1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +3 72 +4 76 +5.5 79-tremor videos

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
Morning All,
i had a tough night as i was oh so uncomfortable....trying to find a position as not to get on the way where the stitches are....grrrrr....i kept a watchful eye on Rocket and those fans....at first he was freaked out but then he figured "those huge noisy things are not gonna stop me from drinking my water!"....he pauses in front of them then proceeds to go drink his water in the bathroom....and since he had made the bathroom his new place to hang out...i found him in the wee hrs laying on the floor but i got him out of there cause the fans freak me out!

yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34216

Sienne,thx for the info. I will read them and forward links to vet....

bottom line i want to help Rocket and his pancreas and stopping insulin with his numbers is really doing the opposite...which is dumb of a vet to suggest....
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket AMPS 117 +2 90 +3 79 +4 85

GReat numbers for him today & sounds like he got his Brave back!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Hope you will be feeling better--He is doing so much better :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: HUgs from us!
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket AMPS 117 +2 90 +3 79 +4 85

Love hearing the good updates on Rocket Claudia. He sounds much more vibrant and alert. Hugs to you and hope you heal quickly.
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket AMPS 117 +2 90 +3 79 +4 85 +6 95 +9 95

+5.5 fed him and he ate lots
+6 95.4 did not feed nor he wanted to eat....

since he seemed to be going up i didn't test further and decided to wait at +9 to test and feed....

+9 95.4...so that means he surfed this number since +6

he is eating now...

is that possible for them to surf that long? a whole 3 hrs?
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket AMPS 117 +2 90 +3 79 +4 85 +6 95 +9 95

Yep, it's possible, all right!

Good day for Rocket, Claudia, and we are hoping that you'll be feeling fine again very soon, too. Hope the fans will complete their job and get outta there!!

Hugs,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket AMPS 117 +2 90 +3 79 +4 85 +6 95 +9 95

Nice day for Rocket and so good he is eating better :mrgreen: sending more recovery vines to you both
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119

he ate his dinner oh so willingly....but i didn't want to give more...don't wanna get him all full....

PMPS 119

usually his ears are warm to touch and i know he is high....tonight though...his ears were cold...had a heck of a time getting blood out....
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119

Glad to see Rocket is doing better, Claudia! Just got back from the P.O., and Fortiflora is on the way! (sorry, been a rough couple days!). Barring any complications in customs, should be to you in 3-5 days at most. Since Willie's new supplement contains probiotics already, I won't really have use for the Fortiflora, so I sent you the 18 packets I had left.

Will send tracking number later!

Hope you both have a continued successful recovery!

Christie
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119-tremors again-questions

shortly after testing and giving shot pmps....he ate and after finishing he got up and went to drink some water...while i was updating his SS i noticed he went in the closet but was trembling....head and body....not sure if this explains the cold ears at pre shot time....

i dropped everything i was going...i picked him up...he was cold cold....and trembling....i wrapped him up in 2 of his blankets and i sat with him on the bed for a good 20 mins....he trembled about 10 mins....and i thought if he has low body temperature i started to blow air on his head (from my mouth)....trying to warm him up....he didn't move...then the trembling subsided and he sort of fell asleep or was in a trance or something....he just didn't move....he was all wrapped up like a baby...then DH got home and the noise sort of woke him up...DH told me Rocket's look was spaced out...he freaked out at the position i had holding Rocket...and Rocket not moving....

shortly after he sort of came out of it and started to move and so by this time it was +0.5 and he needed his pheno....so i quickly gave itto him and fed him some more...i figure i won't bother him for a +1 but will for sure get a +2....he is in the closet...looks oh so very sad....but seems to be asleep....

his blood work did not show anemia and i know they get cold if they have anemia....perhaps they're sort of mini seizures or some neurological problem....dunno...this is oh so upsetting....i wonder if this is what has been happening all along....the tremors...due to being cold and perhaps the pheno needs to be upped....

what else could cause a cat to get cold? besides anemia?
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119-tremors again-questions

nothing to offer but a bump, compassion...and healing thoughts...
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119-tremors again-questions

If the tremors are pain-related, the bupe will help.

