1/16 Fistuk AMPS 86, +4 112, +7 97 PMPS 104

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-5-106-7-108-pmps-94-3-85-4-106-7-106.285642/

Good morning :)

Raised the dose to 1U today. So strange to think we were in a drop dose. But I feel this process is right!

Started L-Lysine for the cat flu symptoms. Got a pure form and gave 250mg with food. Hopefully it won't cause any digestion disturbance.

We keep motivating Fistuk to move and play. Each time he gets up from sleep he's so stiff but after play he moves better. Looks like he wants to run and go doolally but he can't. Wrote today to the vet to ask for an appointment.

So fro today we have the new shot time that will work with my work time. I think I'll need to stop taking a +7 at night at least on days that I'm working. I read her many times that members can do TR and have a full time job. So I'm curious to see how that's going to work.

A potential Catsitter comes here this evening. I suggested to teach her how to measure BG bc she knows nothing about diabetes. I'll have to teach her a lot.

I think I'll get the syringe ready if she'll need to shoot. I'll start with teaching her taking BG readings and handling lows. Luckily Fistuk saves his lime patties to the small hours. Normally.

I think I won't spend money on a feeder at them moment bc from previous experience where I left a plate of food right next to him he didn't touch it. When U'm not home he's just sleeping!

Anywho, if anyone has any suggestions on how to manage FD while working part time I'd be happy to lear (and be reassured it'll be fine :nailbiting:)

The sun is shining here today and the snow has melted.

Wishing you a lovely day :bighug:
 
Good morning Shelly!
Good luck with the increase - I think you are right to give his pancreas a little more support to heal. Good call.
Also, good luck with the cat sitter. Hope that works well with Fistuk.
I know it's always hard to balance work, home and FD. I work at 75% FTE and I'm lucky that my work is very close by. There are times I have to be away but many a times, I work from home or come home to test and feed and go right back to work. Many of us find a way - it can be done! And at this point, your sweet Fistuk is so steady that he will do fine with you working. :bighug:
But I can totally understand your anxious feelings. Anticipatory anxiety is the worst though. Once you get going, it gets easier!
Have a lovely day, Shelly :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Shelly!
Good luck with the increase - I think you are right to give his pancreas a little more support to heal. Good call.
Also, good luck with the cat sitter. Hope that works well with Fistuk.
I know it's always hard to balance work, home and FD. I work at 75% FTE and I'm lucky that my work is very close by. There are times I have to be away but many a times, I work from home or come home to test and feed and go right back to work. Many of us find a way - it can be done! And at this point, your sweet Fistuk is so steady that he will do fine with you working. :bighug:
But I can totally understand your anxious feelings. Anticipatory anxiety is the worst though. Once you get going, it gets easier!
Have a lovely day, Shelly :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit :)
Thanks for the words of encouragement and understanding.
Yes, it does feel unsettling. leaving my baby for someone else's care. phew, it's tough for me.
I won't have the option to come back home both bc of the nature of work but also distance wise.
I need to feel confident with the person coming to take care of him. if I see that she's really caring, that it's not just a job for her, then I'll be more relaxed.
I hope I can manage the work shifts in such a way that I'm working when Robert has his day off. Fingers crossed that will work out that way.
Thanks for your kindness.
Wishing you a lovely day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, I agree with Kit! Fistuk is a very stable kitty. No deep dives, at least that’s not his norm, so let that bring you comfort.

And if you have someone that you feel comfortable as your back up that is such a sense of peace of mind you will have.
Does Fustuk stay generally in one area or two areas? I installed two cameras in two areas Ivy spends her day if I’m not here. That way I can check her to see what she’s doing (sleeping) and that brings me peace of mind when I’m out.
I know it’s just a visual (it does have sound so you can hear them, too) but that’s helpful and these cameras are very inexpensive. I bought the Petcube on Amazon and it was very cheap.

Good luck with that dose increase. I hope he feels good on it. And it sounds like what you are doing by massaging and getting him helps him to move around a bit easier.
You’re very in tune with everything.
Great job with both your handsome boys :)
Have a peaceful day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Shelly, good luck with the increase, I hope the meeting tonight with the potential cat sitter goes well and that she's very compassionate when it comes to furbabies and will feel comfortable learning out to test and give insulin if necessary.
I know it will make you feel so much better.
Nice start this morning , surf safely Fistuk .
I hope the plumber there today doesn't bother Fistuk.
You made me laugh when you said he doesn't give F when a worker is there :p
I'm sure everything will work out if the trial works out and you get the job .:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Hello Shelly and Fistuk

A very nice AMPS for Fistuk this meowning. Good luck with the increase. Hopefully that dose helps him stabilize and he'll start earning his reductions yet again.

Also best of luck with the potential sitter. I know how hard it is leaving our babies in other's care. Especially when they're sick.
That being said having a job and taking care of our sugar babies although it can be challenging it is possible. As you know I have 2 jobs, 1FT and 1PT and with some help from my BF we managed with Nestle so much so that he went into remission the first time around.
My FT job had a challenging schedule (I'm a flight attendant) and many times I was away from home overnight. Which didn't help my anxiety and stress. This time around it's a bit easier. There's been a lot of movement at my company and my seniority improved so much I have better control over my schedule however some days still require me to be away from home for 12+hrs.
Please done be discouraged. With the help from your hubby and the pet sitter, YOU CAN DO IT!
We believe in you and are here cheering you on. Always :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:

upload_2024-1-16_10-57-10.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-16_10-57-10.png
    upload_2024-1-16_10-57-10.png
    206 KB · Views: 168
Last edited:
Hi Shelly, I agree with Kit! Fistuk is a very stable kitty. No deep dives, at least that’s not his norm, so let that bring you comfort.

