1/15 Kit AMPS 218, +1 146, +2 89, +3 52, +4 46, +4.5 63, +5 51, +5.5 50, +6 63, +10 169, PMPS 173

Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday's thread

We saw some higher dark greens last night, but I went ahead and increased to 2.25 this morning. Yellow start but a quick drop down. I think I want to make some adjustments to when I feed her a higher LC food to slow the bounce, but I think that means feeding it at preshot since I'm already feeding it at +1.

I hope everyone has a good Monday, and stay warm if you're in the areas that have frigid temps. Safe surfing to the kitties out there.
 
So, a hypothetical question that I think of each time I increase. If the cat were to increase, and then on the first or second cycle, go below 40, would you go back to the previous dosage you were just at? I know ECID, but can a new dose be that quick at bringing them down? Just a question in my brain as I procrastinate on syllabi.
 
Wow, Kit cat! She's on the move! :eek:
I don't know the answer to the question - I've never had a scuba diving right off the bat.
Below 40 will scare me though. Hope she will stay above 40 today. Safe surging, pretty one! :bighug:
 
So, a hypothetical question that I think of each time I increase. If the cat were to increase, and then on the first or second cycle, go below 40, would you go back to the previous dosage you were just at? I know ECID, but can a new dose be that quick at bringing them down? Just a question in my brain as I procrastinate on syllabi.
Yes to your question. Any drop under 40 is an automatic reduction. See Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials
 
Yes to your question. Any drop under 40 is an automatic reduction. See Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials
That's the part I get - but if you just increased, like you're on the first cycle of that new dose, how much does that increase affect that first dose? Again, I know ECID, but if your cat usually takes a few cycles before you really start to see the affects of the new dose, and on that first cycle (or first day) you see a drop below 40, do you go back to the dose just before the increase? Or do you go further? Like, you increased for a reason, most likely, so it seems like just taking one step back is what you would logically do. But how much is the new dose? It's really just a curiosity question - Kit has dropped low on the first day, but never reduction low. Did I mention I'm avoiding do syllabi? :joyful::joyful:
 
The question is also because, while I increased the morning, I wasn't as certain as I usually am, and now she's down to 46. She did just get some 12%, and she usually responds pretty well to carbs. So much second guessing.
 
Good meowning Alicia and Kit.
She's a busy bee this cycle isn't she. I hope she surfs safely and luckily you're there to watch her.
Have a peaceful Meownday

upload_2024-1-15_11-23-40.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-15_11-23-40.png
    upload_2024-1-15_11-23-40.png
    89 KB · Views: 100
TR is pretty darn aggressive and so any drop under 50 means a reduction to keep our cats safe. If the reduction fails you can go back up again is how I looked at it.
 
TR is pretty darn aggressive and so any drop under 50 means a reduction to keep our cats safe. If the reduction fails you can go back up again is how I looked at it.
Kit is out of remission, so her reduction point is under 40.

My question was more hypothetical - say a cat is at 1.5 units. They get an increase to 1.75 units. The very first cycle they are at 1.75, they go below 40. How much is that 1.75 playing into that first cycle? Should they reduce to 1.5? Or is it mostly the 1.5 that is playing into that, and should they go to 1.25? I'm presuming they would go to 1.5, and then if further cycles warranted that drop down to 1.25, then they would take it, since there would have been a reason for them to take that increase to 1.75. Does that make sense? And I'm sure it's a difficult question because of course ECID.
 
That was a typo I meant to write under 40. ;)

As to your hypothetical question, the depot would influence the bg for as many as 4 cycles and sometimes a bit longer. I’d go to 1.5 if that happened and I could watch closely. You did see a few low 50’s on the 1.5 but if wanting to get overall lower bg I’d feed slightly higher carbs and stick with 1.5. I think it’s a judgement call based on the cat in question.
 
That was a typo I meant to write under 40. ;)

As to your hypothetical question, the depot would influence the bg for as many as 4 cycles and sometimes a bit longer. I’d go to 1.5 if that happened and I could watch closely. You did see a few low 50’s on the 1.5 but if wanting to get overall lower bg I’d feed slightly higher carbs and stick with 1.5. I think it’s a judgement call based on the cat in question.
Thanks!
 
Yes to answer your question on the first cycle effect. Sometimes cats will use that first cycle of an increase to give a preview of how low the dose is taking the cat. For some it's the second. I'd stick with 2.25 units for now. Would love to see her get rid of those high yellows and pinks!
 
Yes to answer your question on the first cycle effect. Sometimes cats will use that first cycle of an increase to give a preview of how low the dose is taking the cat. For some it's the second. I'd stick with 2.25 units for now. Would love to see her get rid of those high yellows and pinks!
It was just something I thought about each time I increased her. And then it wouldn't leave my brain until I asked.

I would love to not see those pinks and yellows as well. I was just very surprised to see her go so low this morning. She was loving being offered multiple types of foods. :rolleyes:

Good luck with the increase Alicia , she sure is in a roll , glad she came up some @+7 :bighug::D
She was ready for some gravy, gosh dang it, and if she has to go low to get it, well then she'll go low. :rolleyes:
 
She has decided the linen closet is her preferred hidey hole now. Which is a super fun place to test and shoot in. Momma is not as bendy as she used to be. :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top