1/15, Merme, AMPS 248, +3 320, +6 313, PMPS 536, +1 529

Mermelada & Andrea

Member Since 2020
Is this a bouncing? or is soon to know? I'm not sure if I gave him a furshot his last 1U but levels are a little bit lower at +1 even though he ate at PMPS I'm hopping he got most or all of his insulin dose, today he only ate wet food and made him hungrier but not sings of diarrea which is good for his food intolerance

Link to previous post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-15-merme-amps-248-should-i-shot.297494/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/second-opinion-high-levels.297445/
 
It's possible it's a bounce. Looks like he hasn't seen below 300 for a while, so the yellows last night would definitely cause a bounce.

You can smell the injection site, and it should tell you if it was a fur shot. Lantus has a very strong smell.
 
It's possible it's a bounce. Looks like he hasn't seen below 300 for a while, so the yellows last night would definitely cause a bounce.

You can smell the injection site, and it should tell you if it was a fur shot. Lantus has a very strong smell.

thank you so so much! for a bouncing I have to stay with the same dose right?
I thought I saw very little liquid coming out at the shot moment but I don't know if it evaporated quickly or if it was my imagination or some insulin who dripped out when measuring the dose because when I tried to check it everything looked dry, I smelled it and that was exactly what confused me because I didn't feel the strong smell or the wet hair.
 
Yes, we hold the initial dose for 5-7 cycles, depending on which dosing method you are following. Unless they go below the reduction point.
I don't know if I have a dosing method, vet just told me to shot him with 1.5 or 2 U twice a day and good luck, other vet before that diluted the insulin with saline to shot once a day and ask me to see me in 15 days, so I'm learning mostly from this site, which has been very helpful, back in 2020 I got him on remission, but if you look at that year SS I didn't have a consistent method, What I did that time was holding dose 3 days or more, if still high numbers increased .5 and hold for other 3 or more days, at first if he was lower than 120 didn't shoot but vet at the time told me to still shoot, so the last two weeks he was almost at verge of hypo until he got one and went to remission after that
 
Hi! :) Not one of the members with most experience, but here on the forum they recommend sticking to the same dose for both am and pm shots. Stick to that dose for 6 cycles and then increase by 0.25u if the nadir still isn't below 200. Decrease by 0.25u if Mermelada drops below 50 :)
 
Back
Top