1/14-Flame-AMPS=356-+2=326,+5.5=254, +7=260, PMPS=304,+3=305 Dosecrease to 1.25U

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna and Flame

Member Since 2009
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-324-possible-dosecrease.171285/#post-1870286

Good morning all,

I hope I'm doing the right thing, I hope I measured the dose correctly AND I hope I got it all in because he moved again. I was giving him a fat 1u. He's been on that for 6 cycles. I was measuring so that the top of the plunger was hitting the bottom of the 1U line. This morning, I measured so that the bottom of the plunger was sitting at the top of the 1.5U line. I looked at the picture of the .75U dose again and tried to kind of replicate that but below the 1U line.

I was a little reluctant to increase his dose while decreasing his Pred, but if I was going to do it, I wanted to do it over the weekend so I'd be around to test for the most part.

He's not eating much this morning. Sometimes he gets picky about his FF flavors. Last nite when I went to bed, he still had some of his FF beef & chicken left but didn't seem to interested in eating it, so I left out 1/2 can of FF chicken and when I came down this morning, both were gone. So, maybe he was nibbling all nite and isn't too hungry now. I'll see where he is at +2 or +3 and entice him with some baby food... that usually works.

Hope all the kitties and beans had a good nite. Wishing everyone a peaceful Saturday.
 
I think it's fine you increased Donna. The most important thing is that you are as consistent as possible when drawing the dose. Hope his appy picks up and you both have a good day. :bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning @Doodles & Karen
I was so tired and bleary eyed this morning, it took me a while for my brain to register and figure out where 1.25 would be!! I had to stop, go to the PC, look at the pictures in the sticky again and then go back and measure. Stayed up later than usual last nite and I was tired already so was forcing myself to stay up to get a +3.5 on him.
These in between doses are hard to measure. Went thru 3 syringes last nite cause I kept shooting too much insulin out!!! Won't use a syringe if I have to stick it back in the pen more than twice.

Thanks for the reassurance Karen... and the hugs! How is the Doodlebug doing? Hope you have a good day!! :bighug::bighug: back at ya!! :cat:
 
Hey Karen,
Marje had sent me that. I just read it again and it is still confusing to me. I am very mathematically challenged!! LOL! I use BD 3/10 half unit syringes. Know anybody who's figured those out with the calipers?

I have to go out today and will be gone from about +4.5 - +8 or so. But, my son will get a test in around +5 or +6 today. Have to get this mop on my head cut and stopping by to see my 90 year old dad on the way home. Haven't seen him all week. I feel horrible. Since I had to put Flame back on the juice I haven't been able to stop by after work during the week. I feel like I've abandoned him since my mom passed, so I need to go see him.

Hope everyone is having a good day!
 
Good luck with the dosecrease. Like Karen said, the most important thing is that you are consistent in how you measure it each time.
 
Hi L&L Land,
Hope everyone had a good day. Had a nice visit with my dad and got the mop on my head cut! Kudos to my son for doing pokies for me while I was gone today, not once, but twice!! He was 12 when we adopted Flame. He is now 24 so Flame has been with us for half his life. He loves his little buddy!!
Only the 2nd day of reduced Pred dose and only 2nd cycle of increased juice, so not much difference yet. Cycle looks pretty much the same.

Possible partial FS tonite. UGH!!! My son was scratching under his chin which usually keeps him still and again, just as I was pushing the plunger, he decided to stand up!! AAAAHHHH!

Carla and Karen, thanks for stopping by to visit today and for the encouragement!!

Holding good thoughts for all those who need them. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh no, I hope that wasn't a FS. Can you sniff the site to see if you smell insulin?

I use the BD's and I used 1.5mm per unit. Some people used 1.4mm per unit. It's not so imporant that you use the same as anyone else, but that you pick a number and stick to it.
 
Hi @Wendy&Neko
I sure hope it wasn't a FS either!! I didn't smell any insulin or feel anything wet but I'm still not sure I got it "all" in. I know I got some in but felt the needle start to slip out as he moved so I pushed the plunger quick! When he does that, I'm not sure the needle is in far enough to get where it needs to be under the skin in that little "pocket", so even if I push the plunger I'm not sure it got in "all the way". Do you know what I mean?

Still not wrapping my head around how to measure with the caliper. I'll have to read it again. Seems like you have to look at a lot of syringes and compare them to find some "good" ones and then measure. Do you measure to the 1U line? UGH!! I just don't get this kind of stuff.

Thanks for stopping by with your wishes for a NO fur shot!!
 
If you didn't smell any insulin, that's a good sign. :)

To come up with the 1.5 mm measurements, I took a number of syringes and measured the distance from the top of the syringe to 10 units. Then I took totalled them up and took the average, and divided by 10 to get the 1 unit measure of 1.5 mm. I put the top arm of caliper against the top of the syringe. I didn't use the zero line. The last bunch of syringes I used, I found a varying amount of space between the top of the syringe and the zero line. Sometimes as much as a 1/3 of a unit! Neko was on small doses then and her dose would be either under or over the zero line.:eek: But when using calipers, you basically ignore the unit markings and just measure to the distance between the caliper arms.
 
Suspecting it was at least a partial FS. Not moving at all. GAH!! Well, tomorrow is another day I guess. :(

Night night everybody... sweet dreams, peaceful night to all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top