1/14 OliverTwist pmps 237 +3 218 +4 180

Status
Not open for further replies.

ecurie

Member Since 2012
yesterday
Today
amps 276
+2 220
+3 162
+4.5 121
+6.5 98
+11 207
pmps 237
+3 218
+4 180
+5 182
+6 198
Good morning!!! all Ps except the smelly one. i'm sure it'll be along directly. Woke up to purrs this morning and little paws on my nose.. "MOM... HUNGRY!!!" then over to dad "DAD....HUNGRY!!!" It's soooo very nice to have a little kitty alarm and get up minutes before the nasty loud alarm.

I send prayers to all our kitties and beans with extra ones to ours who need to be better. Blue skies to all.
mary and oliver
 
Re: 1/14 OliverTwist amps 276

A nice sunny start for Oliver this morning. I hope he slides down and gives you some blues and greens.
 
Re: 1/14 OliverTwist amps 276

Morning Mary, Zeus woke me up before the alarm too... Just wish he could wait until it is a little closer to the time the alarm would go off.

Prayers that Ollie will show you blues and greens today :smile: have a wonderful day, hugs
Kathie
 
Re: 1/14 OliverTwist amps 276

Morning guys I got a wake up about 5 minutes before the alarm myself. I swear their internal alarm clocks are faster than ours! Too cute waking up with paws on your nose! HAHA
Hope you see some lower numbers today. Happy Monday!
 
Re: 1/14 OliverTwist amps 276

Morning Mary ~O)

Gotta love the kittie alarm, as long as it's not TOO far from the real one ;-)

Have a great day, let's see some Blue/Green Ollie :smile:
 
Re: 1/14 OliverTwist amps 276

Hi guys .. boy these cat's sure caught on quick to when is the next meal time! And it never fails, it's always 5 minutes BEFORE the alarm is supposed to go off, never after that they come wake us up! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/14 OliverTwist amps 276

Morning Mary. Happy Oliver is doing well. PF wakes us up with a slap from his furry boxing gloves too. Nice way to start your day.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 1/14 OliverTwist amps 276 +2 220 +3 162 +4.5 121 +6.5 98

How lovely is that, I had some purrs today too .. it's been so long for Noni to purr ! I really miss it and loved it today !! wishing you a lovely day as your cycle Oliver and Mam and Dad too :thumbup
 
Re: 1/14 OliverTwist amps 276 +2 220 +3 162 +4.5 121 +6.5 98

Morning Mary, I love the Ollie purrs and paws wake-up calls, so cute. Very nice slide today for Ollie. Mags and I send poo vines, as you mentioned no smelly P this morning. :lol: Mags has special poo vine powers. Thanks for visiting us. Have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 1/14 OliverTwist pmps 237 +3 218

I'm asking for advice on Ollie's dose. Do you think i should Increase or hold? I've put what i've tried to use to answer my own question below. But it goes on and on, doesn't come to any conclusion and and boils down to … Please advise me on if you think i should hold or increase Ollie's dose.

I've been so excited to see him in these numbers that I forgot i'm supposed to be thinking about his dose and giving him a chance to be OTJ. I've spent a lot of time reading the protocol and trying to figure out what I should do. Of course, i'm don't feel able to make a call by myself. I thought i'd write what i've come up with and then get the benefit of MUCH better brains than mine.
Ollie has been at a fat 3 for 10 days now.
20 cycles at fat 3
12 cycles his peak is over 200 and 8 cycles his peak is under 200 so I can fit him into this category
Increasing the dose
If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is >200mg/dL (11 mmol/L)
Increase every 5-7 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin
Some of those >200s I write off to bouncing off his low numbers in the previous cycle, but I don't see an exception for that in the protocol. So it would seem he would fit into having a dose increase.

I can also squeeze him into this category
Phase 3: Holding the dose
Try to keep the cat at a dose where the BGs are in the 50 to 200 mg/dl range for as much of the day as possible. Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases.
But he doesn't fit into this definition of Phase 3
Phase 3: Holding the dose. Aim to keep blood glucose concentration within 50-200 mg/dL (2.8 – 11 mmol/L) throughout the day.

I look at his <100 numbers and it seems he's doing a fair amount of time there and that's a good thing even though he hasn't been able to produce them consistently during his am and pm cycles,. But he also seems to be leaving the blue amps and pmps behind and that's not a good thing. Although I wonder if some of them are bounces off his previous cycles and does that make any difference when considering the >200 amps and pmps

If someone else were asking this question, my answer would be... “I don't have any dose advice, but have a great day” If someone held a gun to my head and made me answer I would say “Hold that dose and wait for one of the experts to look at your SS and advise you”.

So after this litany that comes to no conclusion, could you please tell me what your opinions are? Thanks for all your time and advice.
sorry to be so wordy... i don't seem to be able to be concise. thanks very much mary and oliver
 
Re: 1/14 OliverTwist pmps 237 +3 218 dose advice please?

Mary

He's getting nadirs in the 50s and bouncing quickly and coming right back down. IMHO, I'd hold the dose and see if he can keep turning out these nice nadirs and stop bouncing.

I think if you were to fatten, you might see less bouncing but you might be doing alot more testing and feeding.
 
Re: 1/14 OliverTwist pmps 237 +3 218 dose advice please?

Marje,
Thank you so very much. your "IMHO" means a lot. I'll hold him here and see if he can improve his little self. More testing and steering low numbers i can always do later if he needs it.
Looks like there's not much going on tonight for Ollie. But we'll see.
thanks again my dear
mary and oliver
 
Re: 1/14 OliverTwist pmps 237 +3 218

You're welcome :-D :-D if you start seeing those nadirs creeping up, then increase.

He's looking good!
 
Re: 1/14 OliverTwist pmps 237 +3 218

Yahoo!! I'm glad you think so. Will keep an eye on his nadirs. Everything is crossed. and saying HUGE prayers.
hugs to you - mary
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top