1/14 Buster- amps 201!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bustercat

Member
if it were me, i'd start with having both the acro and IAA test done at the same time. i think the IAA test is somewhere around $14. the acro test is in the vicinity of $100, i believe...
Thanks Jill! That sound a little more manageable.

The quote from the vet's office yesterday was $230 for the cushings test and $350 for the dental. I know he needs the dental, big chunks of tartar on the teeth... but, how big of a difference could it make in his numbers/dosage? Teeth alone could not be causing what we are seeing with his dose, could it?

I'll call the vet back today for a price and maybe appointment for the acro and IAA.

No ps yet... 45 minutes to shot time.
 
nice low amps! I shot the usual 6.75. I'm working today... but I'll really try to stop by for an afternoon check.

Crazy Cat!!!
 
Bustercat said:
Thanks for all the CRF info.

The vet did say she does not want to see the creatinine above 1.7. Since starting insulin, Buster has been eating the lc ff. I am happy to say that most of the flavors he eats are on the low phos crf list.

Is this LC Fancy Feast? We don't feed beef flavours, so I can't be sure about those, but most of the LC Fancy Feast unfortunately have higher phosphorus than preferred for a renal kitty. In Meowzi's case, I use foods in Janet & Binky's charts that are below 250 mg/100 calories phosphorus (in the phosphorus column). Under 200 mg/100 calories would be even better.
 
Bustercat said:
I know he needs the dental, big chunks of tartar on the teeth... but, how big of a difference could it make in his numbers/dosage? Teeth alone could not be causing what we are seeing with his dose, could it?

welllll, needing a dental knocked alex out of remission after almost 3 years OTJ!
it took a dental and 2 months of intensive tight regulation to get her off insulin again.

if it were me, i'd get the dental done first. i have no idea if a needed dental is the sole reason for these numbers, but if you know he needs one... imho, it's a good place to start because whether or not he tests positive for any other condition... he's still going to need a dental to bring the numbers down.

just one persons opinion. see what the others say...
 
Re: 1/14 Buster- amps 201- PMPS 316

Is this LC Fancy Feast? We don't feed beef flavours, so I can't be sure about those, but most of the LC Fancy Feast unfortunately have higher phosphorus than preferred for a renal kitty.

Wow! I was obviously looking in the wrong place. Looks like some of the Frisky flavors might be better than the lc ff I've been feeding. I'll be going shopping for cat food soon.

I'm off to bed... long day.

ni ni ll
 
Agree with Jill about the dental - it can make a world of difference in BGs and overall health.

Many of the Friskies special diet flavors are good lower phos choices. Other like to use Wellness, Nature's Variety, or EVO. I've stuck to Wellness because Sasha likes it (now), but have fed all of the others before too. As Choy-Foong said, this is very very early CRI if it even is that, and that's hard to determine without a USG (urine specific gravity).

IRIS CKD Staging Info: http://www.iris-kidney.com/pdf/IRIS%202 ... %20CKD.pdf

Tanya's Feline CRF site: http://www.felinecrf.org/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top