1/15 Jackson AMPS 356 +6 142 +8 69 +10 49 +12 82, +13 131 PMPS(+14) 144 +1 234 +3 308 +3.5 253

Taking into account the Libre’s tested variance at “low” numbers, I am daring for the first time, with Jackson scanning at 49, to… DO NOTHING. Because he’s actually really around 85-90. Which is just fine.

(I am however going to hang out with him for awhile to watch for any symptoms, and if he stays “LO” for too long I will check blood glucose just to see what’s happening. I have limited ear sticks allowed though, per kitty, so have to choose my timings wisely.)

No wonder he was acting just fine the last… oh, whole bunch of times I panicked when he went into the “50s”…

I’ve thought it over, and I think though that I’m still going to keep putting on my spreadsheet the numbers the Libre gives - for data continuity, because that’s what I’ve been using all along. I do have a disclaimer at the top now about the variance, and I will mention it when posting lower numbers as well. I fear I may confuse people, because 49 is not actually 49, but I feel I need to keep continuity for now, for comparisons. And so that I don’t actually have to poke him multiple times a day to get exact readings vs estimates to write down. (Because that just isn’t happening, especially if I’m not home.)
 
Last edited:
With no intervention whatsoever, Jack rose a little on his own. And he’s been at almost exactly the same number for over half an hour now (58 to 57, BG test 96). The dip to 49/under 90 was so brief that unless he drops more tonight, I would consider it not a reduction. Just almost.

Although considering tonight… if his actual glucose stays around 90, do I dare shoot? Isn’t 90 the number of do-not with SLGS? I hate to skip, especially knowing he will bounce at some point, but frankly I’m afraid to drive him down further, especially as long acting as Lantus is. I fear it would be very hard to bring him back up. And he will not let me poke his ear every half hour trying to track how low he really is!

Maybe I should wait until he starts to bounce-rise?
 
Well, right on time for his evening preshot meal, he started to rise. 82 at +12, 102 @ +12.25. I’m going to give it just until +12.5 and then shoot. He’s definitely heading into the bounce so I feel much better about it now.
 
…and now he’s dipping again after +12.5. Just a little, but… yeah…

Interesting discovery!! Above 100 or so it looks like the Libre variance shrinks considerably, quite quickly! It read 105 and BG was near-simultaneously 113. I had actually expected the variance to drop off quite a bit slower than that. I’ll need more tests at different times/days to verify that it’s not a fluke but…interesting.

Still afraid to shoot quite yet. Especially given that the BG was not far above 100.
 
Sometimes you get a Lantus double dip, where they do a mini downward curve at the end of the cycle. Or just went a bit lower cause he hasn't had food for a while. But he does seem to be on the rise now.

Yes, 90 is the "do not shoot" number for SLGS, though stalling without feeding and seeing if he comes up, as you are doing, is an option. What do you feel comfortable shooting now? You've shot 125 previously.
 
I really am not sure. I’m actually not finding a place on the spreadsheet where I shot 125; it looks like it spiked to 142 before I shot on the night of 12/14. Right now he’s stalled out at 131; he’s been at that same number for about 45 minutes. I really don’t know. If I knew he would keep rising before the shot really hits, then I would feel better. If I knew that he would stay fairly level on the shot, I would feel better. It’s possible that he might stay level, but I’m worried about if he crashes. (Like, actually, not just the fake-low numbers I’ve worried about before.)

He’s just not rising right now. I know I’m running out of time to shoot or skip. I don’t think it would be wise, exactly, to skip. I just don’t know, I’m feeling totally angsty and indecisive about it.

I also don’t want him to go without food much longer. At this point, I’m going to feed. If it brings him up a bit, I guess so much the better.
 
If you keep on not feeding, he will start dropping again.

Ask yourself, what do Jackson's cycle look like the cycle after he sees green?
 
Normally he starts climbing into blues fairly quickly, then yellows and even pinks in the bounce. But allowing him to go “low” and stay there is new to both me and him. So it’s a little unsure.

He was actually starting to drop a bit again, yeah… After walking away for a few minutes, I think I’ve decided what to do - I can’t not shoot. I’m going to shoot a decreased dose - 1 unit. He might go a bit high tomorrow, though when he finally bounces he will anyway, but it’s better than nothing.

Edit, he’s finally nudging up a little more again; I just gave him the preshot scan and he’s at 144 suddenly now. I’m going to hold my breath and shoot full dose. Holding breath now…
 
Shot given. It’s done and in him now.

Logically, you know, when I look at what his real numbers are, he was only ranging from around 90 to 130… not that big of a distance. It just looks so much bigger because of the wide variance in lower Libre numbers. I think I kind of have to try to re-train my brain and emotions on it… try to remember on that gut level that he’s not actually that low, even though my rational mind now knows that…
 
I’ll probably be watching him for the next number of hours lol…. Unless he starts really climbing of course.

I’m going to go take the hour or so before anything takes effect, and take a shower.

Jack himself is now fed and purry, washing. :cat: He’s feeling good, having had some uninterrupted-by-wellmeaning-human greens.
 
Back
Top