1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, PMPS 281

Status
Not open for further replies.

lexiruby

Member Since 2010
I am kind of freaking out!
Ruby is at 62 @ +2.5! I know that is good, but I am worried about her going to Low!
Should I test her every 30 min? Every hour? What is the best thing to do?
She is sleeping next to me now, I will not let her out of my sight!
Thanks,
Jen and Ruby
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5 (worried)

I would feed her a little LC and test again in 30 minutes. She'll be okay. We're here for you, and you're there for her.
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5 (worried)

I will!
I will post again in 10 min. when I test her.
Thank you
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5 (worried)

If you're real worried, you could even give her a little bit of MC (10% to 15% carbs). Let's try to get her on a nice surfboard.
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5 (worried)

OK, 1/2 hour later, she is at 53! Gave her 7%, and 2 normal kitty treats. She ate fine. Still worried.
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5 (worried)

Do you have some HC? I would give her just a little (like about a teaspoon) of HC, and test again in 15 minutes.

It's best if you Edit your first post to change the Subject line to add your most recent numbers, so that others watching can keep track of how she's doing at a glance.

You'll be okay. Do you have HC, some syrup, and plenty of strips, and will you be around all day? Just in case.
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5, 52 @ +3

I do have HC, plenty of test strips, syrup. I have it all!
I will be home all day to watch her.
Going to test in a few.
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5, 52 @ +3

Good job.
Now, let's try to get her back up into the 60s or 70s. Did you give her the HC? Like, do you have anything that's around 18% to give her, if we need it? If not, you can add some syrup to the food. We only want to feed her in little bits at a time, so she doesn't become too full and not want to eat later, if we need to get her to eat later KWIM?

ETA: Sorry, we posted at the same time.
You're doing good, and I'll be here with you.
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5, 52 @ +3

Wow, Ruby! First green surf!

You're doing great, Jen! And you're in good hands. :) Hang in there... we've been at this for a month, and the greens still make me nervous too!
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5, 52 @ +3

Ruby is doing better. 57 @ +3.25.
I think I will wait another hour and test again.
Unless otherwise suggested.
Thanks for being here for us.
Jen and Ruby
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5, 52 @ +3, 57 @ +3.25,

If this were Do Lou I would test every 30 min rather then wait a hour just to make sure she is on the rise and does not turn back around on you
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5, 52 @ +3, 57 @ +3.25,

Did you feed a little HC? I would probably test in another 30 minutes. Remember that your monitor has a 20% margin of error (in both directions), so that 57, while likely an upswing, is in the margin of error, so Ruby's number may not have actually changed that much.
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5, 52 @ +3, 57 @ +3.25,

I would test again in about 20 minutes. Once, she is up in the 70s or 80s and is clearly surfing, then you can test in one hour increments. I know her ears are sore, but right now, I would like to make sure the little bit of food will keep her up and rising a bit. The rise from the food can wear off, and she is just in the beginning of the cycle. Please test again in 20 minutes or so, a half hour at most.
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5, 52 @ +3, 57 @ +3.25,

I will do just that! I guess it is better to test her as often as I can.
I would rather know what is going on than not.
I still can't believe we were giving her insulin without home testing for 4 months!
It is really crazy to me that the vet didn't tell us about the home testing.
We really have no reason for a vet anymore, just for her insulin, or emergencies.
I will post again in 15 min!
Thanks.
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5, 52 @ +3, 57 @ +3.25,

If for no other reason than this is your first green surf, I'd test in 20 - 30 min. Numbers can bobble around and you don't have the data yet to know how Ruby responds to food when in lower numbers.

Just so you have it handy if there's no one around on the Board, here's a link to what to do when you have to handle low numbers.
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181, 62 @ +2.5, 52 @ +3, 57 @ +3.25, 62@

My little baby is at 62 @ +3.75.
still climbing!
Will test again in another 30 min.
Jen and Ruby
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181,62@+2.5,52@+3,57@+3.25,62@3.75,

Talk about Strss :sad:
Stress on me, more than Ruby :smile:
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181,62@+2.5,52@+3,57@+3.25,62@3.75,

Ruby 52 @ +4.5, will test again in 30 min.
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181,62@+3.75,52@+4.5,67@+5,

Ruby is now 67 @ +5, Test again in 30! and fed a little more treats!
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181,62@+3.75,52@+4.5,67@+5,

look at you go!!!

nice job...and staying calm and collected at the same time.
great work!
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181,62@+3.75,52@+4.5,67@+5,

Alright, Surfer Girl
00002042.gif
Ride that wave!
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181,62@+3.75,52@+4.5,67@+5,58@+5.5

Good girl.
You're becoming a pro already.

If you want you can delete some of the first tests from the Subject line in your first post, so that the most up to date (latest) numbers can be seen easily.
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181,58@+5.5

Thanks for the info on my subject! I wasn't aware you could change it.
At +6 Ruby is at 83!
169 @+9.5
I'm wondering if I should reduce her 2 units of insulin tonight to 1.5?
I am afraid she will go too low in the middle of the night while I am sleeping.
 
Re: 1/15 Ruby AMPS 181,58@+5.5,82@+6,169@+9.5

Awesome job today *clapping*.

After finding this board it floors me that so many vets don't understand (or don't want to).
 
Well at PMPS 281, looks like Ruby will be getting her normal 2 units tonight!
Why is it that she went low today for the first time?
Maybe a combo of canned food and insulin?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top