1/16 Leo PMPS 390, +4 377, +6 341

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lacie

Member Since 2010
Hi again Lantus folks. With the long weekend I have time to get some curves on Leo. We've been on 2.5u every 12 hours for 4 cycles now (2 days) and we're just not getting anywhere. We've never gotten him lower than 287 (the 276 AMPS a few weeks ago was almost certainly a bad test strip).

Am I safe upping his dose to 3.0 for tonight's shot (unless his PMPS goes down, not up)? I'll be home all day tomorrow and can get a good curve with the increase. Will check at PMPS +4 tonight to make sure he handles the increase OK. If I wait for the third day under the protocol, it will be next weekend before I can be home with him and test him all day.

Can anyone think of a reason I shouldn't do the increase tonight? Am I being too impatient? I had hoped for better results after starting insulin, but yesterday was one of several days where his numbers actually go UP after the shot. :evil: His symptoms are getting worse (PU, PD, unsteadiness, neuropathy). It's upsetting.

Previous condo here: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34071

Leo eats Friskies canned classic pate 8% carb. We switched up from a 7% flavor because BF bought the wrong one, but I'd be surprised if 1% made this much difference. He won't eat the expensive Innova EVO 2% I give him.
 
Re: 1/16 Leo AMPS 431, +4 410, +6 320, +8 385 SS???

Lacie --

Here's my dilemma. Based on the numbers on Leo's SS, it looks like you should increase his dose. The problem is there are no PM spot checks. Even if you got just one test in before you go to bed, that would help us know whether Leo's numbers are still high or if he's dropping into lower numbers over night and then bouncing back up. Lower numbers at night isn't uncommon. Will your schedule permit you to get at least one test in during the PM cycle?
 
Re: 1/16 Leo AMPS 431, PMPS 390

I just increased Leo's dose to 3.0u for the evening shot and will be watching him carefully. Checking BG at +4, midnight EST, and will post. Can stay up with him if he starts to dive; have FF with gravy on hand, Karo syrup, and syringes.

I really feel the need to get more aggressive with the dose increases, because the poor guy is looking punier by the day. I'm glad I started with .25u at a time until I got the hang of testing him and had a chance to review a lot of other members' spreadsheets and get a feel for what to do and when. I'll be able to monitor him all day tomorrow too, so it seems like the timing is good.
 
Re: 1/16 Leo AMPS 431, PMPS 390

Good luck w/the dose increase. You are learning very quickly my dear.

Hoping some of Leo's symptoms start to dissipate.
 
Re: 1/16 Leo AMPS 431, PMPS 390

Thank you Tena. This has been so hard on both of us. I think the only reason he's holding still for the testing is he's too run down to fight me about it. But at least I'm getting some frequent numbers now and can open up the throttle a bit.

Hanging in there and hoping for the best. I just took a look at the new flavor of Friskies canned I opened a couple of days ago, and "rice" is the 4th ingredient on the list. The old flavor of Friskies had rice as 7th. I'd prefer no rice on that list at all; need to clean up his diet. Does anyone remember the name of the appetite stimulant some folks on this board use?
 
Re: 1/16 Leo AMPS 431, PMPS 390

Before you jump to an appetite stimulant, there are other alternatives to consider. The "appetite stimulants" are prescription drugs.

Is Leo not eating or do you want him to gain weight? If you gave him more food would he eat? How are you currently feeding him?

Consider adding any of the following to his food to entice him to eat:
  • chicken broth
  • FortiFlora - it's a probiotic you can order on-line via Amazon or PetFood Direct or other sources
  • Parmesan cheese
  • the liquid from a can of tuna
  • chicken dust - crumbling freeze dried chicken on top of Leo's food
If you want to be more aggressive about dose, you must test at night. Let us know how we can help.
 
Re: 1/16 Leo AMPS 431, PMPS 390

Do Lou loves those tuna flakes and I use them to sprinkle on his food or some freeze dried chicken when he is refusing to eat it really helps him and good luck with the new dose for Leo cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/16 Leo AMPS 431, PMPS 390

He eats constantly but never gains weight, and he's really bony. But he only wants the Friskies canned pate, which is higher in carbs than I'd prefer. When I serve up the low carb Innova EVO, he gets finicky, eats less, and loses ounces. At this weight, even the loss of an ounce makes him more feeble. Fortiflora was what I was thinking of when I asked; I thought it was a only probiotic but apparently it's an appetite stimulant too. Good.

I semi-free feed him canned food. 8 a.m. test, eat, shoot, put out more food every 2 hours or so until 6 p.m., when I take it up in preparation for his shot at 8. I put out food again every two hours through bedtime at midnight, with a big bowl for him to nibble on through the night while I sleep. He eats about 10 oz. of wet canned food a 24-hour period.
 
Re: 1/16 Leo AMPS 431, PMPS 390

For night testing, do I need to wake up and test at +6 and +8, or will a +4 number above a certain level be OK to go to bed on? What would be a safe level at +4 for me to sleep through the night?

Edit: PMPS +4 is 377, still way high, but getting up at 2 a.m. to test at +6, which is where he'll dive if he's going to dive.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top