Is there any chance your vet can consult with a neurologist or is there a veterinary neurologist in your area you can take Rocket to?
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119-tremors again-questions

I would try the bupe and record when and if the tremors would stop. I'm not sure if bupe would mask anything neurological. Your vet would probably know. But if it doesn't it would rule out pain for the most part. Hugs to Rocket.
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76-tremors again-questions

+2 76...fed and ate it all

there is no neurologist in this area...hence why no MRI or Scans were ever done as it means taking him to Vancouver....toooooo far from where i am....and tooooo much stress for him...he would never make it

the tremors have subsided...i have recorded as it happened...will email vet later tonight....

he is grooming himself as i type this...but i think i will give maybe a token dose of bupre just in case....the bupre doesn't lower BGs like tramadol does, right?

can anyone answer that for me?

can he be in pain and still eat?
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76-tremors again-questions

I can't answer the blood glucose levels but yes they can be in pain and still eat. I thought with pancreatitis its more painful after they eat isn't it?
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76-tremors again-questions

karrie,
i dont' know about it....

i will give half dose Rx to him....as the full dose made him really not himself....hope the BG levels don't tank on me....

off to give buprenex so 0.26 ml of the 300mcg/ml
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76-tremors again-questions

Would you say that the trembling is more like shivering or like twitching? Have you ever captured a video of it to show your vet?

Tanya's CRF website has this info on trembling: http://www.felinecrf.org/symptoms.htm#twitching

Do you think he does it just when his dose of pheno is wearing off, or does he do it through the day?

Have you tried putting a heating pad down for him where he sleeps?
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76-tremors again-questions

I've given Gabby bupe once and she was on an opiate patch. Neither lowered her BG. All they did was make her stoned. Remember though -- ECID.

Linda -- I think Rocket has a heated kitty bed.
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76-tremors again-questions

Linda and Bear Man said:
Would you say that the trembling is more like shivering or like twitching? Have you ever captured a video of it to show your vet?

Tanya's CRF website has this info on trembling: http://www.felinecrf.org/symptoms.htm#twitching

Do you think he does it just when his dose of pheno is wearing off, or does he do it through the day?

Have you tried putting a heating pad down for him where he sleeps?
there are 2 videos on youtube under Rocket...but the videos don't capture the trembling...not twitching....crf website has Pharaoh (a kitty with bad trembling) he happened to be worse than Rocket and both developed it at the same time roughly....that is what determined the IM vet and reg vet to put him on the pheno...

no the trembling can happen anytime of day

he is trembling as i type this

soon after i gave the bupe he got up to go drink water but i presume the effects are kicking in so he couldn't get out of the tub...so i picked him up and hence me noticing the trembling....he is now restless...similar to when he got the bupe last week....
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76-tremors again-questions

he's got 2 heated beds and lots of blankets everywhere....after he went pee i picked him up and put him on his heated bed next to my bed...he's got blankets on top as well...all bundled up....the trembling seems to come and go...so maybe it is pain....

will check in 15 his BG and that will take me to +3....hopefully he doesn't drop like a stone as he most likely won't want to eat....
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76 +3 72-tremors-video

he seems to be resting...he is actually sleeping...so maybe it is pain...he gets the pheno at +0.5 after each shot (am/pm)....and he usually sleeps it off...this pm...he didn't really sleep it off...

here is the second video...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AiYt9-8iNkY but since it is so hard to see on video what i'm talking about...i basically have not video taped him lately....as one can FEEL the tremoring but not really see it....since he has medium hair....
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76 +3 72-tremors-video

I watched both videos. They look a bit like Bear Man's head and paw shaking which the vet said were caused by focal or partial seizures. We did not pursue a neuro consult, as he could not undergo anesthesia for a CT or MRI. They slowly became worse - started in the head, then traveled to include his front paws and affecting his balance walking. High doses of Gabapentin may help (we tried only low doses for arthritis.)

In his case, it was felt it was caused by the neurotoxicity of one of his drugs - Baytril.

Bear was severly anemic, but did not feel cold as a result. Like Rocket, he was CRF, CP, Diabetic, prone to CP (and also hyperthyroid and hypertensive).

Civie Teddy is thin, takes chemo, gets CP, and gets cold (ears and all when he feels sick), particulary when he has a bad CP flare.
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76 +3 72 +4 76

Linda and Bear Man said:
I watched both videos. They look a bit like Bear Man's head and paw shaking which the vet said were caused by focal or partial seizures. We did not pursue a neuro consult, as he could not undergo anesthesia for a CT or MRI. They slowly became worse - started in the head, then traveled to include his front paws and affecting his balance walking. High doses of Gabapentin may help (we tried only low doses for arthritis.)

