1/13 - Scooter - AMPS 201

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ry & Scooter

Member Since 2011
Hm. Hoping to see some green today.

Scooter's been well lately, no more scarf and barfs though he did have diarrhea on the carpet 2 days ago because the litter box is in the bathroom and I closed the door to shower. Oops. ohmygod_smile I switched him to Sophisticat supreme or whatever because he was kinda getting tired of the Special Kitty. So he gets 1 small can of Sophisticat at each shot and then munches on the Special Kitty after that.

Did a small curve-ish yesterday. Scooter drops early and is on his way back up by +5.

He bleeds like a pro now, we can get a check done in less than 3 minutes, which makes it a lot easier to do mid cycle checks and curves. He likes to hang out in my lap for a few minutes after the test for rubs and loves... and then food.

Dunno what else to say. Haven't posted in a few days so here's my last thread

blah
 
Hi guys .. a very low yellow to start the day! Nearly blue, good job scooter! Glad to hear no more barfing episodes .. sorry to hear about the poo incident .. I'm so glad mocha does not tire of her special kitty .. she still comes running from the other end of the house two years later :lol: Have a great weekend!
 
What a nice start to the day! It looks like you're getting the hang of the spot checks just fine. Mikey is similar, his nadir is at about +4. While I wish he'd stay in the lower numbers a bit longer, it helps to know when it is because I know if he's diving, he's going to go back up soon.

I'll leave the dosing up to the experts-it looks like Scooter might be ready for a small increase, but I'll let others weigh in on that. It looks from his current numbers that if you can't test at night like on the 11th, you'd be safe shooting a reduced dose, like maybe 1U. Again, someone can probably guide you better, but while I don't think you'd want to do it often as it will mess with his shed, it would be preferable to no shot in a pinch.

It looks like you're doing a great job, though, and Scooter is SO CUTE! He looks like he's wearing one of those nose glasses disguises.I found Mikey stopped the scarf and barfs once I he got used to having the canned food all the time. He's never had icky poos, but again, I'm sure someone can point you toward a probiotic or something for the diarrhea if he keeps having it. Is he gaining weight? That was the big sign that Mikey was turning a corner for me.
 
Nice AMPS today for Scooter, that is practically blue. ;-) My kitties like variety too, I have to mix up the flavors of Fancy Feast or they will get bored and turn up their little noses. Have a great Friday Ry!
 
Ahh you guys post hijacked me!

Scooter still loves any food, but he was starting to eat less of the Special Kitty... and I can't lie, the smell and look of it was making me nauseous after a while. The Sophisticat has a much better meaty smell and doesn't look so much like it's been chewed and regurgitated once already.

And that whole night where we missed the shot was a mess, it was Ben's night to do the shot and I was fast asleep... long day... he came in the bedroom and told me Scooter was low and asked what to shoot... and I was way too tired to make that decision obviously because I told him not to shoot at all... I knew Ben wanted to come to bed, and I didn't want to tell him he had to stay up keep an eye on Scooter and watch for hypo etc.. ohmygod_smile

He is getting a bit pudgy now, I can't cut his food back any less or he terrorizes my house and wakes me up at night though. Once he's got some consistent numbers I will stop letting him snack so much. He's eating 2 3oz cans of Sophisticat Supreme and 1 5.5oz can of Special Kitty throughout the day. I got him some of those freeze dried chicken breast treats and he likes those too :-D

Happy weekend!
 
I would not raise his dose yet. You skipped a shot so the cycle counting starts over. See this Sticky from Jill:

Counting Cycles

Scooter drops early and is on his way back up by +5.
I'm glad you did the curve....however, I wouldn't necessarily agree with the conclusion because he looks like he's bouncing and curves are difficult to interpret when they are bouncing.

Just as a note: whenever you skip a shot or shoot a reduced dose, the shed can carry over so you might not see an automatic increase in the numbers; in other words, kitty may still throw some lower numbers and then may bounce.

Please let us know if you have any questions....Scooter is doing a good job of teaching the sugardance :-D
 
Ry: I know Amy (Mikey's Mom) mentioned it as a possibility so just wanted to be sure we addressed that.

Glad you are back.....we want to be here for you and Scooter.
 
Hi Ry-

I'm glad Scooter hangs around for some lovin' after the testing. That's nice. Maybe you two will become closer now. And Scooter DOES look like he's wearing the glasses with the funny nose mask!
 
Yup... he looks at me like "oh, done already?" cause it used to take soooo much longer...

Don't think we're going to see green this cycle, nice blue though... he cried for food around +4 so I fed him a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top