1/13 Shishi PMPS +15 93 +16 82 +17 81 +18 81 +20 99 +22 124

Status
Not open for further replies.

will and shishi

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34233

Hello All

I did increase the dose to 4.75 units last night, and this morning her numbers are low. I know I am missing half the data at night, but previous indications all point to higher number at AMPS.

So I am now stalling and waiting to see the rise and then feeding and shooting. So far she is still dipping. When she is rising, I will go back to 4.5 units, and continue to do the 12/12 cycle from the shot time.

I welcome your suggestions.
 
Re: 1/13 Shishi PMPS +14 93 +15 93 +16 82 +17 81

I fed her but did not give her insulin, as her BG is still reading around 81.

Seeing how its very late to shoot, I might skip this shot all together. and just shoot at PMPS.
 
Re: 1/13 Shishi PMPS +14 93 +15 93 +16 82 +17 81

Not an expert by any account, but seeing how late it is, I think I would just wait for pm shot as well.
 
Re: 1/13 Shishi PMPS +14 93 +15 93 +16 82 +17 81

will and shishi said:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34233

Hello All

I did increase the dose to 4.75 units last night, and this morning her numbers are low. I know I am missing half the data at night, but previous indications all point to higher number at AMPS.
So I am now stalling and waiting to see the rise and then feeding and shooting. So far she is still dipping. When she is rising, I will go back to 4.5 units, and continue to do the 12/12 cycle from the shot time.
I welcome your suggestions.


hi Will,
nice to see you posting.

if it's at all possible, for the evening cycle, I know it's a late shot for you, but if you managed a +2 test, hopefully around your bedtime, if it's lower or the same as the PMPS, it's possible Shishi is going lower during the evenings.
Any consideration to moving your shot times so it wouldn't be so late for you? or does that mess with your work schedule?
 
Re: 1/13 Shishi PMPS +14 93 +15 93 +16 82 +17 81

Like Ronnie, I think there's a good possibility that Shishi may be dropping into lower numbers at night. One way to guesstimate if this is the case is to get a +1 and +2. The +1 should reflect a food spike and the +2 should be about the same as the pre-shot number. If either, or both, are much lower than the pre-shot it will give you a clue that numbers are dropping (and maybe you should set an alarm and get up to test). If you can get some spot checks at night, it will go a long way to tell you if there is a drop which, in turn, explains the pinks in the AM.
 
Re: 1/13 Shishi PMPS +15 93 +16 82 +17 81 +18 81 +20 99 +22

I am thinking about giving her PM shot right now, which would be PMPS +22 if that even makes sense. Or 2 hours before her usual PMPS.

She is starting to rise now, question is would it be better to shoot now or at her usual PMPS time.

I can definitely get a +1 or 2 in, I shoot right before going to bed. But will wake up to spot check.
 
Re: 1/13 Shishi PMPS +15 93 +16 82 +17 81 +18 81 +20 99 +22

An early shot acts like a dose increase and this would be a VERY early shot. Given that you just increased Shishi's dose and that Shishi is still in good, low numbers, I would not shoot early. Shooting 2 hours early would put you at risk for Shishi being over dose. If you do shoot this early, be prepared to be up most of the night monitoring in order to insure that your kitty is safe.

It's possible that today was a breakthrough dose. I would follow Shishi's lead. If you want to move your shot time, do so safely. You can move your shot time 15 min. early each cycle until you get to the time you want.
 
Re: 1/13 Shishi PMPS +15 93 +16 82 +17 81 +18 81 +20 99 +22

If I shot now it would be 3 hours till bedtime.

I did not give her the AM shot today, so if I shot now, it would be extremely late. Or is there something I am missing.
 
Re: 1/13 Shishi PMPS +15 93 +16 82 +17 81 +18 81 +20 99 +22

Sorry. I'm going cross-eyed from looking at SSs.

There's no way to really know when Shishi's numbers will go back up. Generally, if you're going to shoot early, you need to be able to monitor just in case your cat decides to be a cat and does the unpredictable. How about aiming for shooting at +23. It would still be good to get the early checks in. If the early cycle numbers aren't rising, and especially if they drop, you need to be able to monitor.

What makes me nervous about shooting early on low numbers is we don't have that much data on Shishi yet especially with a cycle that's been like today's. He may bounce to the moon but I'd hate to see him take a detour through the 30s, especially if you're asleep.
 
Re: 1/13 Shishi PMPS +15 93 +16 82 +17 81 +18 81 +20 99 +22

Your absolutely right, I have now mentally prepared to do spot checks tonight. As I have no idea what she will be doing.

Through my experience with Shishi at the night cycles, she tends to stay very close to her PM numbers and rise dramatically around PMPS +8. I used to shoot very low PM numbers without worry, but I won't rely on the data for tonight.

I think I should just stick with the usual schedule and go from there shooting at PMPS + 24. Better safer than sorry. I really appreciate the advice you have all given me, it is well received.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top