1/14 Scooter, AMPS 489, +3-433, + 5-429, +8- 371, PMPS 455

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
Scooter seems Happy this morning. He ate quite well and is still a lap kitty. :smile:
I however am getting concerned his numbers have not changed much. I know it takes time but it sure is hard waiting. :smile:
All the kitties are watching the snow and relaxing today so I am sure he will be ok.

Linda
 
Re: 1/14 Scooter, AMPS 489,

Don't give up. It takes time for things to settle down, and for Scooter to build up his shed. I know it's discouraging in the beginning, but his #s will improve. It simply takes a lot of patience. Hang in there, ok? You WILL get there.
 
Re: 1/14 Scooter, AMPS 489,

I'm glad Scooter is happy today! I know it's so hard to be patient, I have problems with that :oops: Paws crossed you see some lower numbers soon, you're doing great :-D
 
Re: 1/14 Scooter, AMPS 489,

Hi Linda,
It looks like you will have to increase your dose soon, but probably not today. Perhaps put the ? symbol in your subject line and the word "dose" so that the experienced dosing people will see it and give you some advice. It does take time for the numbers to come down when you are just beginning a "depot" insulin like Levemir or Lantus. The "shed" or "depot" has to fill to the new dose before all of the insulin can be utilized in bringing down the bg. And you have only been using Lev. for a week and have changed doses, therefore changing the size of the shed. I am not a dosing expert, but I would give this dose another few days to settle.

Can you try to get the colors to work on your spreadsheet? It is very hard to follow the way it is now. I know that Marje offered to help you with it a few days ago, but she is so busy she may have forgotten. Here is the link to setting up a spreadsheet. It might be simplest to start a new spreadsheet and just re-enter the data since you switched to Lev. Give the new spreadsheet a different name. That way you will be able to keep the old spreadsheet for the pre-Lev. data.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207&start=0

Glad to hear that Scooter is feeling good,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/14 Scooter, AMPS 489,

Okey dokey I opened a new spreadsheet and the colors work. I only have the Levemir on it though.

I feel like a dork that I don't know how to use the google stuff that well. I also would like to know how to shorten my signature to say Scooter Levemir rather than that large link. I have also seen folks with 2 spreadsheets have both posted using short names.

Anyway the biggest thing is Scooter is doing well and I feel confident going to work again. On the H I hated leaving him and worried he would be dead when I got home.



Thank you everyone for all your help from the bottom of my heart.

Linda
 
Re: 1/14 Scooter, AMPS 489,

Hi Linda:

After three years on the board, I finally figured out how to shorten links, so I'm happy to share my new-found knowledge:

Go into your profile and position your cursor where you want the new link to appear. Click the URL button above so you have . Move the cursor to the left, just after the first url and insert a = Then, go to your spreadsheet and copy the address or URL. Paste it to the right of the = . Move your cursor to the right so it's between the brackets and type the name you want to appear. ]Scooter Levemir[. It will end up like this: name. That will do it. You can use the same method in your daily posts to include a link to the previous day's condo. Hope that was clear? Good luck. :-D
 
Re: 1/14 Scooter, AMPS 489, +3-433

Well, the only problem is that you gave the URL for the old spreadsheet, not the new one! Can you pull up the new one, change the url to it, and that should do the trick.

Ella
 
Re: 1/14 Scooter, AMPS 489, +3-433, + 5-429, +8- 371

Yep, it's fixed!! Good Job, Linda! :-D Now all we have to work on is seeing fewer reds. Nice slide down to pink today.

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/14 Scooter, AMPS 489, +3-433, + 5-429, +8- 371

All fixed...except for those few cells with icky black 500 numbers in them! Good job!!

Remember, you're on a very tiny dose so far, so don't get frustrated. Most of us start at 1 unit unless we have very small cats. You've done 5 cycles (You're missing how much you shot this morning) so you're still filling the depot too.

It's great Scooter is feeling good! Many times, the first things we notice is a change in purrsonality..back to the kitty we used to know before they started feeling icky from the diabetes. I remember the first thing I noticed with China was she was preening again! I hadn't even really noticed that she had stopped until I caught her sitting in a sunny place one morning doing her best to make her coat look wonderful..then I realized it HAD been a long time since I'd seen her preen :-D

One word of advice...remember, this is a marathon, not a sprint. Going slow is safest for Scooter!
 
Re: 1/14 Scooter, AMPS 489, +3-433, + 5-429, +8- 371

Here's your post from yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111829&p=1180083#p1180083

great job getting the new spreadsheet done! i know you're not the only person not familiar with them until arriving here (that's secret code for me too!) :lol: but you've got it now!

if you could add the old information, that would be helpful. to do that, you go to the new spreadsheet, put your cursor on the first column on the left, row 3 and click to highlight that row.

then move above to "insert" in the row of words at the tops, click on it and choose "add a row above." that will put in a row above your first row. You could repeat that process to add as many rows as you need to include the older data. in your case, with him having had the higher doses of Humulin before changing to Lev, at this point it's still helpful for us to see it.

If you can't figure out how to do that, no worries. if you have your old spreadsheet link, maybe for the next 2 weeks you could just include it in your first post of the day. I'm thinking about his high numbers and wondering how low the previous insulins got him to (and at what dose) but the info isn't there.

don't misunderstand - the new ss is great. having the colors is REALLY helpful. i'm not trying to make it difficult for you. it's just that the old data is still helpful for a while to help us get him to a dose that gets some better blood sugar numbers.

Hope you're having a great day!
 
Re: 1/14 Scooter, AMPS 489, +3-433, + 5-429, +8- 371

And I will still fix your old SS if you want :-D

We'd like to see you raise Scooters dose to 1u tomorrow morning unless he comes down into yellow or blue numbers tonight. If he just comes down into yellow, I'd increase 0.25u to .75u. But if he stays pink or red, he needs a bigger increase of 0.5u to 1u.

What do you think?
 
Re: 1/14 Scooter, AMPS 489, +3-433, + 5-429, +8- 371

I agree with Marje. With numbers that are above 300, the Tight Regulation Protocol for BOTH Lantus and Lev indicate that a 0.5u increase is indicated.

I'd like to encourage you to consider being a bit more aggressive about Scooter's dose. It's possible to increase the dose every 4 - 6 cycles (2 - 3 days). Since Scooter was on both Lantus and NPH, with the last dose of NPH being 4.0u, the TR protocol notes that when switching from another insulin, the dose of the prior insulin needs to be taken into consideration. From what Scooter's numbers are looking like, his initial dose of Lev wasn't high enough. The longer that Scooter stays in higher numbers, the more his body begins to treat these high numbers as his "new normal" and the harder it gets to bring the numbers down. I'd love to see Scooter in a better range so whatever we can do to get him there, seems like an idea worth considering.
 
Re: 1/14 Scooter, AMPS 489, +3-433, + 5-429, +8- 371, PMPS 4

I agree with Marje too! :smile:

So tomorrow (AMPS=1U) right?

He was playing with Bear today in the tunnel and running thru it and that made me cry. That was when he was in the pink. So everything you ladies have told me has worked and I am game to follow your experience. It so happens that I am home tomorrow as well so that will help my peace of mind.

Marje got my old SS back up so It has the humilin and Levemir on it.

Thank you Marje you are very kind!!!!!!! :-D

Linda
 
Re: 1/14 Scooter, AMPS 489, +3-433, + 5-429, +8- 371, PMPS 4

You're welcome! Happy to help.

Next goal....green for Scooter :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top