And if you have someone that you feel comfortable as your back up that is such a sense of peace of mind you will have.
Does Fustuk stay generally in one area or two areas? I installed two cameras in two areas Ivy spends her day if I’m not here. That way I can check her to see what she’s doing (sleeping) and that brings me peace of mind when I’m out.
I know it’s just a visual (it does have sound so you can hear them, too) but that’s helpful and these cameras are very inexpensive. I bought the Petcube on Amazon and it was very cheap.

Good luck with that dose increase. I hope he feels good on it. And it sounds like what you are doing by massaging and getting him helps him to move around a bit easier.
You’re very in tune with everything.
Great job with both your handsome boys :)
Have a peaceful day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci :)
You're right. Fistuk is very stable, for the past four months. Before that I had quite a few crises that left me anxious. But BG wise he's def stable and don't have deep dives.
I'll look into the camera possibility. great idea! I'll probably see him asleep. But maybe just to see him will help.

The lady's coming here in about ten minutes so I can give an update after she's gone. In in our first fatal I had a lady who lived nearby and she was great with the cats. Back then we didn't have any special conditions like now but with her I could feel totally at ease. I trust that I'll find someone like that here even if it'll take some time.

Thanks for your kind words and encouragement :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Shelly, good luck with the increase, I hope the meeting tonight with the potential cat sitter goes well and that she's very compassionate when it comes to furbabies and will feel comfortable learning out to test and give insulin if necessary.
I know it will make you feel so much better.
Nice start this morning , surf safely Fistuk .
I hope the plumber there today doesn't bother Fistuk.
You made me laugh when you said he doesn't give F when a worker is there :p
I'm sure everything will work out if the trial works out and you get the job .:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Thanks, Diane xx
Fistuk just moved to his Bimi-that's how we call the poof he got from BMW when we got a new car. He sat dear, open he's eyes and didn't move an inch :joyful:
I have a good feeling about this job. It's like my whole body feels as if it's already done.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I love that you are encouraging him to move. I know with humans that is very important to reduce stiffness.

L Lysine powder didn't work great for my female, but the L Lysine treats did. Keep that in mind if he is hating the powder. She is extremely picky, so it may just be her.

My cats usually won't eat when I'm not home either. I have hesitated to buy an auto feeder too because of this. He has only eaten the frozen pate I left out one time.
 
Hello Staci and Fistuk

A very nice AMPS for Fistuk this meowning. Good luck with the increase. Hopefully that dose helps him stabilize and he'll start earning his reductions yet again.

Also best of luck with the potential sitter. I know how hard it is leaving our babies in other's care. Especially when they're sick.
That being said having a job and taking care of our sugar babies although it can be challenging it is possible. As you know I have 2 jobs, 1FT and 1PT and with some help from my BF we managed with Nestle so much so that he went into remission the first time around.
My FT job had a challenging schedule (I'm a flight attendant) and many times I was away from home overnight. Which didn't help my anxiety and stress. This time around it's a bit easier. There's been a lot of movement at my company and my seniority improved so much I have better control over my schedule however some days still require me to be away from home for 12+hrs.
Please done be discouraged. With the help from your hubby and the pet sitter, YOU CAN DO IT!
We believe in you and are here cheering you on. Always :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:

View attachment 68808
Hi Karolina :)
I think I'm seeing some NDW but I feel confident that with the right dose he'll start earning reductions again.

Thanks for sharing your experience. It is reassuring.
I know you have two jobs. In itself it's hard to manage. So I'm happy to hear that you feel it's possible to add FD to the mix :joyful:
I guess I'll need to start and I'll find a rhythm :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I love that you are encouraging him to move. I know with humans that is very important to reduce stiffness.

L Lysine powder didn't work great for my female, but the L Lysine treats did. Keep that in mind if he is hating the powder. She is extremely picky, so it may just be her.

My cats usually won't eat when I'm not home either. I have hesitated to buy an auto feeder too because of this. He has only eaten the frozen pate I left out one time.
Hi sybil :)
Thanks for sharing this about L-lysine. I did read that it can give stomach upset so I was ready for it. I started with 250mg today. I do think it upset him a little bit. But I'll try again in a smaller dose tomorrow.
It's good to know about the treats!
He really doesn't move unless I encourage him and I'm grateful that his taking my invitation to move in a positive way :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Cat sitter update: She just left. I'm really happy with her. She's kind and patient. She used to work with disable people. So she's one with a caring heart.
She tried testing BG. Fistuk is such a hero. he just set there like a Buddha for her. She got it quite quickly. And she said she's not worried about it at all. Nor about giving insulin.
We'll meet again. I'll show her hot to shoot insulin next time.
She's quite busy so she might not have time in the middle of the day. But if I'll need morning or evening that include soft time at least I'll be covered for that. Which is already a great step forward.
Thank you all, you kind souls, for being here with us and giving me so much love and encouragement :bighug:
:bighug::bighug:
 
Cat sitter update: She just left. I'm really happy with her. She's kind and patient. She used to work with disable people. So she's one with a caring heart.
She tried testing BG. Fistuk is such a hero. he just set there like a Buddha for her. She got it quite quickly. And she said she's not worried about it at all. Nor about giving insulin.
We'll meet again. I'll show her hot to shoot insulin next time.
She's quite busy so she might not have time in the middle of the day. But if I'll need morning or evening that include soft time at least I'll be covered for that. Which is already a great step forward.
Thank you all, you kind souls, for being here with us and giving me so much love and encouragement :bighug:
:bighug::bighug:
Wonderful report. She sounds lovely, kind and gentle. Just like you and what Fistuk will require! Keep us posted, Shelly.
You must feel such relief after a first meeting. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top