1/14 Ruby PMPS 192

Status
Not open for further replies.

lexiruby

Member Since 2010
I gotta tell everyone. This is by far the best site that I have EVER found.
I have learned so much, and will continue to learn more.
Ruby is doing so much better, her bg is coming down and the
home testing is the best thing I have ever done for her :-D
She loves the canned food, has more energy today, and plays
more that she has in months!
My question is; how do you know when to give her less (or more)
insulin? I can see that in the future I am going to have to change
her dosing at some point. I am terrified of her bg going to low!
Thanks,
Jen and Ruby
 
hi jen! this site is pretty awesome! it's good to hear ruby is doing so well!

have you had a chance to read through the LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL sticky at the top of this forum? it's pretty self-explanatory as to when to increase/decrease the dose, but if you have any questions after reading, please ask. we'll be happy to answer questions you may have. there's also a few more stickies (starred items) up there. read through them when you can. there's a ton of information available for you.
 
Hi Jen,

I'm so glad Ruby is feeling so much better! That was such an amazing thing to see for us. We thought maybe Johnny was just getting older before he was diagnosed. It was great to see him come back to life and play and enjoy things more. I'm glad you're home testing and you've got your SS set up. Spot checks are the numbers that will tell you what's going on with Ruby in between shots and play a large role in knowing when she needs a dose increase or decrease. I know it's tough at first to see those red ears, but her ears will adjust. It's pretty amazing how they 'learn' to bleed better. We use a little neosporin with pain relief on Johnny's ears sometimes.

Glad you're here!
Janice
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top