? 1-14 Panzer PMPS 109/Food chart ?/114@+4/114@+5/120@+6

Chrispooky12

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...t-pmps-383-increase-373-4-361-5-359-6.272748/

Panzer has been doing great since Jan 12th, his last dose of doxycycline was on Jan 9th. His numbers are finally in the blues & greens, & no more pain meow in the litter box. I think his UTI is gone but this coming Thursday will be 10 days since he's been off the antibiotics. I have to get get my application turned in for rent assistance in March soon & they have minimum hrs. So the best day for me to turn that in is going to be on Thursday. I was also going to shoot for taking a clean catch into the vet on Thursday but I may have to do it on Friday, then I will know for sure that Panzer is negative for a UTI. Fingers & paws crossed!!!

This morning was a little scary @ AMPS he was @79 but I shot the full 3.5units & he was in the blues for the entire cycle being at his lowest @ PMPS. We also had a late night of testing last night because he just kept dropping. I finally stopped testing @+9 PMPS last night because I was having a hard time keeping my eyes open & he was staying pretty flat in the 70s. I'm really hoping he will drop under 50 or better yet under 40 so we can either be closer to a reduction or get a reduction. If not I'm going to really nervous on Monday morning when I have to go back to work, but it is what it is.

I was on the FB group earlier today & someone was asking about how to calculate the carbs. A lady posted a calculater to download so I did. I wrote down all of the info from Dr Lisa's food chart every Fancy feast & weruva pate that Panzer & Spook eat & according to the calculater, some of the flavors are anywhere from negative 6.9% to13.6% carbs. So that is my question, I don't understand how any of them can be over 10% carbs as there listed anywhere from 0% to 6% in the 2017 food chart? What is going on? I do not understand this? Any guidance on this will be much appreciated.
 
With regards to the carb calculator; here's the problem. The producers of the food list the MINIMUM protein content, MINIMUM fat content, etc, but for moisture they post the MAXIMUM. As a result for low carb foods I've found that you can't do the typical maths!

For example; for one food I had sam on at one point I added up all the listed percentages and it was 104%. That is obviously wrong. You'd need to know EXACTLY what the contents are to calculate the carb percentage, and the producers don't list the EXACT contents, they list the maximum or minimum contents.

Really it'd need to be sent in to a lab to be analyzed to determine the carb content of a given wet food. The calculator works sometimes, but it depends on the producers values that they put on the can.

I'm thrilled Panzer is doing better though! That must be a relief! From the research I've done the pain basically increases Panzer's resistance to insulin via hormones like cortisol and adrenaline. It's a temporary thing though, so hopefully soon he earns a couple reductions!
 
I was on the FB group earlier today & someone was asking about how to calculate the carbs. A lady posted a calculater to download so I did. I wrote down all of the info from Dr Lisa's food chart every Fancy feast & weruva pate that Panzer & Spook eat & according to the calculater, some of the flavors are anywhere from negative 6.9% to13.6% carbs. So that is my question, I don't understand how any of them can be over 10% carbs as there listed anywhere from 0% to 6% in the 2017 food chart? What is going on? I do not understand this? Any guidance on this will be much appreciated.
Dr. Lisa's food chart already has the carb% listed. Were you using the Guaranteed Analysis values from the can to calculate the carb% from the calculator?
 
Dr. Lisa's food chart already has the carb% listed. Were you using the Guaranteed Analysis values from the can to calculate the carb% from the calculator?
I was looking on the cans on chewy on my order history, I assume that they are the same? Guaranteed analysis values? I'm so confused. The carb calculator I was using was wanting numbers for Protein, Fat, Fiber,Moisture, & Ash.
 
I was looking on the cans on chewy on my order history, I assume that they are the same? Guaranteed analysis values? I'm so confused. The carb calculator I was using was wanting numbers for Protein, Fat, Fiber,Moisture, & Ash.
Yes. The Guaranteed Analysis values are only approximate ranges and often do not add up to 100. So while you can get a general idea of carb% using them, it's not accurate. Weruva puts up the nutritional info on its website for all the flavours. The first table has the % calories from carbs.

https://weruva.com/nutrition-landing/

For other brands like Fancy Feast, you either work with Dr. Lisa's list or an approximate % based on the Guaranteed Values. Some companies will respond to email queries on carb%. You want to ask them for % carbs on a "Dry Matter Basis".
 
Yes. The Guaranteed Analysis values are only approximate ranges and often do not add up to 100. So while you can get a general idea of carb% using them, it's not accurate. Weruva puts up the nutritional info on its website for all the flavours. The first table has the % calories from carbs.

https://weruva.com/nutrition-landing/

For other brands like Fancy Feast, you either work with Dr. Lisa's list or an approximate % based on the Guaranteed Values. Some companies will respond to email queries on carb%. You want to ask them for % carbs on a "Dry Matter Basis".
Okay thank you @Bandit's Mom that makes more sense. I'm going to test Panzer real quick & look at the weruva link you provided.
 
