1/16 Blackie pmps 313 +3.5 402 Dose Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning, LL
Question: Can someone please check our SS and let me know if you think we should stay at 3 units while we're gone? If I was home, I would increase, but DSIL will only be testing at shot times and maybe +6 during the day. (eta) Also, what should we use as a no shot number? I was thinking 200.

Blackie seemed to have a good night. He ate a lot at +7 last night when I got up to test him. And he has eaten well this morning. The fluids really seem to perk him up. He is peeing and pooping normally with no pee accidents since yesterday. We rearranged LB's so there is one in the bathroom. This way he can be locked into our bedroom/bathroom to eat without the other kitties getting his food.

DSIL is coming to stay today and will get fully trained today and tomorrow for our trip on Tuesday. I'm sure she'll do fine, but I'm going to worry anyway. We will be gone almost 11 days. If I had known Blackie was going to be sick, I would never have scheduled a vacation now or for so long.

Thank you all for your continued vines and prayers. I think Blackie's pancreatitis was severe (33.8 on the fPLI), but I do think he's slowly getting better.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34478
 
Re: 1/16 Blackie amps 334 - Dose Question

no advice here. I am so happy to hear Blackie is healing and doing better everyday.
 
Re: 1/16 Blackie amps 334 - Dose Question

hi Ele,

glad to read Blackie had a good nite.,
not sure about your Q, but giving u a bump.
 
Re: 1/16 Blackie amps 334 - Dose Question

Hi Ele, I'm sorry I can't be of much help with your dosing questions: Blackie's numbers must reflect so much more than his insulin requirements! But if your DSIL is going to be testing less frequently, I would certainly not raise the dose now. Keep it at 3 units. A no-shot cut-off? That's a tough one! Why not make it a "reduced-shot" scenerio: under 200 or whatever number you arrive at gets half of the normal dose (1.5 units). That way you might avoid those drastic spikes and drops. I trust that you will get some more knowledgeable advice soon!
Will your DSIL be giving fluids and the medications?
I know that you will be worrying and that it is useless to say "don't worry", anyone would worry! So I will say: have faith in your DSIL and in Blackie himself. Explain to him exactly what is going to be his routine for the next 11 days and tell him that you will be home again soon. He's a wonderful kitty and he will understand.
Then, concentrate on having a good vacation. You and DH can use one!

Many hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/16 Blackie amps 334 - Dose Question

still sending healing vines your way, guys!

and i know it concerns you...but a vacation is so well-deserved!
 
Re: 1/16 Blackie amps 334 - Dose Question

Morning - I can't help with the question either, but at least this will bump you up.

I can relate to your worries and your vacation. Blackie will be fine - you've got someone to care for him and watch over things. It is good to read that he is getting better. :-D
 
Re: 1/16 Blackie amps 334 - Dose Question

Hi Ele...no help with the dosing but I'm so glad Blackie is getting better. If I miss you tomorrow, then please have a wonderful vacation...try not to worry cause Blackie is in good hands and DSIL can always call you right? Healing vines for him!!
 
Re: 1/16 Blackie amps 334 +6 117 - Dose Question

With that +6, now I'm not sure if we should give 3 units. This mornings 3 unit shot was cycle 5.
 
Re: 1/16 Blackie amps 334 +6 117 - Dose Question

I can't help with dosing. Just a couple of thoughts for the pancreatitis. Is your DSIL giving fluids also? And Blackie may be a bit unsettled with your being gone, maybe have something tempting to get his appetite up in the event it drops while you are away? Even tuna etc. I'd be worried too even if Maverick was 100% healthy. Worrying is what I do best. Blackie is in really good hands. Sending hugs.
 
Re: 1/16 Blackie amps 334 +6 117 +7 115 Dose Question

Ele -

I think the dose is OK. I think the bigger question is if Blackie starts feeling better and his numbers start coming down, will your DSIL know what to do? Will she be in contact with you or is there a way you can connect her to the Board? Do you have a "no shot" number for your DSIL?
 
Re: 1/16 Blackie amps 334 +6 117 +7 115 Dose Question

I would like some advice about what the "no shot" would be, please. After those low blues today, I was thinking about having DSIL shoot 2.5 instead of 3 units. Blackie ate well today, but he doesn't always.

Yes, I will be talking to DSIL daily and she will be updating the spreadsheet. Carolyn also offered to give her cell phone number in case DSIL couldn't reach me. I think that might be a good idea too.

FYI - DSIL is a nurse and had no problem with testing, shooting, etc. She'll do the fluids tonight for the first time and I don't think she'll have a problem. She'll also be giving him all of his meds, etc.
 
Re: 1/16 Blackie amps 334 +6 117 +7 115 Dose Question

Ele & Blackie said:
I would like some advice about what the "no shot" would be, please. After those low blues today, I was thinking about having DSIL shoot 2.5 instead of 3 units. Blackie ate well today, but he doesn't always.

Yes, I will be talking to DSIL daily and she will be updating the spreadsheet. Carolyn also offered to give her cell phone number in case DSIL couldn't reach me. I think that might be a good idea too.

FYI - DSIL is a nurse and had no problem with testing, shooting, etc. She'll do the fluids tonight for the first time and I don't think she'll have a problem. She'll also be giving him all of his meds, etc.

This is a bump about your question regarding no shot number.

Question for you, Ele...is DSIL staying at your place or coming in/out? Is she set to come at specific times if coming in/out?

As Ele mentioned, I am available 24/7 for calls and to relay any messages about blackie to the board for advice. I think everything will be just fine. Ele, you are so amazingly organized. I sincerely hope you will be able to 'relax' a little and enjoy this much deserved vacation! :YMHUG:
 
To answer Carolyn's question, DSIL will be staying at our house the whole time we are gone. She does have some appts on 2 different days that will have her gone most of the day, but DMIL will come over to feed then. DMIL is also taking the droolers. DSIL/DPS name is Dee and she really did fine today, tested, gave the shot, and gave fluids for the first time. She did have trouble pilling Blackie, but I think she'll do better tomorrow. Thank you Carolyn for being willing to help out if needed. :YMHUG: I just can't tell you how much it makes me feel better.

So, I'm thinking of staying at 3 units and having a shot of 2 units if the preshot is below 200 and no shot if the preshot is below 150. Does that sound reasonable?

Thank you all! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top