1/13 Zoozey AMPS 113 +2 74 PMPS 116

Status
Not open for further replies.

emchic

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's condo(s): viewtopic.php?f=9&t=86913 and viewtopic.php?f=9&t=86885

The first day of school was today, and even though I just went over the syllabus in my two classes, it was pretty tiring. But I got a good impression from my classes, so I have a good feeling about this semester. Tomorrow I meet my third class, and I'm hoping it goes just as well. Any other college teachers out there in LL?

Good numbers so far today! I came home with big plans to get a +9 reading. I laid down on the couch for just a minute, and my loverboy Pepper hopped up on the couch purring and ready for a snuggle and I promptly fell asleep. Tomorrow, I'll do the reading as soon as I get home, no matter what time it is! PM shot is at 7:14. I'll be up until 10:30 or so, so I"ll be able to get a couple of more readings before I go to bed.
 
A suggestion...

The drop between your AMPS and +2 is sizable. I would consider leaving food out -- even higher carb food or getting a timed feeder so you know that Zoozy is safe while you're away. Alternatively, you can freeze cat food into "catsickles." (You add enough water to food so it's soupy and then freeze it into containers or an ice cube tray.) You can leave several out during the day.

There are a few people here who teach at the university level.
 
Nice nice numbers today!!! I know we've got some other teachers here.

I personally own a bead store and teach jewelry making classes - little one shot deals that last 3-7 hours long, a few days a week. I tell ya, I don't know how you full-time teachers do it! I'm wiped after one of my classes - and I don't have to meet with students or grade papers afterwards! I'm glad you've got a food feeling about this semester. What do you teach?

Have a great evening!!!
 
Hello again!

Quick question, I see a note on your spreadsheet that has me concerned. Did you reshoot after a furshot tonight?
 
Re: 1/13 Zoozey AMPS 113 +2 74 PMPS 116 +2 74

I did. It was most definitely a fur shot. I felt insulin all over Zoozey's fur. I must have hit a nerve or done something wrong because he jerked away when I inserted the syringe and it came out of his skin as right as pressed the plunger thing. If I hadn't been so sure, I wouldn't have reshot. But because of this, I had already planned on staying up until 11:15 so I could get +2, +3, and +4 readings. I did a +1.5 reading, and it was 88. I just did a +2 and it's 74, so his readings for this evening are pretty similar to this morning's.

I do already have a food timer, and they don't usually eat all of their food at one time. Zoozey is at +2 right now, and there's food out for him to eat if he wants it, but he doesn't, at least not right now. He's having a post dinner snooze/pre-bedtime nap on my bed right now. I could start giving them less food in the morning and leaving food in the timer if that would help.


I teach freshman English and British literature at the University of Texas at Arlington, where I'm also working on my PhD in English. I've got one more new class to meet tomorrow, so I hope that one goes well too!
 
Scratch that. Zoozey is in the kitchen right now eating. I guess he woke up and decided he was hungry. I do plan to get a +3 reading at 10:15 to see if the food raises his bg any.
 
Barbi

Typically, we never reshoot if we give a fur shot even if we see, smell, or feel it on their fur because its impossible to know how much you got in. Let's say you got in .1u the first time....that's a small amount...a drop or so and it would be impossible to know if you got that in him or not. Add that to what you reshot....you could see numbers coming down quickly.

So if you think you give a fur shot....even if you are pretty sure, just put away that insulin and syringe and chalk it up to experience. But test....just in case you got insulin in him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top