Not working today due to bad stomach cramps. I will be moving my houses around this week to get 5 done in 4 days. I will still be testing Panzer as usual & sleeping.
 
Not real sure what's going on with Panzer's numbers today? I was thinking maybe he was bouncing from all the greens, but as of right now he's pretty flat but slowly climbing? I gave him the 0 carb weruva @ PMPS so maybe that will help bring him back down, I can only hope!
 
Hopefully not, so far he's still pretty flat & went down 3pts. We still have 2 more tests before bedtime maybe more if he starts dropping.
 
You know ironically you do technically have some room yet down to 50, may be worth a try...I think per TR youve held long enough
If he's still in high numbers Thursday @PMPS I will increase :banghead: I have 2 clean 2 houses on Thursday so I won't get to test much. I have an easy house on Friday & then the weekend to hopefully to catch a drop under 50. I am so scared that he is getting higher up in the amount of insulin he's taking. I'm really starting to think Lantus isn't working for him anymore & wondering if I should go back to prozinc. I'm also concerned that my surgery is just a little over 2wks away & my daughter hasn't been here at all to show me that she can test feed & shoot on her own. Plus there's there probiotic that she will have to give once & Panzer's zobaline & Mirilax. I have detailed directions for everything written down for her but these boys can be a real handful when it comes to getting them to eat.
 
The last six cycles he has been all blue and green … until today that is. But I am sure he will get back to work soon. Last time you said that about wanting to switch insulin he started going green. I think that you are also getting anxious about the surgery and leaving the boys (which I can completely understand!)
 
His spreadsheet while on ProZinc does look really good. I guess you could consider it, but there’s no guarantee that everything would be the same. I’m not trying to shoot down the idea at all - you can keep your options open If it doesn’t work then you still can switch back. It’s something to think about. Have a good night, Christina. :bighug:
 
The last six cycles he has been all blue and green … until today that is. But I am sure he will get back to work soon. Last time you said that about wanting to switch insulin he started going green. I think that you are also getting anxious about the surgery and leaving the boys (which I can completely understand!)
I hope so...that's true he did. I am very anxious & worried. I plan on telling the surgeon if he gets in there & sees that he needs to do a full hysterectomy to close me up & leave all of it, I will just bleed until menopause ends. Hopefully it doesn't come to that, I just worry. Mainly because I don't want to leave the boys for 24hrs let alone 2-3 days & it would take me longer to recover which means more $ lost.
 
Last edited:
did he ever have UTIs while he was on ProZinc? The infections last year and this have really driven his numbers up at times.
He was on prozinc with his first UTI but not until we moved. I think the stress of moving is why he got a UTI. Yes they have & I can't seem to get his numbers back down.
 
His spreadsheet while on ProZinc does look really good. I guess you could consider it, but there’s no guarantee that everything would be the same. I’m not trying to shoot down the idea at all - you can keep your options open If it doesn’t work then you still can switch back. It’s something to think about. Have a good night, Christina. :bighug:
They really were & had we not moved I believe he would have gone into remission. I'm not sure if DCIN pays for prozinc though & it is more costly. I will have to think about it & talk with DCIN if that's the route I choose. Thank you Suzanne you have a good night as well :bighug:
 
I seem to recall.you wanting to go back to ProZinc before and all that was needed was a little patience ;) also would not make any changes before surgery, good luck!
 
Looks I will be trying to get Panzer into the vet on Friday. I just witnessed him going back & forth between the 2 litter boxes to pee. So these higher numbers I've been seeing the past couple of days could be that he still has a UTI :banghead:
 
Panzer just gave me a 115@+4 that's a pretty good drop compared to the last couple of nights. Maybe the 200s were a bounce? I just can't figure this boy out for nothing :smuggrin:
 
The last six cycles he has been all blue and green … until today that is. But I am sure he will get back to work soon. Last time you said that about wanting to switch insulin he started going green. I think that you are also getting anxious about the surgery and leaving the boys (which I can completely understand!)
Guess who just gave me a 115 @+4 after being @233 @ PMPS. I just don't get it, but I will definitely take it :cool: @Suzanne & Darcy @FrostD
 
I’m late to the game in answering this but some of the discrepancies between calculating the carb% yourself and Lisa Pierson’s food tables happen because she often gets the nutritional analysis straight from the company. I also always call them to ask if it’s not listed on their website. I think calculating it with the numbers on the can leaves too much gray area. My two cents! :bookworm::bighug:
 
Today is Panzer's 11th birthday ❤ he had a really good AMPS cycle. He started out a little high @ PMPS but he's coming back down. Knowing Panzer he will be at his lowest @+6 which is the last meal of the day & bedtime, he likes to keep momma up late I guess. I'm glad I decided to hold off on an increase based on his PMPS cycle last night & his AMPS cycle today, I don’t think he's ready for one yet.
 
I tried to get a clean catch this morning as it's 11 days without antibiotics today, but I put my measuring cup to low & it had cat litter in it :banghead: I will try again later the vet is open until 6pm today which is shot time.
 
Back
Top