1/15 Zeke AMPS/223 (WHAT?!); 1.25/188; 2.25/131; 4.25/75

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL ~O) ~O)

Just want to say how much I admire Mama and Papa beans out there doing the dance all by themselves without the help of a spouse/boyfriend/family member. I get so fatigued at times from the lack of sleep, even with a DH who gives me a break occasionally. I can’t even imagine how difficult this dance would be with no relief. I am truly in awe of those of you who are handling this all by yourselves – RESPECT.

Well, now that I’m trying to get back on a non-holiday season work schedule, my DH and I are splitting the T/F/S responsibilities. I get the AM. He the PM. Well, as I posted yesterday, the PM cycle two days ago was a bit out of the ordinary. That night Zeke stayed pretty much flat through +4 and then was on the rise thereafter. Well, a similar PM cycle occurred again yesterday. Zeke’s BG did dip a little into the green but by +4.5 he was on his way back up. Then by AMPS today, he had spiked to 223 (the highest BG in over a week, and highest PSBG in nearly two). So, I’m wondering, “What the heck is going on?”. “Is this a failed reduction?” Compared notes with my DH and it may be that he’s shorting Zeke just a tad on the shot at night. I showed him on an empty syringe what I measure so hopefully the two of us will be more consistent. Sure hope so. These rising BGs are making me nervous. I’ve tried the calipers but really can't quite get comfortable with using them for dose consistency. We’ll just keep our fingers crossed that we’re now both on the same page.

I would however want to get your opinion as to whether or not the current reduction looks like it might not be taking. I am having (or is it choosing?) to micro manage his meals in order to get his BGs down a bit and keep him surfing. Before I was mostly feeding him 7%, now I'm mixing it up based on his BGs. So, I’m just tossing this out for now so that you can keep an eye out for a rising trend and let me know if you think I may need to tweak the dose a bit. Perhaps I might also consider discontinuing the 7%. Thoughts?

BTW – I didn’t like the 223 AMPS so I have changed the carb content of his meals this morning in hopes of getting him to green for a surf. He’s already dropped 92 mg/dL at +2 (he’s at 131). Just wondering, am I better off not having him drop this much (to avoid a possible bounce later) and just have him surf blue or guiding him with food to green? I know I’ve asked this before but I can’t help myself – I gotta ask again. It’s just that I’m obsessed with green when it’s so within reach and he’s this close to it. Thoughts?

Well, hope everyone has a great Wednesday.

Zeke's Yesterday
 
Re: 1/15 Zeke AMPS/223 (WHAT?!); +1.25/188; +2.25/131- Quest

I think Zeke's numbers look great. I'd encourage you to look more at the nadirs than the pre-shot numbers. You don't really have much room to increase the dose unless Zeke stays in the upper end of the green range.

If the calipers didn't work, I'd try drawing a syringe with what you dose but use a colored liquid like juice. That may help with consistency.

I'm also not sure that changing the carbs at AMPS is going to help with the pre-shot number. The AMPS is often the last number to come down for many cats.
 
Re: 1/15 Zeke AMPS/223 (WHAT?!); +1.25/188; +2.25/131- Quest

Hi guys .. I don't have much in the way of advice .. Just want to say I also think zeke's numbers are looking nice! I know usually green is the goal, but we can't overlook the nice blues either :-D Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/15 Zeke AMPS/223 (WHAT?!); +1.25/188; +2.25/131- Quest

Thanks Sienne and Devon(?). I know. I totally agree. Just trying to be proactive. Zeke is doing great. He sleeps a lot but when he's awake he's running around and carrying himself in a way that says "I feel AWESOME!". We are so grateful for that for him. We desire that for all the fur babies here at the FDMB and everywhere.
 
Re: 1/15 Zeke AMPS/223 (WHAT?!); +1.25/188; +2.25/131- Quest

If the calipers didn't work, I'd try drawing a syringe with what you dose but use a colored liquid like juice. That may help with consistency.

I agree with Sienne. What I did.... I used some blue food coloring and drew up the current dose into a syringe. My 'reference syringe'. I marked the syringe with a bright colored sticker and wrote the dose on that sticker (this way if dose changed I would make sure I was referencing the correct amount). That way each time you or your DH draw up a dose, compare to that syringe and try to get it as close as possible to measuring the same amount. Consistency!

Zeke is having some GREAT numbers!!!! His nadirs are looking wonderful!!!

Every cat is different... Some see a slight change with different carb percents (like 3% carbs compared to say... 7% carbs) and some dont see much change. Cant hurt to try though!

Hope you have a great day!!!
 
Zeke brought that down nicely to green today :mrgreen: I'm glad you have someone to share the duties with you, that's nice :-D It's just me but it's not so bad...although it'd be nice to have coverage sometimes:) Hopefully you guys can figure out the fuds and consistant dosing. I know we all talk about green, but blues are really good healing numbers too :razz: . It's so great that he feels awesome!!! :cool:
 
I agree with the others...Zeke is looking awesome, and it sounds like he is feeling awesome, too - which is totally awesome! Have an (you guessed it!) awesome evening, guys!!
 
Hi Laura

Very sweet thoughts at the beginning of your condo and I agree. Mike and I were just discussing this the other day....people that do this alone and work.

I'd continue to hold the dose until he earns a reduction. I'd also try to keep the feeding simple. The more consistent you can be the better.

I know the calipers are challenging to learn at first but it does really help when there are two people drawing doses. Before the calipers, we had sample syringes at many doses but there was still variability that we feel no longer exists with the calipers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top