In his case, it was felt it was caused by the neurotoxicity of one of his drugs - Baytril.

Bear was severly anemic, but did not feel cold as a result. Like Rocket, he was CRF, CP, Diabetic, prone to CP (ans also hyperthyroid and hypertensive).

Civie Teddy is thin, takes chemo, gets CP, and gets cold (ears and all when he feels sick), particulary when he has a bad CP flare.
all of Rocket's dx came one after another... May08 CRF, Jul08 Seizures, Sep08 Diabetes, Nov08 Pancreatitis....
the pheno was introduced and yes this vet is talking about focal or partial seizures....i have emailed her and see what she says....for now i gave a reduced dose of the bupe....he is alert for the most part....the trembling is very mild....so if it stays like that by the next bupe dose i may have to give full dose and see

+4 76...gave zofran and will wait 1 hr to feed....

i have read this link many times...and only now i see low body temp http://www.vetinfo.com/cpancrea.html
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76 +3 72 +4 76-tremor videos

I really think his symptoms really lean towards pancreatitis. I think pain meds would help rule out pain. He wasn't hiding as much on the low dose of bupe. Maybe he can handle the full dose.
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76 +3 72 +4 76-tremor videos

I dunno Claudia.. I watched both videos.. the 1st one just reminded me of us beans hassaling the rascals to play & they are not in the mood.
The 2nd one.. Baby & Sadi both do when in a deep sleep & I think both of theirs is normal.. as we humans twitch in sleep too. Neither of my observations are medical savy.. I am not there.. I don't know all the other symptoms.. but to me. the videos did not look CrAzY scary.. I know others know a lot more than me & I also know you will get tons of advice.. we continue to pray for you both :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76 +3 72 +4 76-tremor videos

+4.5 no test...fed and he ate

no trembling...i touched and couldn't feel it

Karrie, i think you may be right....hard to say...this time he has stayed the entire night in the closet...not sure if it's from the bupe or hiding due to pain...

so i guess it will be a long night here...will give the full dose of bupe at 3:45 am....as he got the bupe at 7:45 pm.....

the full dose really scares me but it has to be done....

Nicole, yes it seems normal....that's why i never bothered taping him again...i showed both IM and reg vets the videos....and just last week when he went to the vet...she could see what i'm talking about...so she sort of gets it....it is hard to show on video unless you are there watching in person....the second one where he is trying to sleep he is trembling and twitching....the poor thing was trying to sleep and couldn't....but the video shows he is sleeping when in reality he isn't....
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76 +3 72 +4 76-tremor videos

I understand.. looks can be deceiving & sometimes.. being there & knowing in your heart what is normal & what isn't.. is what is & cannot easily be described or explained. Hugs to you & prayers too.
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76 +3 72 +4 76-tremor videos

Just when you think he ralies, he has this -gotta tell you cat in pain I think would tremble, Or from CP which is so painful.
But let's not rule out the COLD--It's about 15 degrees here & I Know It is colder by you--Could Rocket be feeling the cold too??

Hopes & Prayers that this trembling will stop & this mystery solved--Big Healing Hugs to you both!!
 
Re: 1/13 Rocket PMPS 119 +2 76 +3 72 +4 76-tremor videos

Roni and Moonie said:
Just when you think he ralies, he has this -gotta tell you cat in pain I think would tremble, Or from CP which is so painful.
But let's not rule out the COLD--It's about 15 degrees here & I Know It is colder by you--Could Rocket be feeling the cold too??

Hopes & Prayers that this trembling will stop & this mystery solved--Big Healing Hugs to you both!!
Roni,
yes it is very cold here....but i have the heat maxed that i'm cooking in here....i also thought about the fact that they took out the wall and the ceiling in the bathroom and the bathroom is oh so very cold....we have tile and it's really cold i have to wear my sleepers....but in our bedroom is really warm....so don't know what to think anymore....

i have even forgotten to take my pain meds...and most likely won't as i don't want to fall asleep with him needing me....

from what i've read kitties that have anemia get cold very easily...his lab report did not indicate anemia....so that article on pancreatitis could be it....dunno anymore....head spinning!!!!
 
+5.5 79
fed and he ate it all....

very puzzled....

but will give bupe dose at 3:45 am....so hopefully things will be ok for amps time
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top