1/14 Gordy, AMPS 265 (YAY!), +3 335, +4 351 (Boo!) PMPS 512 (!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

CassAndGordy(GA)

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

I think its odd he webt up so much from his AMPS test, but he is such a pain in morning I couldn't retest to make sure it was accurate. But the pattern of him increasing isnt surprising, just annoying.

I wont be home for PM stuff tonight, i have the sitter coming. She got random magic numbers last time, maybe it'll do it again HAHA (though, I think her magic numbers came from an unmonitored hypo and then 2 months of bouncing :confused:)

Dors anyone monitor their cats glucose via urine? The vet we saw yesterday sent me some info on it. She is the one who went the seminar this year. She tried to sell me prescription food while I was there, but agreed FF works well too.

Gordy is down in weight some more. She said it was a tad fast, but he could still loose a bit more. I need to get a scale. He has always been a little plump, so having him at this weight makes me a little nervous.
 
Gordy didn't go up that much from AMPS. It helps to remember that there can be a 20% variance in the numbers due to the meter. You also don't know how much Gordy's numbers dropped last night. They clearly dropped since you had a yellow pre-shot. Since his body is used to spending time in the pinks, you may be seeing a small bounce since his body isn't used to those yellows. If you look at his numbers on 1/8, you'll see a similar pattern. He needs more time getting used to being in numbers lower than 300.

It looks like you are great at getting tests in. Would following TR be possible? It's a more aggressive approach to dosing and it might get Gordy out of those >300 numbers more quickly.

Urine testing is not terribly accurate. Even with humans, one of the world diabetes organizations discourages its use except in third world countries where testing supplies may not be readily available or too expensive for people who are economically disadvantaged. The reason it's problematic is that you don't get an accurate read. When you test blood glucose, you know exactly what the numbers are that second. With urine glucose testing, you're seeing numbers that are hours old. Food has to be processed into waste, collected in the bladder until the bladder is full, and then excreted. This doesn't happen in a matter of seconds or even minutes. In addition, UG testing is not accurate at the lower ranges. If you use Ketodiastix which test for both ketones and UG, you'll see the lowest reading you can get is 100. As a result, you don't know if your cat's "real" numbers (i.e., BG) are 20 or 98. The 98 is safe; the 20 is not. You could have a severely hypoglycemic cat and never know it.



 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) thanks for the info! I think when she first mentioned it, she didn't realize i was hometesting. (Despite having my chart.) I think she just wanted me to know there was a back-up.

Not sure what's going on with his BG!

When I got the message from tge sitter that he was at 512, I thought it was a fluke... but he was 454 when i got home an hour later and 412 at his +2. Super weird. Maybe I did a poor shot this morning?
 
Looks like a bounce to me. Are you going to be able to do a curve tomorrow? That's day 7. It does look like he probably needs an increase.
 
Unfortunately, big drops can cause bouces. Paws crossed it wasn't too big a drop for him. Looks like he might be clearing a bounce this cycle.
I am certainly going to try. Just chains me to home :(
A curve can be a test every two hours for 12 hours, or every 3 hours for 18 hours. The latter will let you get out of the house for longer periods of time.
 
Yes, PM shot is normal time. The 18 hour cycle is nice because it gives you a view into two cycles. The 12 hours gives you more detail on one cycle.
 
Then, the 18 hour sounds good.

He is currently "playing" with my poor civvie and still negative for ketones. Guess we have that going for us LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top