1/16 Kit AMPS 320, +1 265, +4 79, +5 64, +6 52, +6.5 56, PMPS 73, +1 85, +2 69, +3 72, +4 112

Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday's thread

Morning all - I'm hoping today's pinks were just a reaction to yesterday's lows, although she's coming down pretty fast. Which is super fun on a vet day.
Since today is a vet appointment day, I had to attempt to give Kit an increased dose of gaba so the vet can trim her claws (I can't get her back claws and they come in so thick) and hopefully get a look at her teeth so she can agree with me that Kit needs a dental. Kit's vet doesn't do dentals anymore, so we typically go to a local veterinary hospital for those (which will mean a wellness check before the dental, so two car rides that she will hate - I understand the reasoning, but hate it for Kit).
Pilling was *not successful*. So I emptied the contents of the pill into a tiny amount of churu. She ate a microscopic amount before glaring at me because how absolute dare I (she hates the flavor). So I mixed the little bit of churu with some of her 9% she ate, and she ate most of it, although by the end was again glaring at me like, how dare you try to trick me, ma'am. So, she didn't get it all, but I hope she got enough. I meant to get a pill shooter before today, but totally blanked it off with all of the work stuff going on.
Anywho, I hope she's sufficiently calmed down for her appointment at +5. It's more expensive, but I think Wedgewood Pharmacy might be able to compound the gaba into a liquid the way the local pharmacy used to. The local one changed the base formula, so it takes more liquid to get the same amount of gaba into her, and that was *definitely unsuccessful* last time.
I hope everyone has a good Tuesday, and the kitties all surf safely!
 
Good meowning Alicia and Kit

Sending PAWsitive vibes your way today. Keep us posted about the vet visit later on. Hopefully she got enough Gaba and will be calm enough to get everything done.


upload_2024-1-16_10-10-9.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-16_10-10-9.png
    upload_2024-1-16_10-10-9.png
    206 KB · Views: 136
Ooooh, how I hate having to take Mikan to the vet - her screaaaaams like I'm driving straight to the hell hole or something. :rolleyes:
Hope with the use of gabapentin, she stays mellow and thus, you stay cool.
Good luck, hope all goes well! :bighug:
 
Well, the gabapentin kept her calmer, but man does it seem to mess with her tummy. She pooped on the floor by the litter box right as the vet asked if it was okay if they were there a little early - this was 30 minutes before the actual appointment, at 1030. It is now 1130. Right before I saw the vet pull up, Kit puked up a bunch of food. And because she's a twice puker, she then rotated and puked again. Then she went over to brown paper we keep on the floor for her, and pooped little runny poos. Then she laid in it. And as she was laying down, she was trying to poop more. So I cleaned her up enough to pick her up, and when the vet walked in a couple of minutes later, she helped me do some more cleanup. The Solensia shot went fine, and claw trimming was a breeze because she was drugged. The vet checked her teeth and said there was some tarter but they didn't seem too bad, we chatted about a couple of things, and then she left to continue with appointments. Kit went back to the linen closet (her current nap spot), then came out, pooped more on some new paper. I got that all cleaned up, she laid back down, then peed all over herself. So I wiped her down a little again, but she was pretty annoyed, and then she went back to the linen closet.
And now it's an hour later, and I desperately want to take a shower because I feel like I smell like poop, but the maintenance guys are stopping by to fix the oven. Rough morning, y'all. Poor little kitten. :(
 
My goodness, Alicia. Poor Kitcat and you! What a rough day!
Glad to hear that she licked up the 15% gravy - she probably didn't have anything to produce any glucose before that. The gravy should help her stay afloat.
Also, good news about her teeth.
Hope you both get to rest a bit and later clean up and feel good.
 
My goodness, Alicia. Poor Kitcat and you! What a rough day!
Glad to hear that she licked up the 15% gravy - she probably didn't have anything to produce any glucose before that. The gravy should help her stay afloat.
Also, good news about her teeth.
Hope you both get to rest a bit and later clean up and feel good.
She finally ate some 3% - she didn't seem to want to eat anything else. So I hope it keeps her going until her numbers start to go up. I'm also sort of dreading the reaction from starting at 300+ and getting down to low 50s.

Good. Maybe the Gaba is starting to wear off a little.
I think she's probably gonna still be pretty drugged most of the day. She has the hardest time recovering from being drugged, this was just gaba and it takes most of the day. At her last dental it took almost 2 full days before she was mostly back to normal. Poor little ol' lady kitten.
 
I never say no to getting an extra test especially if it will make YOu feel better but I'd wait until+1 :)
With as many tests as she got in the first cycle (and she only lets me poke one ear), I'm honestly okay waiting until +1, and just keeping an eye on her while making dinner. Girl is on a roll today.
 
Oh Alicia I’m so sorry but both you and Kit Kat had such a crappy day. It’s so stressful for them and stressful for us at the same time Trying to take care of them. Sending you a big old hug because I know you both need it tonight after the day you’ve had. Tomorrow will be better and this day will be in the rearview mirror. Just have to get past today.
I hope you both have a good sleep tonight and she stays safe. Sending loving thoughts, your way. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Ps. Ivy sends her love to to Kit, she knows how much the gabba sucks and makes her so sleepy too. :(
 
She is on her way up, a bit, but test whatever makes you feel comfortable. And YES! on the green preshot. :D Kind of surprising after the day you both had. :bighug:
I was *shocked* she hadn't zoomed up yet. I'm curious to see what she'll do tonight.

Oh Alicia I’m so sorry but both you and Kit Kat had such a crappy day. It’s so stressful for them and stressful for us at the same time Trying to take care of them. Sending you a big old hug because I know you both need it tonight after the day you’ve had. Tomorrow will be better and this day will be in the rearview mirror. Just have to get past today.
I hope you both have a good sleep tonight and she stays safe. Sending loving thoughts, your way. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Ps. Ivy sends her love to to Kit, she knows how much the gabba sucks and makes her so sleepy too. :(
It was a bit rough - I mostly hate to see her so miserable. You know they're not doing well when they are laying down and pooping/peeing on themselves. I just wish I could convince her that they're only trying to help.
 
Back
Top