Tuesday evening, we started splitting McKenna's insulin dose. She received 1 unit that night and 1 the next morning. Wednesday morning, I realized I only had a few test strips left, so I haven't been able to monitor her like was probably necessary. I ordered some more but they wouldn't come until today (Friday). I called and visited several stores trying to find some. I called my vet to see if they had any. No luck. I've watched her behavior closely and she has seemed completely normal.
This afternoon, however, things changed. She came to the living room around 2:30, where my husband and I were eating lunch, wanting food. She seemed restless, kind of pacing. At 2:50, my daughter found her in the kitchen eating some ham that was leftover from my baby's lunch, which I'd forgotten to put away.
I tested her BG - it was at 88. I immediately gave her a can of food and checked again at 3:20. It had gone up to 111.
I'm going to watch her and check her numbers frequently for the rest of the afternoon. I assume I need to reduce her dose, but I'm not sure really how to proceed. She didn't eat a good breakfast, so could that have played a part?
I'm relieved her numbers came back up, but I'm nervous.
This afternoon, however, things changed. She came to the living room around 2:30, where my husband and I were eating lunch, wanting food. She seemed restless, kind of pacing. At 2:50, my daughter found her in the kitchen eating some ham that was leftover from my baby's lunch, which I'd forgotten to put away.
I tested her BG - it was at 88. I immediately gave her a can of food and checked again at 3:20. It had gone up to 111.
I'm going to watch her and check her numbers frequently for the rest of the afternoon. I assume I need to reduce her dose, but I'm not sure really how to proceed. She didn't eat a good breakfast, so could that have played a part?
I'm relieved her numbers came back up, but I'm nervous.