1/15 Scooter AMPS 503, +2 453,+3-451,+8-312, +9-278, +11-307

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/15 Scooter AMPS 503,

Hi Linda and extra sweet Scooter!!
Don't forget to put the link to your prior day's condo in the current one so people can quickly go back and see what's already been said.

Scooter's 1/14 condo

Come on down Scooter! There's nothing good on that floor...much nicer stuff on the pink or even yellow floors!

You know if your vet is willing to learn, you could send the link to this message board for them to read when they have time. You could also give them the link to your spreadsheet so if they want to follow along, they can!

Good luck with the dosecrease! Hopefully we'll see some movement at this dose!
 
Re: 1/15 Scooter AMPS 503,

Hi guys .. oh yes, sunbeams are the best aren't they? Good luck with the increased dose .. hope it brings scooter right back down .. have a great day!
 
Re: 1/15 Scooter AMPS 503, +2 453,

Hi Linda,

I just posted in Toonce's condo about dose increases for cats that are having continually high nadirs, ie, over 300. we need to get Scooter closer to a good dose. i'm glad you increased this morning. With these numbers, you can increase by 0.5u every 4 shots - so stay 4 shots on one dose, then increase by 0.5u until you start seeing nadirs that are under 300.

When you get a chance, a profile would be so helpful. Remind me, does Scooter have a history of ketones or DKA?


julie & punkin (ga) said:
hi janet!

Here are 2 options for dose increases:

from the modified guidelines on the "Tight Regulation Protocol" yellow starred sticky:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

from the Tilly's Diabetes Homepage that our modifications are based upon:

Phase 2: Increasing the dose

Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days.

However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU.

Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose).

From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.
 
Re: 1/15 Scooter AMPS 503, +2 453,+3-451,+8-312, +9-278

Thanks Julie for the dosing info that is wonderfully helpful!

I am hopeful since I have had one yellow reading on levemir that the 1u is going to be his magic number this week. :-D

I did a short profile as well that I hope is helpful.

I don't know how to link yesterdays condo so that's why I haven't been doing it. lol
Linda
 
Re: 1/15 Scooter AMPS 503, +2 453,+3-451,+8-312, +9-278

Linda, to link the previous condo, just copy the address in the address bar for that condo, start a new one, click on the URL tab and "paste" the link

It would look like this Your link here[URL]
 
Re: 1/15 Scooter AMPS 503, +2 453,+3-451,+8-312, +9-278

YAY! Scooter's in YELLOW! love that sunny number!

thanks for the profile, too. so he's had no ketones before. sounds like you were testing daily in the past. It would be a good idea to check him daily right now til we're seeing lower numbers overall. The recipe for ketones = not enough insulin + not enough food + infection. It would be good to know that he's negative on the ketones, just for insurance. You can note it in the comments section of the spreadsheet.

good job scooter!! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/15 Scooter AMPS 503, +2 453,+3-451,+8-312, +9-278

Yay Scooter!!!!

Glad to see some yellow. :-D Good job on the profile.

I had a very long work day but tomorrow I will finish fixing your SS...the NPH data.
 
Re: 1/15 Scooter AMPS 503, +2 453,+3-451,+8-312, +9-278, +11

Thank you everyone for the encouragement!

I can't tell you how happy I am to see the 278 it truly made my day.

Marje I am so grateful for your help with dosing and the SS. I am in no hurry so when ever you have time to help I am grateful. :-D

I am so happy you all have so much information! I feel like this is the first time since November that he has a chance at stable numbers. So more yellow tomorrow will be great although I will take pink over red anyday!

Julie your smilie looks just like Scooter. lol

Go Scooter!

Linda
 
Re: 1/15 Scooter AMPS 503, +2 453,+3-451,+8-312, +9-278, +11

and like my new kitten, well, 8 months old now, McGee. little tuxedo boy. he's a doll. we adopted him and Frodo, a med hair orange kitter, in August. they make us laugh.

that smilie is on the right of the posting a reply box, under "view more smilies." :-D

we're all cheering to see that bit of sunshine for Scooter!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top