1/14 mocha pmps 73 +2 65 +2.5 63 +3 63

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/14 mocha amps 251

Well, everyone's wishing for blues, so I'll put in a wish for a green or two!
Happy start of the weekend, guys!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/14 mocha amps 251 +5 182 +8 90

fed mocha some LC at her +8 .. 90 isn't a low number by any means, but I don't want her dropping to low .. cause then she hits rebound city and never looks back ..
 
Re: 1/14 mocha amps 251 +5 182 +8 90

Well, look at that. :-D Mocha's come down nicely, so far today, devon. I hope this means a nice turnaround for her. :-D
 
Re: 1/14 mocha amps 251 +5 182 +8 90 +9 102

Wow Mocha! You brought it down real nicely, and surfing like a pro!
Hope you have plans for a little relaxation this weekend Devon.
 
Re: 1/14 mocha amps 251 +5 182 +8 90 +9 102

Great job Mocha!! What a good girl for not staying in that yellow!! Now, NO BOUNCING tomorrow or tonight for that matter ok?????
 
Re: 1/14 mocha pmps 73, question on levemir

The thought has crossed mine and peter's mind to possibly make the switch over to levemir from lantus. Not real sure what the benefits would be of that compared to lantus, but lantus doesn't seem to be giving us the regulation we are wanting. I know it takes awhile, and may never happen, but we are coming up on two years without any sign of it to come.

Any pro's/con's about this idea and mocha?
 
Re: 1/14 mocha pmps 73, question on levemir

J.D. started on PZI, and was on Lantus for a couple years. He often had extreme diving and rising, and long bounces when on Lantus.
I was used to it, and felt it was my fate.
I just waited until it was time to buy more insulin and decided to give Levemir a try. He is still not near regulated, but he generally has a lot flatter cycles, and generally his bounces are clearing quicker than when he was on Lantus.
The onset is a lot slower (closer to +4), so he doesn't dive bomb on me as I'm walking out the door to go to work. That is a big plus for me. I think part of the "front loading" feeding schedule is to try to prevent the dive. With Levemir, I don't see a dive, just a very slow decent. Like I said it hasn't been a miracle insulin for us, but I am a lot happier using it.
 
Re: 1/14 mocha pmps 73, question on levemir

Devon, I've had the same thought myself, and Lightning has only been on Lantus for like 7 months! I am not a fan of all the diving and bouncing either and don't know if that means we need to try a new type of insulin or not. So thank you for bringing this question up...I'll stay tuned for more thoughts from the experts...
 
Re: 1/14 mocha pmps 73, question on levemir

I switched Jazzy recently, and I honestly can't say that there is a ton of difference for her. She's different, though, because her cycles were super flat on Lantus and they are still super flat (usually) on Lev. Not so much right now, but I think that is just because her acro is going into a wacky stage more than the insulin's response. Her Lev dose is slightly lower than her Lantus dose.

The problem for me is that her onset is so late that if I grab a +4 before bed, it really doesn't tell me anything about what number I will wake up to in the morning. Her +4 is usually about the same as her PMPS, so the AMPS can be a surprise. Overall, though, I think Jazzy has done about equally on Lev.

All that being said, it's worth a try if you want to. It can't hurt, and if you feel like you're not getting the results you want on Lantus then why not try a switch?
 
Re: 1/14 mocha pmps 73, question on levemir

I would suggest asking Miriam to provide some input. I think if you look at Putty's SS, you'll see he still dives unexpectedly it just later in the cycle.
 
Re: 1/14 mocha pmps 73, question on levemir

Great greens, Mocha! Now, surf it on out with no bounce-ty bounce!!

As a newbie, I've got nothing on the levemir question...just wanted to wish you all a goodnight!
 
Re: 1/14 mocha pmps 73, question on levemir

i can't say i've seen much difference when kitties have switched from lantus to lev, but mocha has been on lantus quite awhile without responding as well as you would like. some kitties do better on one insulin than another. maybe lev would be a better fit for mocha. the only way to know is to try it...
 
Re: 1/14 mocha pmps 73, question on levemir

Great question, Devon. I know others of us with divers and bouncers have wondered the same thing; it's good to see the knowledgeable ones giving some great
answers. Good luck with what you decide to do and I'll be very interested!!! Have a great weekend.
 
hmmm ... I wouldn't mind more experienced eyes on mochas SS .. but it seems to me that mocha has a late nadir during the day, and a early nadir at night (if that makes sense) Peter's concern is that her dives at night are usually far more drastic then her day dives, if those night dives become later in the cycle, we will switch from little sleep to no sleep. She'll be diving at two in the morning, instead of 11 p.m. when we are getting ready for bed and can catch her.

Some people are seeing a flatter curve with their kitties which would be nice, but others are seeing the same dives and bounces as they did on lantus. Does it hurt the cat to go from one insulin to another? I mean, if we were able to get a pen or two and tried for a month or two, and didn't notice any difference, could we go back to lantus without it hurting mocha? How long does a kitty have to be on levemir to notice any change, if there is any?

I have a lot of questions in my head, but it's always so darn hard to get them worded right on here ... I feel all tongue tied! I want to do what is best for mocha, but I just don't know what that is .. :YMSIGH:
 
Hi Devon,
First....LOVELY numbers for Miss Mocha! :mrgreen:

I havent read others responses to your question on Lev. I dont even know if my experience qualifies due to the short time we used it, and Latte's conditions. What I remember is that she continued the bouncing. I was considering switching back to Lantus before she left us. But I do see folks who have switched and noticed great improvements. Honestly, I dont see how it could hurt to give it a shot (no pun intended! :lol: ).

Finally, I have a few pens I could send you if you just wanted to try it. My only concern would be the current cold temps and freezing. If anyone has suggestions on how we could pack it well enough, they are yours!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top