1/13 Meet Hershey/Annifursary AMPS(177)PMPS(138)+7(231)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
We’ve been away for a while (life – and, I’ve been sick since Christmas :sad: ) and I see so many new people that I’d like to take a moment and introduce my sweet boy/catch you up on where we are. Sorry for the length. (Not including link to the last condo since it was so long ago.)

Hershey will be (11) on March 1, 2013. We have never had a cat this old, so when he began losing weight and looking frail and greasy, we had no idea they were signs of FD. (Of course, when we found out…we felt like kicking ourselves. It never occurred to me that kitties could get diabetes! :cry: )

Hershey was diagnosed with FD 11/22/12 and began ProZinc 1/13/12, so today is his 1-year anniversary on insulin. When we received his diagnosis, I began reading A LOT and found this site – THANK GOD! I had a less than pleasant conversation (or two) with our vet and she said we were on our own. I have tried to share the protocol and what we’ve learned here with her, but I don’t know that’s she’s looked at it. June, 2012, when his first vial of ProZinc was about out, I called to get a new prescription. The vet kind of off-handedly said something about just tell her what we wanted to do, renew, change…CHANGE?! Okey dokey! So, we went with Levemir. Our vet said she knew nothing of Levemir. (She’d already told us we were on our own, so how would this be any different??) Doug said he thought she went along just to shut me up…okay…I truly believed this was what Hershey needed.

You can see from his SS that he has been known to throw a few curves and likes jammy parties! He had earned reductions down to .25u (shaving each time as we learned he doesn’t hold reductions well) as of 11/14/12. Nov 26, he gave us a (29), but it was only the 4th cycle he’d seen a green during the whole 12 day period. My gut was uneasy about a drop all the way to .1u (instead of a shave) but with Thanksgiving approaching I knew we’d be out of town several times. At least I wouldn’t have to worry about him dropping too low.

Honestly, there have been a few times when I’ve looked back at his SS and just kicked myself for messing him up. He saw mostly pinks and only (3) greens during his time at .1u. We weren’t able to increase back to .25u until 12/10, way too long. Well, .25u had been a good dose, but not any more, only (1) green cycle. Let’s try .3u, (2) green cycles. How about .4u? No green cycles. Maybe we shouldn’t be holding the last good dose as long? Glucose toxicity? Okay, let’s try .5u – (1) green cycle. Hmmm…maybe...even though we shaved on the way down, we should’ve done the whole .25u on the way back up. Let’s try that, .75u. We have seen (4) green cycles of the (14) cycles we’ve had so far and more yellow than pink. We’re going to hold this and decide something at tomorrow's AMPS.

We have learned so much this past year. Hershey usually comes up easily on 7% carbs, but we have the 19% in the freezer, just in case. Hershey is a smart, SNEAKY cat and will hide just around the corner, hoping we get distracted and don’t take Oreo’s bowl up before he can get to it. (Hershey eats Wellness 4–5% and Oreo eats Friskies Pate’ 7–9%.)

When we began this journey a year ago, y’all may remember that it wasn’t Doug’s first choice to treat. He did it to shut my tears up. ;-) He’s a good guy, but as the financial provider for our family, was worried about the cost and it tying us down. But, what else can you do but treat the kitty that you committed to love and care for when you brought him into your family. When we started home testing, it was Doug who mastered it and helped me learn how to do it. Doug was also the one to give the shots until I felt competent to do them. And, with our current 5/5 shot schedule, it is Doug who gives the 5am shot. So, clearly, he wasn’t actually *opposed* to treating. ;-)

This past year has brought a lot of changes, but I am thankful for this site and the people here who have so patiently helped me learn soooo much! I’m also thankful for the extra time I’ve had with Hershey, for being able to see him feeling much better than I ever imagined he could and for the closer relationship I have with him now.

Hope y’all are having a fabulous day! Hoping to get by to visit. Made it to church for the first time since Christmas and am pretty much wiped out.

I'm including the family picture from Christmas, so I can't be accused of not being a proud Nana. ;-) :lol:

Libby (& Hershey, too!)


AMPS (177) +12 – Shot .75u at 5:00am + 1/16th-ish Miralax
+3 (149) – fed – Wondering if I should leave extra food out
+9.25 (75) – Probably should’ve left food out

PMPS (138) +12 - Shot .75u at 5:10pm + 1/16th-ish Miralax
+3 (145) - fed
+5 (180)
+7 (231)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0277crop.png
    IMG_0277crop.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 316
Re: 1/13 Meet Hershey/Anniversary AMPS(177)+3(149)+9.25(75)

I was just re-reading my first post here. It was January 9, 2012. I was in tears after my phone call with the vet and frustrated out of my gourd. In less than 8 hours, I have heard from (17) different FDMB members offering guidance, support and encouragement. I’m still blown away! Thank you – thank you – thank you for paying it forward. I hope we’ve been able to pay it forward in some small way, too.
 
