? 1/16 Chispa, time for a BCS? 232 AMPS, 55 +5.5, PMPS 482/520, 403 +2.5, 333 + 4.5

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
Hi everyone,

Chispa hasn't been eating much for the past couple of days, not sure why, but I've been giving ondansetron and just this afternoon resorted to feeding her favorite 13% food, which she did eventually eat.

Her preshots lately have been very high, I think the result of steep drops from not eating enough and then bouncing. My question is, should I give a reduced dose now in case she doesn't eat through the night? And then maybe she can drift down slowly? She had a Solensia shot this afternoon and has been sleeping since.

Thanks for any advice :cat:

@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
 
Hi everyone,

Chispa hasn't been eating much for the past couple of days, not sure why, but I've been giving ondansetron and just this afternoon resorted to feeding her favorite 13% food, which she did eventually eat.

Her preshots lately have been very high, I think the result of steep drops from not eating enough and then bouncing. My question is, should I give a reduced dose now in case she doesn't eat through the night? And then maybe she can drift down slowly? She had a Solensia shot this afternoon and has been sleeping since.

Thanks for any advice :cat:

@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
I just saw this Karen. Wishing you and Chispa good luck tonight. I hope she feels better and eats well.
Come on Chispa, your mom needs you to eat, please :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry I wasn't on in time for your PMPS. She's high enough I suspect she'll be safe tonight, you could have shot full dose.

The worst of the chlorambucil nausea can often be seen in days 4-7 after the dose. For her weight, she could get up to 4 mg ondansetron at once, 3-4 times a day.
 
Sorry I wasn't on in time for your PMPS. She's high enough I suspect she'll be safe tonight, you could have shot full dose.

The worst of the chlorambucil nausea can often be seen in days 4-7 after the dose. For her weight, she could get up to 4 mg ondansetron at once, 3-4 times a day.
Thanks, @Wendy&Neko -- I didn't know that. She'll take a few licks if I hold the dish right under her nose, but she really is not eating much and this has been going on for a couple of days -- and I have been giving her ondansetron (but only 2mg at a time). In general her appetite varies according to the weather, the type of food, and who knows what else, but this is unusual.

She has an appointment with the internist on Wednesday, but I am wondering if I should try to have her seen by the regular vet sooner. When does not eating become dangerous?
 
Also, she has that tension in her whiskers -- not drawn back, but sticking almost straight out instead of drooping. I can just tell she's not feeling well.
I gave her 2 mg of ondansetron two hours ago. Would it be ok to give her another 2 mg now?
 
Also wondering if she should be tested for pancreatitis. Common enough companion to GI conditions.
 
Thanks, Wendy. Right after I responded to your first note, I tested her (403) and then carried her to her food dish -- where she voluntarily ate about half of her dinner. Before that, I would have said she had eaten maybe 1/4 of her normal calories over the last two days. I just gave her another ondansetron and hope it will help.

(Update: she has gone back to her dish and is eating!!!):joyful::cat:

About pancreatitis: Her numbers for that have been consistently very high for the last 4 years or so, but she's never had a "flare" or shown any obvious symptoms.

I can't believe how much she is drinking today, but I assume it's because of the high BG. She drinks less when her overall numbers come down.
 
Oh, that makes me happy, I was worrying about Chispa. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks so much, Cecile.:bighug::bighug::bighug: By this morning she had finished the midnight snack that she was working on when I updated last night, but she ate only a little of her 4 am (or whatever it was) snack. This morning she took three licks of her breakfast and then gave up, but drank a lot of water. I managed to get an ondansetron into her -- wrapped in a soft treat, which she refused, and then coated in BUTTER, which she couldn't resist (thank you, Bella) -- about 20 minutes ago.
I just made an appointment with her regular vet for this afternoon so they can run some tests and make sure there's nothing else going on besides the lingering effects of chlorambucil from 6 days ago.
Thanks so much for your support -- it means a lot that you are here and checking up on us. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top