? 1/13 First time shot at blue 166 and tge PMS at 175 Please advise?

Kokkinoulis

Member Since 2023
Previous post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...352-5-372-7-362-pmps-390.285540/#post-3142418

Dear Administrators,

@Bandit's Mom , @Marje and Gracie , @Wendy&Neko , @tiffmaxee , @Chris & China (GA), @Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA), @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

The PMPS is 166
As it will be my first time shooting blue and also insulin dose is high could you please advise me? I have not have many data as it is the first time he has BG numbers at blue. Moreover, it will be more difficult for me as it will be during the night. When should I monitor him and what should I take into consideration?
Thank you in advance.
 
It's not administrators who help out here. We only have one side admin, Robert, and his job is to keep the forum and site running on the servers. He's also a relative of the FDMB founder and helps us represent her wishes. The people who help are those who have experience and are comfortable giving dosing help, which not every one does.

The size of dose has nothing to do with shooting lower numbers. A cat needs however much insulin they need. Can you monitor closely tonight? Do you have plenty of test strips and high carb food, just in case they are needed? Typically on this forum, we suggest that under 150 for a preshot, you post for help. Over that, you just SHOOOOOOT if yes to the above questions. And get a +1 and a +2 when it's your lowest preshot yet, to help give a heads up what might happen that cycle.
 
It's not administrators who help out here. We only have one side admin, Robert, and his job is to keep the forum and site running on the servers. He's also a relative of the FDMB founder and helps us represent her wishes. The people who help are those who have experience and are comfortable giving dosing help, which not every one does.

The size of dose has nothing to do with shooting lower numbers. A cat needs however much insulin they need. Can you monitor closely tonight? Do you have plenty of test strips and high carb food, just in case they are needed? Typically on this forum, we suggest that under 150 for a preshot, you post for help. Over that, you just SHOOOOOOT if yes to the above questions. And get a +1 and a +2 when it's your lowest preshot yet, to help give a heads up what might happen that cycle.
Thanks a lot. I stall and measured again at +12.30 and it was increased at 175, so I fed him and shot 5iu. I will test him again at+1,+2 to see his numbers.
 
It's not administrators who help out here. We only have one side admin, Robert, and his job is to keep the forum and site running on the servers. He's also a relative of the FDMB founder and helps us represent her wishes. The people who help are those who have experience and are comfortable giving dosing help, which not every one does.

The size of dose has nothing to do with shooting lower numbers. A cat needs however much insulin they need. Can you monitor closely tonight? Do you have plenty of test strips and high carb food, just in case they are needed? Typically on this forum, we suggest that under 150 for a preshot, you post for help. Over that, you just SHOOOOOOT if yes to the above questions. And get a +1 and a +2 when it's your lowest preshot yet, to help give a heads up what might happen that cycle.

If I hit under a 150 preshot what is the best approach? I would like to know beforehand so I dont need to ask when it happens. Your input is always appreciated. Thanks!
 
Have you read this post recently?
Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers

There are several options when you see lower preshots, eventually you'll just shoot. The options are stall (without feeding), which I think you did today, reduced dose or skip, or just shoot. The best option really depends on the circumstances at the time, which is why we suggest posting for help the first few times. Now that you've shot a 175, you will get good data and should feel comfortable down to at least 150.
 
Back
Top