1/15 Esse AMPS 135 - Vacation dosing 'threshold'?

Lauren & Esse

Member Since 2025
Previous post!

Popping in with a specific question for our experienced folks re: our vacation plan...

Background: His vacation dose will likely be 1u and we are departing tomorrow afternoon, returning next Thurs afternoon. His schedule while we are gone will be AMPS meal and shot, AM+2ish large snack, PMPS meal and shot, PM+2ish large snack. For the purposes of decision making you can assume that he will NOT eat outside of those four times (since he hates eating alone). The sitter and my other friends are just dropping in, no one is staying with him round-the-clock, although we have folks we can contact to check on him mid-cycle in case of emergency.

Last night was his 6th cycle on 1u and honestly it was perfect--he saw a few high greens but no Libre alarms. He didn't eat much if any of his overnight food after +2.5 so it was a good approximation of what it'll be like while we're gone.

I had originally written in my instructions for the sitter that she should only give insulin if he's over 150, but over the last few days he's only seen 2 out of 7 preshots that high. My question is whether it is prudent to lower the dosing threshold, maybe to something like >125? Or would it be safer just to stick with 150 and she may have to skip a shot or two until his depot drains?

And in case anyone wants more context, here's a link to when we got home from our last trip, during which he got no insulin at all, lol.
 
Previous post!

Popping in with a specific question for our experienced folks re: our vacation plan...

Background: His vacation dose will likely be 1u and we are departing tomorrow afternoon, returning next Thurs afternoon. His schedule while we are gone will be AMPS meal and shot, AM+2ish large snack, PMPS meal and shot, PM+2ish large snack. For the purposes of decision making you can assume that he will NOT eat outside of those four times (since he hates eating alone). The sitter and my other friends are just dropping in, no one is staying with him round-the-clock, although we have folks we can contact to check on him mid-cycle in case of emergency.

Last night was his 6th cycle on 1u and honestly it was perfect--he saw a few high greens but no Libre alarms. He didn't eat much if any of his overnight food after +2.5 so it was a good approximation of what it'll be like while we're gone.

I had originally written in my instructions for the sitter that she should only give insulin if he's over 150, but over the last few days he's only seen 2 out of 7 preshots that high. My question is whether it is prudent to lower the dosing threshold, maybe to something like >125? Or would it be safer just to stick with 150 and she may have to skip a shot or two until his depot drains?

And in case anyone wants more context, here's a link to when we got home from our last trip, during which he got no insulin at all, lol.
Eek, I will defer to more expert eyes for dosing advice, but wishing you a relaxing trip Lauren. And sending safe surfing vines to sweet Esse!
🍀 🍀 🍃 🍃 🏄‍♀️ :cat: 🍃🌊:bighug:
 
Was out of town today and heading off to work shortly, so no long explanation. I can't tell what his nadirs (meter) are on this dose. It wouldn't hurt to lower the dose to 0.75 units for a couple days. Preshots are not an indicator of nadirs. Nadirs are what you care about.
 
Preshots are not an indicator of nadirs. Nadirs are what you care about.
I know we, the cat owners, don't dose off the preshot, but having a "rule of thumb" or "go/no go" guideline so the sitter knows what she's doing is extremely helpful. She will be giving AM insulin when I am (ideally) not awake yet because I will be on vacation in a different time zone, so I was trying to give her clear instructions. My goal was to avoid having to closely monitor the Libre then wake up early and confer with her every morning--like I did on my last trip. Kind of like how we tell newbies here not to shoot under 200 without guidance/ability to monitor. Apologies that my question wasn't clear.

Much to consider before we leave tomorrow, I suppose. Thank you for your input.
 
Your question was clear, guess my answer wasn't. Just in the last week, Esse has hit the 50's with a preshot of 187, 205, 141, 169 and 145. His preshots don't tell you how low he'll go. You want to avoid those lows. Setting an arbitrary "don't shoot" preshot won't help you prevent those lows. But lowering his dose to 0.75 units should raise his nadirs to keep him safer.
 
Yes, I'm adjusting my example syringe and printed/digital instructions and texting her to reflect the recommended lowered dose. I will also, I guess, lower the dosing threshold since it's meaningless anyway.
 
Back
Top