMPS 459

I buy the dog one at Petsmart - much bigger bag and cheaper for the same thing. Pieces can be bigger but you just break em up.. and any of the bits that are too hard to break I grind up in the food processor and use to sprinkle on the canned food when they are in a picky mood.
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396 PMPS 459

Amazon has the 16.6 oz bag of Pure Bites for dogs for $25.........much less than what I paid. I may have to order that, is that a good price? The dog ones are exactly the same right, just bigger?

Lucian was following me around the apt meowing, when I tried to put up the bag! I mean he LOVES it!

Too bad the bohita chips were a bust and they don't like the dried baby shrimp I got at the Asian market either, was trying to find something, that they really like and, of course, it ended up being the MOST expensive, go figure!

I'm really worrying about his BG #'s.....I want to give him another couple days on this dose, but it's starting to worry me.
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396 PMPS 459

Can you get some more tests in? Maybe A +2 and + 6 tonite and a few random tests over the next few days ? It will help the experts know how to advise on a dose change.
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396 PMPS 459

I'll try......would be nice if the left ear would co-operate, I hate keep hitting him in the right ear. I don't know if the vet was using the right or what, but the left one seems to be bloodless! Maybe they drained the left one? :lol: I'll keep working at it.
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396 PMPS 459

My cats are like that too. One ear seems to work better than the other. So I put neosporin on it to help heal, and try and move the spot around a bit..
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396 PMPS 459

When we have a low to no bleeder day, I find that if I move up toward the edge , just a bit higher than the sweet spot, I get a sample.

Keep working at it. Data is so key to doing this successfully.
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396 PMPS 459

Here's your link to your thread (we call them "condos") from yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=87060&p=932034&hilit=lucian#p932034. We link the current condo to the one from the previous day so if you need to back track to find information, it's relatively easy.

If I remember correctly, you're planning on following the SLGS approach. If it's not too much trouble, you may want to put a note to that effect in your signature. That way, people won't be giving you information that's relevant to Tight Regulation Protocol
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396 PMPS 459, +2/395

ARGH! He moved and I hit it just inside the vein, instead of outside, between the vein and the edge, where you're supposed to. I did get a sample, thank goodness for 'kitty crack', those liver treats are amazing! Its so hard to see with the device, I need to learn to do it free hand, I think I'd have more control over it.

Anyway, he's 395 @ +2. He did better on Sunday, but that was with a different meter and I'm afraid it may not have been accurate, but it was all I had at the time. I'll give him another day or 2 and if it doesn't change, the dose is going to have to go up.

I'm going to try to do more during the night if I can wake up, I am exhausted.

Thanks everyone, I really, sincerely appreciate the help.

Debbie and the fur babies
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396 PMPS 459, +2/395

I'm trying to read up on your old posts.
So I may just be repeating...

Some use those headlamp ( flashlight you can put on your head) which helps illuminate. After a few tries, you learn approximately
where the lancing device is going to hit. Freehand can be more difficult but it is an individual thing. My cat hated a freehand poke.
It takes many days to become more at ease with the testing but as long as you keep those rewards coming, Lucian will get more cooperative.
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396 PMPS 459, +2/395

Co-operative? I think I could teach Lucian to 'moonwalk' with these treats! :lol:

I just realized this is only my 5 day, hopefully soon, I'll get better at the testing. I'm so wiped out, it feels like it's been a month!

I'm sitting here, barely keeping my eyes open, trying to wait another hour for his +4. He's still by my chair and meows at me every few minutes for more treats, at least it wakes me up. I don't dare drink coffee, I'd be up till 5 AM. I'll save that for emergencies.

Thanks everyone - Bless you and your beautiful Sugarcats!
 
Re: 1/16 Lucian AMPS 396 PMPS 459, +2/395

G'morning Debbie -

Couldn't sleep, so popped in. Glad you made it over here - like I told you - LOTSA eyes and great knowledge base!

Grayson LOVES the FD chicken & shrimpies. Gotta keep them under lock & key, as he & the pups devoured an entire bag that I left on the counter. Ugh!

Try the freehanding - you'll be amazed at how much more visibility you have. Grayson doesn't bleed well - sometimes more than one poke - and we almost always use his right ear.

Not sure if there's a Petco anywhere close, but I've found them to have the biggest selection of Fancy Feast (FF). Wasn't looking at other varieties when I was there. You may also want to check out the AMAZING selection at Phydeaux in Raleigh - located between Peace College and Logan's Nursery (across from Logans next to the German restaurant). They had almost everything on the food list that I hand't found anywhere else. And price-wise, proportionately it was about the same as FF.

You WILL have to post a video when you get Lucien to moonwalk! :lol:

Lu-Ann
 
He was steady going up last night, but had an issue with the site and couldn't get on here to post his +4, just did. Now will have his AMPS in a few min with a new post. Wondering if I missed his shot last night.......will know when I test in a few min,
 
Hi, I'm somewhat of a newbie, but maybe this might help--here's what works for my cat as far as blood draws: I freehand his blood draws and usually use the right ear, sweet spot--sometimes, left ear, though usually have to prick twice. It seems the longer I draw, the easier he bleeds. I also test in the back pawpad, though I know there is a risk of infection, I always put triple antibiotic w/pain relief regardless of where I poke. The last few days, Gobbles had had A LOT of testing, so I am going to use his feet for two days. I always give him a treat afterward; in fact, I show him the treat before I test him. He is a total chicken freak. I now boil 2 fresh boneless, skinless chicken breast in about 4 cups of water. After is is "stringy" and cooked well, I drain off the juice and put that in small containers, and keep in the freezer. I divided up the chicken into about 10 piles, wrap each pile in saran wrap into a little packet, and keep in a large butter tub in the freezer. So when I need treats for a few days, I thaw out one of the packets. And I offer the chicken juice whenever he wants it--small bowlfuls mixed with a little water sometimes--it keeps him hydrated, esp. when his BG is high. He is high pretty often. Also, I ALWAYS mix water in every can of water I give him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top