1/15 Marley AMPS 271, +3.5 243, +4.5 186, +8.5 139, PMPS 352, +2.5 279

@tiffmaxee

I wondered if I could trouble you for your opinion? You gave me such a huge insight and understanding when you explained to me about drops at +2 so starting at the numbers he was getting at the time, you explained that if they drop more than 75 points means likely active cycle, and if they start from a lower number it could be a drop of 50 for instance that signalled an active cycle. That literally made my life so so so much easier because suddenly I felt out of complete chaos and confusion to have a system to follow and way to understand what was coming.......then he went and changed his parer!

He doesn't generally drop until +3 now

Are there any general guides for a +3 drop?

I really need to get more work but I am struggling to figure out when it is safe for me to be out of the house. Ive read the post on here talking about how full time work is possible but I dont feel with Marely at the moment that is realistic. He had a hypo at +4 and +5 the other day. That makes me feel its not safe for me to commit to anything until ive past the +5 mark. I test and feed him at 5.50 am so that would mean I cant leave for work until 11 am. If Marley was your cat what hours would you feel it was safe for you to commit to be able to leave the house. At the moment I am seeing my option would be to teach someone to inject Marley at night, and me be back by +3.5, (he has a feed at +1, +2, +3 and +4so I figured if he was showing signs of heading down, the feed would keep him going til +3.5) so that would be 8.50 pm my time and then in the morning I'd do the shot at 5.50 am and then not be able to leave the house til +4.....do you think that is safe bet? But then looking at his daytime nadir that cane be +7 +8 or later..........
 
When he went down to 40 did you rest a second time to make sure it wasn’t a bad strip? Was he symptomatic?

If the +2 is at all lower than the preshot you might also have an active cycle. I’d feed a snack at +2 and perhaps slightly higher carbs than your lowest lc, perhaps +6-9%. Do you have an auto feeder? You could put snacks in it based upon the bg test before you leave and set it to go off while you are at work. Nadirs change in time so I always fed based upon the bg tests I got each cycle. If you feel he might go lower just feed higher carbs, 10-12% and put some in the feeder for while you are gone. Does this help?
 
Thank you, yes!

I didnt retest at 40 as he was really feisty and fidgety (symptomatic for him of a hypo). I was heavily suspecting him to be low (well not that low) because his behaviour changes and he gets really pacey and hungry and jumpy. So he was all those things. I was sure he was going to be low. So I didnt think to retest.

I m rarely doing +2s at the moment because it seems a waste of strip. I see what you mean about the being at all lower - maybe its an active cycle. Thanks for pointing that out.

He has auto timers set for +1, +2, +3 and +4.

But when they have lows you are meant to feed them every half an hour not every hour, so wouldnt he still be in potential danger if he's only getting food every hour?

Do hypos only usually happen in the first part of the cycle ir can they happen any time?

Thanks. so much
 
It depends how low. If you need to leave you would feed mc for a couple hours before you leave and if necessary hc and leave out hc. You feed every 20-30 if under 50 though. If not sure ask fir help. Add the question mark prefix to the subject and help with feeding or something like that.
 
It depends how low. If you need to leave you would feed mc for a couple hours before you leave and if necessary hc and leave out hc. You feed every 20-30 if under 50 though. If not sure ask fir help. Add the question mark prefix to the subject and help with feeding or something like that.


Thank you for the article. I think I willl need to read it over and over.

I can now see, as you pointed out, that how a lower +2 at any number indicates an active cycle, but this doesn't feel enough to inform me if I need to give mc, or hc. I think I need to wait to +3, or actually even +4 for that.

I can see how airing on the side of safety I can give the mc or hc - depending-. if this is me working daily surely that would be to his detriment giving it unnecessarily often giving mc,hc just in case? The odd day, I wouldnt mind doing that - if I had a hospital appointment or something, but I wouldnt feel comfortable guessing from a pre 2 and then giving HC to prevent a low I have no idea if he is going to have.

This is why I am trying to find a pattern, so I know what. hours I can be out of the house. I am trying to plan around his safety and best chance of me looking after him in a way he can heal.

So right now I am thinking I can only really leave my house after a +4 test in the day - because it's only by that time I will know whether to leave out lc or mc or hc?

God its so complicated isnt it, or maybe I'm just not built to understand it!

Thank you for your help
 
You have lots of data. Unless dropping close to 50 you would feed higher lc like 5-9% or mc 10-15% if you have to leave. Experiment while you are home
 
Back
Top