1/13 Loudogg AMPS 287 +4.25 278 +9 220 PMPS 226 +7 318

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
January 12, 2019 Condo

Good morning all,
Lou did a whole lot of nothing yesterday, which was ultimately pretty disappointing. He has today to show me he can still work this dose. I'll be increasing tomorrow morning if there's no action today. And I'll try not to be too annoyed that he decided to wait for an increase when I have to go back to work. :rolleyes: Regardless, we'll be heading into uncharted territory for him, as he's never been above 3.75u before.

I hope you all have a wonderful day and your kitties surf safely. Sending vines to Angela and Miss P (@Phoebes), Tracey (@Tracey&Jones- GA), and to anyone else in need. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good luck with dosecrease tomorrow. It might be uncharted territory for you, but actually nothing else changes. You still test, you still worry, you still feed the same. You and Lou will be fine.
 
Good luck with dosecrease tomorrow. It might be uncharted territory for you, but actually nothing else changes. You still test, you still worry, you still feed the same. You and Lou will be fine.
I'm almost surprised at how not worried I am with the increases. I just want him in good numbers, regardless of the dose. This definitely wasn't me last year. I was terrified to go above 2.0u, then 3.0u, and then I knew he needed to go up to 4.0u, but we ended up switching to Basaglar before we got there. I think because of the testing I can see that the dose isn't working. Previously it was only me testing (first to get the hang of it, then Lou wouldn't let Caleb test him), so I worried enormously when I was at work. When we switched to a depot insulin, I told Caleb he'd have to learn to test and he did. There was definitely a learning curve but it's nice to know for us that there's almost always someone home if he goes too low (we work opposite schedules). It's also reassuring having set guidelines to follow. I'm actually kind of excited to increase (it'll be hard not to want to do it tonight) because I'm hopeful that the next dose will be the magic one to get him into better numbers. A pipe dream perhaps with a high dose kitty, as you well know Paula, but sometimes hope is all we have in this dance. That and the love of our extra sweet kitties. :cat: ...Ha, then I had to go and get sappy in the end. Now I feel like I have to go find a Loudogg and kiss his nose. :joyful:
 
Hang in there Amanda! You know he needs what he needs...sometimes they just need more, more, more to get that pancreas to wake up...get close to his abdomen and say 'wake up in there little fella'! We need you to get to work! Sometimes that works (in my fantasy world :p).... You're doing great mama bean...I just know he knows how much you love him :bighug::bighug:
 
I was terrified to go above 2.0u, then 3.0u, and then I knew he needed to go up to 4.0u,
I remember how completely terrified I was in the beginning-I was sure that BK would OD and drop dead after his first shot, which was 1.0u. Eight months later I was shooting 45u per day and not blinking.

A kitty needs as much insulin as a kitty needs. Don’t let the size of the dose deter you from making appropriate increases as outlined in the TR protocol. Holding a dose too long can lead to glucose toxicity. Let the numbers be your guide.
 
Back
Top