Yesterday was a rough day. Probably the roughest we've had so far. I'm guessing a lot of it is related to food, but I'm not positive. Either way, I'm not really sure how to proceed.
We had issues getting food this week, so McKenna was switched a couple of times. Yesterday, I thought I would just switch her to something I could get from the grocery/pet store instead of only from my vet. So I bought Fancy Feast.
I gave her a can last night at 9:30, which is her usual time to eat. It was a Fancy Feast Classic Pate. She ate half of it, then started throwing up. She threw up 4-5 times, although the last one was just a bit of froth. So, she basically emptied everything she'd just eaten.
I checked her BG. It was 726. For some reason I thought I'd give her the insulin shot first, then get her a can of Royal Canin to eat. It didn't occur to me she might not eat it. She didn't. She wanted nothing to do with it. So now I'm freaking out because I just gave her a shot of insulin and she has no food in her system.
I thought maybe she just needed some time for her stomach to settle, so I put my baby to bed, then offered it again. Finally, about 2 hours after the insulin, she ate. I checked her BG right after. It was 472.
This morning, her AMPS registered as HI on the monitor. Which means it's above 750. I gave her .75u and checked her again an hour later. It was 644. I've been checking her every hour.
I've been trying to follow the SLGS protocol, but I may switch to TR because I'm really concerned about the severely high numbers.
Where do I go from here? Is the best thing to do at this point, keep everything as is, monitor her through the day and see where we are?
We had issues getting food this week, so McKenna was switched a couple of times. Yesterday, I thought I would just switch her to something I could get from the grocery/pet store instead of only from my vet. So I bought Fancy Feast.
I gave her a can last night at 9:30, which is her usual time to eat. It was a Fancy Feast Classic Pate. She ate half of it, then started throwing up. She threw up 4-5 times, although the last one was just a bit of froth. So, she basically emptied everything she'd just eaten.
I checked her BG. It was 726. For some reason I thought I'd give her the insulin shot first, then get her a can of Royal Canin to eat. It didn't occur to me she might not eat it. She didn't. She wanted nothing to do with it. So now I'm freaking out because I just gave her a shot of insulin and she has no food in her system.
I thought maybe she just needed some time for her stomach to settle, so I put my baby to bed, then offered it again. Finally, about 2 hours after the insulin, she ate. I checked her BG right after. It was 472.
This morning, her AMPS registered as HI on the monitor. Which means it's above 750. I gave her .75u and checked her again an hour later. It was 644. I've been checking her every hour.
I've been trying to follow the SLGS protocol, but I may switch to TR because I'm really concerned about the severely high numbers.
Where do I go from here? Is the best thing to do at this point, keep everything as is, monitor her through the day and see where we are?
