1/15 Sheba PMPS 301 so decided to give insulin not skip

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-14-sheba-the-worst-news.171315/

@Wendy&Neko and @julie & punkin (ga) and @Marje and Gracie

I am concerned about Sheba's dose of insulin. I have been reducing it for the last few months but more often recently due to falling numbers....of course we now know why.
Even with the reduction in dose I am having to give her honey every cycle to stop her dropping too low. I am trying to keep her a bit higher now as her numbers are more unpredictable.
I gave 2.75 units last night and this morning and she is already at 4.4 (79) at +4. I have given honey twice already this cycle to keep her from dropping lower.
I am concerned about her next dose/doses. I would like to drop to 2 units?
Can I have your thoughts on this please?
I am concerned I don't create other problems doing this. Sheba is eating quite well at this point...antijinx.
The specialist did tell me I would probably have to reduce the dose but we didn't talk numbers.
Thank you.

ETA about 40% of the food I am feeding her each cycle is 16 or 13 carb food. The rest is raw or 2 or 4 carb
 
Last edited:
{{{Bron}}} So sorry you've got this worry piled up on top of things. :bighug: Sheba's numbers may still be feeling some of the effects of the 4.25U depot. The depot can last 4-6 cycles, longer with higher doses. You can do a couple of things to try to get reduce that depot, either a skip or a BCS or greatly reduced dose for a cycle. If you do that tonight, you might actually get a bit more sleep. The current dose would look good if you wanted green. I see that after the honey has worn off, she's not dropping much. Given that you are looking to run her a little higher, you could do that reduced dose tonight and start something like 2.5 U tomororw. Or you could try 2U if you want to see how it does. Much easier to increase if you need to. For any lurkers, this is a conservative approach just for Sheba's special circumstances.
 
Thank you Wendy so much. I am feeling completely lost as far as what to do with Sheba's insulin dose at the moment. I am hardly getting any sleep because I am up and down every night and on top of everything else, I feel like I can't make a good decision about the dose. I will see what she is doing tonight and I will either skip or do a BCS. I need to read what you have said a couple of times because I am so tired.
Thanks again for answering so promptly. :bighug::bighug:
I don't know what I would do if I didn't have all of you.
 
(((Bron))) I'm so sorry to hear of Sheba's diagnosis. You've got your hands full.

I'd even go so far as to suggest you consider skipping tonight. Give yourself a break and get a good night's sleep, let the depot drain a little bit, and tackle things again tomorrow. Especially if you are so tired that you're having trouble thinking and understanding - that just says how exhausted you are and how much you need sleep. If you give a token dose, you'd still have to monitor long enough to be confident that she was going to stay high enough.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks Elise, Wendy (yes I do need to be careful of my health, given the last year!..but we always put our kitties first), Amber and Julie.
@julie & punkin (ga) thank you for your advice on the dosing. I will certainly consider skipping tonight especially if her bsl is lowish at preshot. What you say about still having to monitor with a lower insulin shot is true. And I certainly need some sleep.
I have longed for numbers like this.........but never thought I would get them in these circumstances.
 
Thanks everyone for your input.
I had decided to skip the pm shot but when I saw the bsl was 301 I felt I couldn't skip so I gave a shot of 2.5units as Sheba is not eating as well tonight.
I did manage to get just under 2 hours sleep this afternoon so I feel a bit better, but sick at heart as I can see Sheba slipping.
 
(((Bron)))

I'm so sorry I didnt see this yesterday. The notification system seems to have run amok and I only saw it today because I just saw the condo, not because you tagged me. So my apologies.

I'm going to post in today's condo esp because I see Wendy and Julie have been here.

Hugs and prayers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top