1/16 AMPS 263 and back to "normal"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa and Poopy

Member Since 2011
What a weird evening last night! It's good to see Poopy can get such low BGs on his own, but sure makes deciding doses tricky. Normally with a 263 BG I'd shoot the normal 1.4u but after yesterday, I'm not so sure. I will be home today to watch him and test, if need be.

A part of me says, "Go slow!" and give a bit of insulin help (maybe 1u). Another part says, "It's the same he's been scoring other than last night. Stay the same course." Which part to listen to?

Suggestions? I have an hour before I shoot. :smile:
 
Hmm..No shot at PMPS brought him up to where he normally is for AMPS. I though he would come in higher (as Jax certainly would) so ECID for sure.

What is your gut telling you? If you shot lower you risk having a flat day, which in itself isn't so bad as Poopy has been trending low. If you go with 1.4U as normal you may be able to get him into a nice surf of blue.

What are you feeling about it?
 
Part of me is worried about possible hypo if I over shoot, so when I think of doing the usual 1.4u I get squeamish.

Even thinking about doing 1u has me on edge. But I don't really want to under shoot either.

If I ignore the odd PMPS, I'd shoot the 1.4u...but clearly something is happening. (Knocks on wood!)

Deciding how much will help and not hurt is very difficult. I just don't know enough. :dizcat
 
I'm going to possibly err on the low side and shoot 1u. Should be enough to help and not overwhelm (depending on if Mr. P is going to play today or not).

I'll keep an eye on him and test around nadir (+4 and +6).
 
Understandable. I can sense your concern but I see that you have shot 1.4U on much lower BG levels.

If you are nervous definitely go with the lower shot.

One of the good things about our SS's is that we are collecting data so we can make a more informed decision the next time. If you decide to go lower and the Poopster remains flat it will eliminate that worry the next time the situation comes about.

I agree that something is happening, which is great. What is difficult to determine is if that something (knock on wood) is happening because his body is being given a chance to heal on the shot where you have him. But, always best to err on the side of caution.
 
My main concern is that with no PMPS shot and he comes in at 263 in AMPS...looks like Mr. P is trying to help and I don't want to overdo the help. Make sense?
 
Absolutely. If Mr. P is hanging around and helping out you definitely don't want to overshoot it.
Looking forward to following your day. Yesterday was interesting, wonder what Poopy will have in store today? :smile:
 
You can compromise and shoot 1.2u. although I think 1u would be ok too. I agree that something is changing.

But as long as you are home to intervene if he goes a little low I think I would be tempted to see what the 1.2u does.

Do you have medium carb food and Karo on hand? Just in case his P is helping out you can steer his numbers with the food.
 
I shot the 1u.

I have 18 carb food, the gravy kind, on hand...3 cans of it, karo and maple syrup.

Between the two cats, 2/3rds of the 13 oz. can of food has been eaten. I'm leaving it out so Poopy can snack (as he usually does).

This may sound strange, but I can live with under shooting a lot better than over. Heck, I worry enough as it is without going into panic mode (and I know that's exactly what I'd do in a hypo situation...as honey says, I'm a goof). LOL

I really appreciate the feedback and suggestions. As I've said on other threads, it helps me focus. :-D
 
Great decision!
I would have done the same or even a .75 just cuz of the 2 close calls on Beans hypos. Made me worry about every shot I gave her no matter what her numbers were. If it had not been for this site and of course me bugging the peeee out of Lori on the phone, I would have gone mad (madder than I already am ~ lol).
 
I just had to share this! I haven't seen Poopy do this in years!

He's in the kitchen...chasing his tail! And he's really going at it! It is too funny!
 
Teresa and Poopy said:
I just had to share this! I haven't seen Poopy do this in years!

He's in the kitchen...chasing his tail! And he's really going at it! It is too funny!

Got a video camera handy? :lol:
 
Unfortunately, Poopy is camera shy...why I have so few pictures of him. Once he sees someone watching him, much less holding something to record or snap a shot...poof! He's a blur.

The one I have as my avatar...he was casing out the birdhouse above him (why he's still sort of scrunched down) and we snuck up on him. When he saw the camera, he started upward to bolt but we got the pic before he darted. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top