Re: 1/13 Meet Hershey/Anniversary AMPS(177)+3(149)+9.25(75)

Hi Libby, So nice to see a condo for Hershey, but so sorry to hear that you have been so sick. Healing vines are on the way to you, 'cause you need your strength back!! You and Doug have done a great job with Hershey.
Happy annifursary. Numbers look good.

Feel better and enjoy the rest of the weekend. Lovely pic of your family.

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/13 Meet Hershey/Anniversary AMPS(177)+3(149)+9.25(75)

Hi Libby, we've missed you and our favorite Hershey cat. So sorry to hear you've gotten that nasty bug that's going around and sending tons of healing vines so you get completely over it soon. That's a lovely Christmas photo of your family. And yes, you do look the proud Nana. :-D

Quite the awful story to the start of Hershey's FD journey with your vet - like you, I keep wondering what we'd do without this board. Hershey is doing SO much better than a year ago, thanks to you and Doug.

Hershey - time for some more mint green!
 
Re: 1/13 Meet Hershey/Annifursary AMPS(177)PMPS(138)+3(145)

Hey, Ella - Good to see you. Thanks for the kind words about Hershey and kinds thoughts for my health. It's been a long time since anything got me down like this yuck.

Hey, Lisa - Thanks for coming by. I know you have your hands full taking care of sweet Do Lou. Continued prayers coming your way.

Hey, Wendy - Thanks for missin' us; I've missed y'all, too. :-D Thanks for the sweet thoughts for my health; I'll be glad to be rid of this! Hoping Hershey listens and revisits the green floor! But, these blues look SOOO much better than all of those pinks he's been seeing lately, so I'm trying not to be greedy. ;-)

PMPS (138) +12 - Shot .75u at 5:10pm + 1/16th-ish Miralax
+3 (145) - fed
 
Libby

Nice to see you and Doug and Hershey back. Lovely family photo!

I noticed he's been in the 30s twice on the .75u. IMHO, he needs a reduction......I know you'd like to see him putting more green cycles together but nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

Happy Annifursary Hershey!
 
Hello Libby,

It is sooooooo good to hear from you. I've been lurking at Hershey's SS occasionally, and wondering how you and Doug were doing. Glad to hear things are well!
It's weird, but when I say your "1 year annifursary", I thought "really, it's only been one year?" It seems like it had been longer, not sure why. Maybe because I remember from day one?

You all have come such a long way from those days. And had many adventures and so many other things going on in your lives beyond this sugardance. My favorite memories are the images of you chasing Hershey around the island to make sure he got his laps in!

It's great to see you posting!

And that's a beautiful family photo too!

Hugs to all of you,
Carl
 
Hey, Marje - Thanks for visiting! You're right, I was hoping for more green. I was thinking he'd hit a lower green Sun am and we'd reduce. Since he was (75) at +9.5, I'm inclined to think that probably happened. We actually discussed reducing at PMPS, until he went pink on us, again. We were thinking that was probably a bounce and we'd reduce once he cleared it. We're now in a holding pattern waiting for the bounce to be gone. Shot time is less than an hour away, so guess we'll see...

Hey, Carl - Yepperz, it's been just a year. Kind of hard for me to believe, too, seems like I've known you forever! Thanks for lurking around Hershey's SS, even when I don't post. :-D

:lol: :lol: Yeah, Hershey is over the laps around the island. I've tried to get him to join in a time or two and he just gives me this, "You're stupid" look. ;-)

Thank y'all for visiting and for the kind words about the family photo. It was great to have us all together for Christmas!
 
Hello Hershey!

Glad to hear you're mom's FINALLY given up on the laps thing. I mean REALLY! What do we look like? A DOG???!!! So here we both are, one year later. What a ride we've been on - my highs, your lows, micro-dosing, MONSTER-dosing... you name it, I think we've done it all!

Hope you've been good while your mom's been sick. Mine even took cough syrup one night and didn't even poke me! WOO HOO!

Congrats on your new little family member. I saw a picture of a golden retriever licking a baby, and mom said the caption said, "There, there little bald puppy!"

Stay away from the IHOP cat(2)_steam and take your humans to the swamp ...errrr... lagoon - they really seem to like it there! :mrgreen: Happy 1 year!

Your pal,
Grayson
 
It's wonderful to see a Hershey condo! I hope you're feeling better and you had a lovely holiday season. Best wishes for a happy and healthy new year.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top