1/14 Abby AMPS 138 / +5 56 / +5.5 62 / +7 118 drop to .25?

SDAbby

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2718940/

hi, all, well Abby clearly doesn't agree that Dr. Esley's is LC. She has been off for a day and a half now (even though that was her secondary snack food) and her numbers have dropped a lot. She is eating LC food and fine now; however, wondering if there are any thoughts on whether I should drop to .25 (even though we just came down to .5)? Given where she was pre-christmas (just a drop and not really eating many kibbles), I'm tempted to take the reduction to try it out without LC kibble.

BTW - I use an AT so I know to closely monitor her below 60 and I assume the TR number of 50 was triggered with an AT 56, but let me know if that is not the case. I just decided to start TR so I'm not as familiar with the rules but am reading the overview (again) now.

thanks for any thoughts...
 
Hi! Sorry no one stopped by!

BTW - I use an AT so I know to closely monitor her below 60 and I assume the TR number of 50 was triggered with an AT 56, but let me know if that is not the case. I just decided to start TR so I'm not as familiar with the rules but am reading the overview (again) now.
The TR number for reductions on a human meter is 50 and on a pet meter is 68 - so if kitty falls below that number then a reduction is earned and you should monitor closely to get kitty to a higher number. Note the 62 on your SS at +5.5 should be lime green since it's <68 (but you'll have to color it yourself).

I can't speak to the dose but following TR, a reduction was earned. If you want to hold, I would get input from @Wendy&Neko or one of the more experienced folks.
 
Note the 62 on your SS at +5.5 should be lime green since it's <68 (but you'll have to color it yourself).
thanks so much for catching this! I appreciate it. It's been so long since Abby has dropped down I got the number mixed up...unless I hear other opinions, I think I'll take the reduction to .25 and see what that does for her. Glad to see Jax is still doing well! thanks again for the note (and bump)!
 
thanks so much for catching this! I appreciate it. It's been so long since Abby has dropped down I got the number mixed up...unless I hear other opinions, I think I'll take the reduction to .25 and see what that does for her. Glad to see Jax is still doing well! thanks again for the note (and bump)!
You're welcome :bighug: And Jax is just here to keep me on my toes...generally behaving and constantly testing my patience :p
 
Often food changes - especially withdrawing dried kibble from their diet will result in falling numbers. You and @JaxBenji made the right call - any number below 68 is an auto reduction on the AT2 using TR dosing method. You could switch to a human meter so that the dosing methods and numbers make more sense since they were written using human meters. Next dose is .25 - keep a close eye on her - she may not need that much...she'll let you know.

Have a great evening!
 
Back
Top