1/15 Moo, PMPS 233

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moosmommy

Member Since 2012
So Moo was over 200 AMPS and PMPS.
This is not really common except the last day or so...
Just wondering, could the Lantus be going bad already?
He started it on 12/5 so it has only been in use just over a month. It shouldn't be bad yet right?
What else could be causing his spike?
Today is/was day 3 of .25F, so tomorrow I will go back to .50 and see how that helps his numbers.

Any other thoughts?
Thanks.
 
I'd increase the dose.

Just as an FYI, typically, you want to make dose changes in 0.25u increments. We "fatten" or "skinny" a dose once you're zeroing in on a good dose. I don't think Moo's there yet. You may want to increase to 0.5u so it's easier to measure and then increase by a full 0.25u or just increase the dose to a fat 0.5u at your next shot.
 
I'm kinda confused.
So tomorrow I plan on just going from the fat .25 today to a plain .5 because as you said, it's easier to measure. And just stay there and see what happens.
I rather not do a 'fat' anything because these syringes are so difficult to get it just right w/ the fat/skinny. And I don't have the time or money now to get a caliper and figure that out.

I am not quite sure how 'fat' my fat .25's were anyway since the syringes are difficult. It may have been closer to .25 anyway.

So, is it ok just to go to the .5 for tomorrow morning and thereon while we watch his numbers for a bit?
 
That's fine.

I'm not sure how you're measuring. I've found it to be easier to "dial" in the dose. In other words, I twist the plunger in order to reach the dose rather than push on it.

Also, make sure that before you draw up any insulin, you work the plunger up and down the syringe a few times. There's a silicone coating inside the syringe and moving the plunger will helps to spread it out and help the plunger to move more smoothly.
 
Did i welcome you to the lantus board yet? welcome aboard!

Yep I think that's what sienne is saying,.. Increase to 0.5 tomorrow and see how it goes over the next few days.
 
Thanks! I got it, sounds good.
I have kinda been working the plunger up and down... I feel like it helps make sure there is no air bubbles stuck in there too.

I'll keep ya updated tomorrow as we see how he does on the .5 and I will be sure to make it home on my lunch break to get a midday reading.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top