1/15 Papaya AMPS=542 PMPS=245 +3.6=59 +5=45

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Papaya (GA)

Member Since 2012
Papaya's 1/14

Papaya had been at 1.75 units for five days, plus 2 cycles before that, but I had jumped up to 2 prematurely so I didn't really count the earlier cycles.

She didn't seem to be bouncing, was showing clear drops to fairly predictable nadirs (rather than flat cycles or ones that were higher after the shot). But the numbers were still too high. Peaks were still WELL above 200, lots of black, red and pink, so as far as I understand the TR Protocol, she needed to be increased, because while nadirs were under 200, the peaks were much higher, so it fell in the "hold for 5-7 days and then go up by 0.25" category, right? My decision to do that after 5 days was also influenced by "know your cat" - she was drinking lots of water and not seeming very comfortable - it's hard to explain but I do see a difference in how she acts between a quick bounce and more prolonged high numbers.

So today I went up by 0.25 to 2 units.

The second cycle of the increase, she dropped from yellow into green and hit as low as 45!

I didn't test earlier because it's really been a while since I saw any low numbers, and didn't think the second cycle of an increase would already be so different! Thus initially when she was looking for food a couple hours after the PM shot, as usual, I fed her just the normal LC, but when she kept coming back and licked her dish clean, I tested at +3.6 and gave her some Fancy Feast that I had marked as being 7% carb, which is just a bit higher than her usual 4% stuff. I was hoping that would be enough to keep her from dropping much more, but it looks like I could have offered somewhat higher-carb earlier.

It is sure nice to see green again, but now it's the fine line between being in good numbers and going too low. As I understand it, one drop to below 40 means an immediate decrease, so I will try to use food to level things out a bit if she starts dropping like this next cycle, as I would love to see the preshot numbers start to level out rather than have to decrease. Looks like I am not going to be getting a lot of sleep for a few days nailbite_smile
 
Hi guys thanks for stopping by I am @ work but just wanted to say hi & congrats on the green looks like u guys are trying to figure out the right dose too good luck!
 
Hi Amy,
I think increasing was the right call, but now she's got me scratching my head:-)
Good idea using food to head things off. What you might try is getting a test at +2 or +3 and maybe you can see a drop coming earlier? If you see a significant drop by +3, you're likely to see an active cycle, and could feed a small bit of LC then.

Great job with the latest cycle!
Carl
 
It looks to me like Papaya has been bouncing. Every time she cleared the bounce and dropped into blues, she would zoom up again. My hunch is that Papaya dropped lower than the 167 on 1/14. In other words, every time the bounce clears, Papaya's nadir is a bit lower. In any event, that 45 means a dose reduction.

Just an FYI, nadir and "peak" mean the same thing. Peak refers to the peak action of the insulin -- not the highest numbers in the cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top